We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Rooms, Excellent Location, Bad Food”
Review of The Millers Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Millers Arms
Ranked #4 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Solid Rooms, Excellent Location, Bad Food”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed in this Pub for two nights and also had the chance to experience the food. The food is pretty poor, and I would not recommend eating there. The breakfast which was included in the price of our stay is also highly forgettable. There were no vegan options for breakfast either.

As to the overnight stay, I cannot complain. The room was clean, large enough, well furnished and had good beds. The shower curtains did fall down, but this was fixed very quickly. Our room was a bit loud, because it was next to the river, but the noise was not of the annoying sort.

Can't decide whether to make this one a *** or a **** review, but on account of the closeness to the city centre I will fall on the more positive side- DO NOT take this rating as one about the food, which deserves somewhere between one and two stars in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonfire0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    187
    26
    16
    8
See reviews for
81
233
36
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Came to the Miller's for a night and loved every second of it. Breakfast was delicious and the young man with red hair was very welcoming and cheerful as he served us. The selection of wines was also very impressive and the room was modern, spacious and comfortable. Looking forward to my return visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hestablueburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I arrived after a full 18 hours of travel from California. We were expecting a reasonable stay, we had a wonderful one that left us wishing we had more time to spend in Canterbury.

Our room was quite large - American hotel room size. The staff were friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was hearty and delicious. We had expected juice and cereal, we had options like full English and Eggs Benedict.

The location was phenomenal. It is walking distance to everything without putting you in any sort of hustle and bustle.

The only complaint we could muster was the inconvenient layout of the bathroom, with the towel rack being widely separated from the shower/tub and the lack of any counter space.

When that's the worst thing about your stay, you've stayed somewhere pretty great.

We will return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumdood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Right type of place that we required for three days to visit Canterbury , atmosphere was perfect, staff were excellent and food was beautiful .The room we had was perfect with more cupboard space then we could use . Would highly recommend and if we came back to Canterbury would not hesitate to stay there again . Michael Australia

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelp1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed for one night for a theatre visit. Everything about this place is spot on - the bars / dining areas are very welcoming and tastefully decorated and furnished. The bedrooms are lovely - spotlessly clean and very comfortable with big fluffy towels, hairdryer, toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities. The food is excellent, our party of three had bangers and mash, ham, egg and chips and a lovely chicken and spring vegetable salad - all were excellent. Very varied cooked breakfast choices including full English, smoked fish with poached egg - again, excellent quality. Add to this the perfect location, just a few minutes walk from the town centre, theatre etc. the very reasonable price and last but certainly not least, the fantastic staff who were all so friendly and helpful, makes this the perfect place to stay in Canterbury - we would not look elsewhere if / when we return to this lovely City! Thank you to all the staff!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Touringbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Miller's Arms is a good option in Canterbury.

Central, clean and parking close by.

Excellent breakfast and the pub is cosy, great beer.

Two issues. The TV controller didn't work and the staff new this was faulty so should have been repaired/replaced.Also the venetian blind in the bathroom was very interesting. I worked it out...eventually.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Very good all ways round ! staff very helpful, food, particularly breakfast ( full English ) and room 4 star, all very good. Location is such that all main attractions attractions are within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millers Arms

Property: The Millers Arms
Address: St. Radigunds, Canterbury CT1 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Millers Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Millers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Millers Arms Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing