We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A1 location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A1 location”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The hotel is ideally situated for visiting Canterbury and surrounding area. The rooms at the rear of the hotel are very quiet but the rooms are not as old as the main hotel. Being nosey I had a look around the main part which had very creaky floor boards which I think would of disturbed me if I had been trying to sleep there.
The breakfast was good but limited, the continental side consisted of mini croissant, pain au chocolat, one plate of thin cheese and one plate of ham.

Room Tip: rooms in the old woodmill are quieter, rooms in the main building have more character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFalstaff, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and also for your feedback which we are always grateful to receive. Being a city centre hotel there are often the usual external noises to contend with such as traffic and visitors passing by. We have found however that since the re-development of St Dunstans Street which has moved traffic away from the hotel, combined with our secondary and double glazing things have greatly improved. We do also offer as part of the continental side to our breakfast items such yoghurts, a range of cereals, fresh fruits, breads and jams as well as the pastries, cheese and ham items, and of course there is also the Full English breakfast available to all guests who wish to enjoy that too. Once again I would like to thank you for your stay and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Falstaff in the near future.
Kindest Regards,

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    470
    191
    80
    54
See reviews for
165
563
58
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Great location, fantastic staff, excellent breakfast.
Twin room was just wonderful.
Can't fault the place.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room away from the main road. We suffered a tiny bit noise but nothing major.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianbennett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair Atholl, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

What can I say, this hotel was wonderful. The atmosphere, location, decor and friendliness of the staff all rate A+. My husband and I stayed two nights in Canterbury and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is extremely well placed for city sightseeing. The rooms were very comfortable with a classy but relaxed feel. The hotel kept true to its origins of being an old coaching inn and housed its guests in a variety of buildings within its grounds however, it had an up to date attitude and provided a welcoming ambience.

A definite must for us again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandrhona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My Husband, myself and our young son recently stayed at the Falstaff for one night and found it ticked all the boxes you would hope for. Our room, on the ground floor to the rear, was spacious even with the extra z bed and was attractively decorated and faultlessly clean. There was just a little noise outside as some guests came/went from the car park at one point but nothing detrimental to getting to sleep. The breakfast was a definite high point ! Our son tucked into the buffet with avengance & must have sampled everything on offer from the pastries, cereals, juices,fresh fruit, yoghurt, as well as the cooked eggs, bacon & sausages etc. - delicious ! All the staff were polite & helpful and we were allowed to leave our car in the car park for the day after checking out. Great location for the Cathedral and City sights.

Room Tip: Rooms may be noisier at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break in Canterbury and found the Falstaff to be in an ideal location for getting to the main attractions in the city. The hotel is located within a short walking distance from Canterbury West station and near the West Gate, The hotel staff were very good and helpful making our stay very pleasant. The Falstaff is an old building but has a lovely atmosphere. There are creaking floorboards but the positives this hotel has far outweighs any inconvenience this may cause. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was quiet and ideal for our needs. The breakfast menu was very good and the food excellent. The only suggestion I would have is that the hotel consider upgrading their television channel availability. It's very unusual to only have four terrestrial channels available for guests these days. I swould certainly recommend this hotel to friends and would stay there again on returning to the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJB270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFalstaff, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us at The Falstaff and for also taking the time to give your feedback which is most appreciated. I thought it worth mentioning that we have very recently installed new flat screen TV’s with Freeview channels into every room for all of our guests to enjoy. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Falstaff in the near future as I’m sure you will appreciate the continued improvements!

Kindest Regards,

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have just returned from a trip to Canterbury and found the Falstaff to be ideal. It is situated only a few minutes walk from Canterbury West rail station and in the centre of Canterbury itself, ideal for sightseeing and shopping. I stayed in the old part of the building and loved it although my single room was rather dark but as I was out most of the day that wasn't a problem. It was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast will fill you up for the day ahead. Very tasty with plenty of choice and good service. There is a residents lounge and a small bar with comfy sofas.
There is a bus route called The Triangle numbers 4/4A/4X operate in a clockwise direction from Canterbury to Whitstable, Herne Bay and Sturry and numbers 6/6A/6X operated in an anti clockwise direction. Both extremely useful. The 6's stop right outside the hotel taking you into Canterbury bus station and the 4's stop across the road taking you in the dirction of Blean and Whitstable. Or do what I did and took a 6 and hopped on and off at each of the major stops and ended back outside the hotel. Great day.
I will certainly be staying at the Falstaff again on my next visit to Canterbury it has great atmosphere and just feels right.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kowloonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Just spent a couple of nights at The Falstaff, booked via Booking.com. The website told us there was only a twin room left, which was fine by us, yet we were pleased to find we actually had a family room with a double and a single bed, although the decor felt a little tired. As others have mentioned the floorboards in the main building are very creaky but this part of the building is very old and this is to be expected if you are after that 'Olde Worlde' experience. The beds were comfortable enough and the room was a good size, with tea and coffee etc. Our room (17) was right next to the pub 'The Bishops Finger' however by the time we returned to our room each night (around midnight) the pub was closed and noise was minimal, helped by the fact that the room had secondary glazing and with the recent road layout changes outside, what was once a very busy road is now a little quieter.
Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was very nice both days, with a really good choice of continental and full English, in a pleasant dining room. The staff were very friendly and approachable.
The hotel is ideally placed for exploring Canterbury, just yards from the West Gate and a few hundred metres from the main shopping area, newly rebuilt theatre and the West Station.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank localgal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,917 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#9 of 16 in Canterbury
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Property: The Falstaff in Canterbury
Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing