We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric hotel, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Atmospheric hotel, perfect location”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This very old hotel is in the perfect location for exploring Canterbury city, located just outside the west gate, also easy to find. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was pleasant, with good and plentiful food and the reading room/lounge/bar was reminiscent of grander times with comfortable chairs and a welcoming open fire to relax by. Another plus is the available onsite parking. The only downside was our bed was a double, not a queen size and thus a bit narrow for two.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezza48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    462
    181
    77
    50
See reviews for
157
546
58
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

stayed at this hotel for one night to attend my daughters graduation ceremony . The room was lovely and much larger than i expected with a well stocked welcome tray . Even though it was very cold the room felt warm on arrival and there was an extra heater if we needed it . Had a wonderful breakfast in the morning with every case catered for !! All in all a very enjoyable stay and would definetly go back !

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Historic hotel with great ambiance. Staff were friendly, helpful & professional. Rooms comfortable & clean with all facilities you would expect. Position of hotel is great - it’s an easy walk to Canterbury Town centre & all that it has to offer. Plenty of good restaurants very close to hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Traveller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I will keep this short and sweet!

Fantastic hotel with fantastic old room with all old victorian style rooms.

Breakfast was really nice

Maybe a bit steep for £110 a night , Well infact its out of my budget usually but I enjoyed my experiance and would have no problems staying again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brighty100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Have stayed here with my partner several times and we always look forward to returning. Canterbury is my home town and my family are here but i have been living in Shropshire for 12 years....I won't go into it....The staff are welcoming and always very friendly, the breakfast is hot and plentiful...we are full all day. The room ( we book the same room its cosy and just right for the 2 of us) is clean and the sheets are always white and crispy, . Yes the bathroom does need updating but there is always masses of hot water and everything is very clean. We would always recommend this lovely old hotel with so much character and history, you just can't beat it.......see you in April Falstaff ......Genie an Alex xxx

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genielamp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed in the Falstaff just before Christmas and had a lovely time, there was even a choir singing carols in the courtyard on our first evening with mulled wine and mince pies.
The hotel is really convenient as the shops and Cathedral are all within easy walking diastance and parking on site is a real bonus.
The staff were really helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Our room was good, and the free WiFi another bonus. The bathroom was a little bit 'tired' but clean and tidy so no real complaints.
We enjoyed our weekend so much we are going back again with friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Lovely hotel - great location. Rooms perfectly acceptable for the price. What really stands out with the Falstaff is the brilliant service offered by all the staff. It really was a pleasure to experience such a high level of customer service.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy_shelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
419 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Property: The Falstaff in Canterbury
Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing