We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canterbury Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We wanted a hotel with a carpark that we could leave the car and walk and this hotel proved to be ideal
we were in the old wing 1400 and felt that the hotel could do with some TLC and a refresh
For the money spent we feel that it is overpriced compared to others in the surounding area

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepearofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

973 - 979 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2011

Despite arriving first thing in the morning, the hotel allowed us to leave the car in the car park while we went out for the day. When we arrived to check in later in the day, we were given a free upgrade to a 4 poster room which was a nice surprise.

The room was spacious and light, only downside being lack of privacy if you wanted the windows/curtains open as our room overlooked the courtyard.
Couldn't fault the staff and service, they were genuinely friendly and helpful.
Only meal.we had was breakfast. Restaurant was a bit cramped but food excellent and the tea was on the table in moments!

Would highly recommend for location, service and price.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmieC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We went to Canterbury to visit our daughter who was spending the year abroad at University of Kent. The Falstaff hotel was a short walk from the train, which we had taken from Gatwick Airport. The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and very professional. Our room was 2 comfortable, double beds and 2 chairs with a large bathroom. The location was amazing; a short 10 minute walk to the Canterbury Cathedral and the town shops. The breakfast provided by the Falstaff was quite good and afternoon tea very relaxing.

The location was on the bus route to visit the University and the hotel staff was always willing to hail a taxi for us. When we do return, we will be staying at the Falstaff Hotel again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craftycin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Just returned from the Falstaff, first impressions very good, looked as described, good parking, friendly staff, however once checked into our room we discovered it was to the rear of the hotel and was next to a very busy main road. The only window was single glassed, with a broken pane and the secondary double glassing broken and missing! This with the lack of sound proofing from the other rooms led to a sleepless night.
Really a shame because the location of the hotel was 10/10, but it is difficult to enjoy your break without any sleep.
Be warned check which room you have when you book.

Room Tip: Steer clear of the Tap rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slgoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFalstaff, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comments, without which we cannot focus our attention fully on the areas that can still be improved.
I am glad to hear that the staff where friendly but apologise that you were not happy with your room. We do note guest requirements if we are aware of them and try to allocate everyone’s preferences whenever possible.
The recent crack in the window has been noted and addressed.
Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

John Alexander
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Our room was dark, dingy and dirty. Bathrooms were smelly and there was a mouldy fabric shower certain. We could also hear the guests in every room around us. A terrible experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenSturgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFalstaff, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2011

Dear Lauren,

I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay with us. I was a little surprised to hear that the shower curtain was not up to our usual standard as we replaced all curatins in the last twelve months and regularly wash our current stock as normal. This is something we will investigate and address as required.

We pride ourselves on providing an excellent service and have many good reviews which are a testament to that. Although disappointing to receive your review we appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention; as it allows us to be able to improve.

Sincerely,

John Alexander
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

My wife and I had not been to Canterbury before, and selected this hotel from the internet. We had a lovely stay, with friendly staff, pleasant and quiet accommodation, and a good breakfast each morning. The hotel is situated in the City Centre, so is ideally located for a visit. Would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank contrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Quaint but comfortable old inn, with a modern block behind, located just a couple of minutes from the train station from Charing Cross and London Bridge, and 30 seconds from the medieval gateway to the heart of the city. You can also walk to the university on a path up the hill in 20 minutes. Great breakfast, vegetarian option, friendly service, unfussy atmosphere, lots of space and comfort in the two rooms we had, free wireless internet. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Takingitscourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
1,986 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £65 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing