We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but dirty towels!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place but dirty towels!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Great hotel that I stayed at with my wife. Very friendly staff who are willing to help. The location is optimal for strolling to the centre of town & the cathedral. Breakfast was really nice and hearty with a good selection of almost everything that you needed for the meal.The room was comfortable and warm through an electrical heater that you can switch on / off. Full of character with some creaking from the floor boards. The carpet is old, not clean with stains too. Old CRT TV without digital channels. Free wi-fi is a great bonus along with the free parking. The only big problem that we encountered is the fact that the dirty towels that we left on the floor of the bathroom in the morning, for the cleaning staff to replace, were simply shaken and put back on the heated railings!! We just wondered if the towels were actually used by other customers and then simply put on our railings.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karatone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFalstaff, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us at The Falstaff and for also taking the time to give your feedback which is most appreciated. I would personally like to apologise the mistake that was made with your towels and would like to assure you that this was very much an error of judgement with one of our new chambermaids that has been immediately corrected. The housekeeping team are very much aware that towels left in the bath or on the floor are to be replaced and many comments we receive do praise the housekeeping team on their cleanliness and attention to detail. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast so much and that the staff were friendly too and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Falstaff in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    459
    180
    76
    49
See reviews for
155
541
58
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andernach, Germany
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed in the old part of the hotel which is full of character and wooden beams, everything is a bit tired though. Our room faced the streets, which is a bit noisy, but was alright in the end.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The location is ideal for sightseeing and shopping, absolutely perfect.
Unfortunately the restaurant was closed and the bar is a real down point.
Breakfast was fine, good old English breakfast, but don´t ask for any extras.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kadilawei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I booked this hotel for my husband's 50th birthday. It was everything I could have hoped for. The superior room (Room 27) was huge, with a large very comfortable 4 poster bed and wood panelling.It even had a large fireplace , though not working,(which I feel would benefit from having orange lighting to enhance it) The en suite bathroom,hidden away behind the panelling was modern fresh and clean.
The breakfast was perfectly cooked, and plentiful., and served in a lovely breakfast room. We found the staff to be very helpful and professional.
The location is perfect for a quick walk into town and there are many good restaurants nearby. I would definately recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a little street noise- the front is fine.We had no problems .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home Counties
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The Falstaff is ideally situated for visitors to the lovely city of Canterbury, it's just a few minutes walk to the city centre. You can stay in the main building, which is the old coaching inn - full of character and wooden beams. We prefer to stay in the more modern part which is surprisingly quiet considering the hotel's busy location. On our first visit there we had a major hiccup with the booking and the location of the room, but this was quickly and efficiently attended to - a complimentary bottle of wine soon smoothed things over. On our recent visit to celebrate my wife's birthday last month everything went like clockwork, allowing us a very pleasant and relaxing few days.
There's a splendid buffet style breakfast at weekends (available till 11 o'clock - that's civilised!) which is taken in a rather fine dining room in the old building. There are reasonable parking facilities too, which is a definite bonus in Canterbury. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and spacious - prices are reasonable too considering shops, restaurants, cathedral and the Marlowe Theatre are only a short walk away. We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer part are away from the main road and a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlgernonKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have just returned from a weekend here. I had stayed here before but the experience this time was even better! The 'welcome back' bar of chocolate was a nice touch and the level of customer service was excellent! Ideally situated and a very comfy break - Well done!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsSaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The hotel itself is full of historic charm, the downside being the creaky old floorboards, especially if you have an elephant above you! The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient.
The single room had everything I needed except a bathtub, but the bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in away from home. The only other advice I have is not to choose a room above the courtyard area - my Room 6 had annoying bass music coming up from below from 7.30am until 11pm from the running loop that plays in bar and dining room. If I heard Mellow Yellow one more time ..... Location near the station very good and plenty of lovely eating places everywhere in Canterbury, especially Ancient Raj just around the corner.

Room Tip: Not above bar or dining room - music at all times
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debfisherj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Nice small hotel, with loads of character!! I have stayed here a few times. I recommend Room 27, which is the 4 poster room on the front of the hotel...but be weary, anyone staying upstairs in the old building should be prepared to hear everyone walking past your room, as the floor squeaks a great deal! Would also recommend NOT taking a room overlooking the courtyard, as during summer you will not get much sleep due to this area being part of the bar. Beware of room 2, as its said to be haunted...no word of a lie !

The food quality of the restaurant is ok, however it seemed to me that the restaurant ran more poorly then it did during my first two stays in 2004 and 2005. In any case, if your in town for dinner, do to Marloes on the high street! Its great, and try out the Lamb while your there!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llcoold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Property: The Falstaff in Canterbury
Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing