We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed in the Falstaff just before Christmas and had a lovely time, there was even a choir singing carols in the courtyard on our first evening with mulled wine and mince pies.
The hotel is really convenient as the shops and Cathedral are all within easy walking diastance and parking on site is a real bonus.
The staff were really helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Our room was good, and the free WiFi another bonus. The bathroom was a little bit 'tired' but clean and tidy so no real complaints.
We enjoyed our weekend so much we are going back again with friends.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

971 - 977 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

Lovely hotel - great location. Rooms perfectly acceptable for the price. What really stands out with the Falstaff is the brilliant service offered by all the staff. It really was a pleasure to experience such a high level of customer service.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy_shelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I found this little gem by pure chance, I was on my way to London from the continent and had a day to spare and not having been to Canterbury for near on 40 years decided to have an overnight stay and visit this wonderful old City and its Cathedral.

I picked this out from the internet and booked it.

I must say at the price, £39 it was fantastic value. The room was scrupiously clean, it was en-suite, the bathroom toilet also gleaming. The facilities, free parking directly behind the hotel, a free Wi-Fi, The breakfast was also wonderful, fresh coffee, toaster, full English if you want, or a continental for those that want a lighter start to the day. In had the full English with poached eggs. The staff very friendly and helpful.
Alas they do not do meals other than breakfast, but as it is situated directly at the West Gate restaurants are no problem, I actually ate my evening meal directly opposite at the very nice Fish Restaurant also well worth a visit.

I shall most certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithr668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed at Falstaff for birthday celebration with friends in sept. Ideal location for wine bars ,restaurants,shopping and places of interest in historic Canterbury big bonus was the Hotel parking although this is limited. Our advice is arrive early afternoon and once parked unless travelling out of town walk within the City as roads can be very conjested at peak times and parking is expensive and hard to find..The ground floor room was of good size and well appointed in a traditional style however we were unable to open the blinds as just a pain of glass between us and the very busy pavement !!The Staff were pleasant and helpful the let down was breakfast.We felt it poor quality and not one of the nicest we ve experienced although more than adequate.No restaurant facilities at the hotel but eating out really isn t a problem in Canterbury and a Wetherspoons is immediately next door .It was nt a quiet stay as Canterbury is a vibrant Tourist n University City but was ideal for an excellent mexican meal over the road at Cafe de Amis and plentiful drinking establishments within staggering distance !!! Happy Days.....

Room Tip: ask for one upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthCheshunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We have stayed at this 14th Century coaching inn on several occasions over the past 10 years. The main building is a classic period piece with genuine Tudor connections and bygone days. The panelled bar, sitting and dining rooms (the latter of which contains a history of the hotel) stand out as distinctive, impressive and comfortable. Our en-suite bedroom was warm, well set out and clean (much like home). Staff were efficient, helpful and very friendly (we were remembered from past visits) and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast (buffet style on New Year's Day, personal service on 2 January) was comprehensive including fruit, cereals, breads, rolls, croissants, cold meat, eggs and "Full English" - in fact, excellent suiting all tates.
The hotel has an annex, "The Woodmill", a refubished woodmill/joinery, consisting of several bedrooms in modern, up-to-date style with all the necessities/arrangements of praiseworthy premises/services. Although we did not stay in the annex, we have done so in the past and enjoyed high accommodation standards of at least the same level as the main building (some 20 metres away). The hotel car park is another "plus" offering a secure coded barrier system.
Location is ideal, at the Westgate end of the High Street within walking distance of museums etc, the famous Cathedral, shops, cafes and restaurants. Also, the hotel is situated perfectly for visiting the wonderful Kent countryside, its greenery and villages. It's handy too for Dover and other termini for those who wish to travel on across the Channel whether for day trips or longer.
The Falstaff is reasonably priced and an all-round gem.

Room Tip: I believe all are good but, if a modern room is preferred, ask for one in The Woodmill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Great Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I stayed as part of a couple for 3 nights over Christmas in a double en-suite room overlooking the courtyard access to the car park . We are used to period features on offer here and enjoyed the quirkiness as always. Creaky floorboards abound so if thats not your bag then don,t stay here ! The staff were helpful and approachable , we were able to strike up a good rapport very easily. The location is excellent for Canterbury which is a lovely small city full of delights and olde worlde charm . There are many independant shops offering an eclectic mix of goods of a high quality. The value was superb for this day and age , i,ve paid a lot more for a lot less very recently. Finally the breakfast seemed to have been cooked fresh , at least it did,nt have that pre-cooked heated up taste about it. Congrats to the management.

Room Tip: A room away from the North Laine should be quiet. Likewise St Dunstans street. This is still Canterb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I stayed in this hotel in a business trip. It is not accommodation only, but also history if you would like to figure out Shakespeare's England some centuries ago. Old fashion, taking into account the current trends even...trendy. Friendly staff, very well located, nice breakfast; I also surprised a private party in the restaurant, looking exciting. There is no minibar, but a welcome service in the room in exchange. I would say that it is stop to enjoy Canterbury for family and couples as well, because of its intimate atmosphere. It should be fantastic during festivals, season holidays.

Room Tip: Secure garages in the yard of the hotel. Ground floor look more quiet because of less neighbors (thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caius C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
476 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £64 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing