We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel for the visit to Canterbury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect hotel for the visit to Canterbury”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We went to Canterbury to visit our daughter who was spending the year abroad at University of Kent. The Falstaff hotel was a short walk from the train, which we had taken from Gatwick Airport. The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and very professional. Our room was 2 comfortable, double beds and 2 chairs with a large bathroom. The location was amazing; a short 10 minute walk to the Canterbury Cathedral and the town shops. The breakfast provided by the Falstaff was quite good and afternoon tea very relaxing.

The location was on the bus route to visit the University and the hotel staff was always willing to hail a taxi for us. When we do return, we will be staying at the Falstaff Hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craftycin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    466
    184
    78
    52
See reviews for
161
552
58
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Just returned from the Falstaff, first impressions very good, looked as described, good parking, friendly staff, however once checked into our room we discovered it was to the rear of the hotel and was next to a very busy main road. The only window was single glassed, with a broken pane and the secondary double glassing broken and missing! This with the lack of sound proofing from the other rooms led to a sleepless night.
Really a shame because the location of the hotel was 10/10, but it is difficult to enjoy your break without any sleep.
Be warned check which room you have when you book.

Room Tip: Steer clear of the Tap rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slgoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFalstaff, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comments, without which we cannot focus our attention fully on the areas that can still be improved.
I am glad to hear that the staff where friendly but apologise that you were not happy with your room. We do note guest requirements if we are aware of them and try to allocate everyone’s preferences whenever possible.
The recent crack in the window has been noted and addressed.
Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

John Alexander
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Our room was dark, dingy and dirty. Bathrooms were smelly and there was a mouldy fabric shower certain. We could also hear the guests in every room around us. A terrible experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenSturgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFalstaff, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Dear Lauren,

I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay with us. I was a little surprised to hear that the shower curtain was not up to our usual standard as we replaced all curatins in the last twelve months and regularly wash our current stock as normal. This is something we will investigate and address as required.

We pride ourselves on providing an excellent service and have many good reviews which are a testament to that. Although disappointing to receive your review we appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention; as it allows us to be able to improve.

Sincerely,

John Alexander
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

My wife and I had not been to Canterbury before, and selected this hotel from the internet. We had a lovely stay, with friendly staff, pleasant and quiet accommodation, and a good breakfast each morning. The hotel is situated in the City Centre, so is ideally located for a visit. Would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank contrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Quaint but comfortable old inn, with a modern block behind, located just a couple of minutes from the train station from Charing Cross and London Bridge, and 30 seconds from the medieval gateway to the heart of the city. You can also walk to the university on a path up the hill in 20 minutes. Great breakfast, vegetarian option, friendly service, unfussy atmosphere, lots of space and comfort in the two rooms we had, free wireless internet. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Takingitscourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex/Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We recieved vouchers for an overnight B&B stay for 2 as a wedding present and chose the Falstaff Hotel having recieved a good response from the front of house team. We were not disapointed. On arrival we were able to park easily in the hotel free car park and were treated to a virtual tour of Canterbury by the very friendly hotel receptionist. We were very happy with our room which overlooked the main road and dispite reading reviews complaining of noise we kept the double glazing fully open during our stay and found no problems with noise. The room was spacious and the bed and pillows really comfortable.The hotel only offers B&B but there are a huge range of restaurants and take aways with-in 5 minutes walk. On the friday night when we stayed at least two local pubs within two minutes walk provided good quality live entertainment. The shopping cente, Cathederal and lovely riverside walks are on the doorstep.
Breakfast was nicely cooked relaxed and the service Excellent.
We couldnt recommend the hotel more highly based on out own experience. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKGezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay and after reading some earlier reviews were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Reception staff very friendly and helpfull- we were allowed to book in early as our room was free- and dining room staff were good despite being understaffed on our first day. The room was very warm and comfortable though we did get some noise when people passed by our windows (we were in the old building on the ground floor). The hotel was close to all the amenities- plenty of choice of restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,876 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Property: The Falstaff in Canterbury
Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing