We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Clean & good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Although it is not in the main high street I would not stay anywhere else now. I have visited Canterbury many times this hotel is the most friendly. Clean and tidy as well as being warm. Location is 10 min walk from the shops but loads to see while walking to them. Canterbury has loads to see. St Thomas's RC church is lovely it is a must to visit and only a 3min walk from the cathedral. Went back to the hotel where I was greeted with a lovely hot cup of English tea - lovely :)

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    454
    176
    75
    48
See reviews for
153
532
58
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We just had a coffee and it was served with biscuits. Reasonable hotel value. Probably a nice and quiet place to get away from noisy students and teenagers. Comfortable seating, 10.10 cosy factor. Service - they didn't clear up the plates quickly, but that's not the end of the world as they weren't intrusive. Nice place for friends to meet up.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyclingbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here for our visit to Canterbury. The hotel is ideally located for a visit to this part of the world. Minutes walk from the cathedral, with loads of shops and restaurants close by. Clean rooms, with a wonderful breakfast. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdloots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
358 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect. A short walk into the the walls, parking on premises, easy access to trains.
The staff was great very helpful and understanding
Two rooms: we booked a room which I guess was the economy room. I was disappointed when I saw it but would have stayed except we had no Internet. As we need it for our business it was really important. The room was in the old part of the hotel (loved that part) very small (could live with that) not very attractive (easily changed) a very nice young man on hearing our problems re the Internet upgraded us to a great room, large charming with a 4 poster bed, great bath, fireplace, beautiful windows and perfect Internet. If we had this room originally would have been a 5 without a doubt, probably should be a 5 anyway except having seen both rooms I was bothered by a couple of things. The bath amenities were different in both rooms. Not just less but lower quality. This does not make sense and I have rarely seen it. The first room could be charming with a little effort. I have stayed in many small rooms and a little color and decor changes could make it charming.
I know there have been some complaints about the room we stayed in because of noise but we were not bothered at all by noise.
Would I stay again? Yes but I would make sure I booked the better room. I can't thank the staff enough for accommodating us and the hotel is charming

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacaAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

There was a large group of us staying for one or two nights, at the hotel, to attend a wedding reception at a nearby venue. The staff and service was superb..... nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend this hotel for any type of stay.
Just be careful when parking your car in the car park for the Woodmills accommodation.... it is extremely tight getting in and out of if you have a large car with a terrible turning circle!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PebblesKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

The hotel is ideally situated for visiting Canterbury and surrounding area. The rooms at the rear of the hotel are very quiet but the rooms are not as old as the main hotel. Being nosey I had a look around the main part which had very creaky floor boards which I think would of disturbed me if I had been trying to sleep there.
The breakfast was good but limited, the continental side consisted of mini croissant, pain au chocolat, one plate of thin cheese and one plate of ham.

Room Tip: rooms in the old woodmill are quieter, rooms in the main building have more character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFalstaff, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and also for your feedback which we are always grateful to receive. Being a city centre hotel there are often the usual external noises to contend with such as traffic and visitors passing by. We have found however that since the re-development of St Dunstans Street which has moved traffic away from the hotel, combined with our secondary and double glazing things have greatly improved. We do also offer as part of the continental side to our breakfast items such yoghurts, a range of cereals, fresh fruits, breads and jams as well as the pastries, cheese and ham items, and of course there is also the Full English breakfast available to all guests who wish to enjoy that too. Once again I would like to thank you for your stay and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Falstaff in the near future.
Kindest Regards,

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Great location, fantastic staff, excellent breakfast.
Twin room was just wonderful.
Can't fault the place.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room away from the main road. We suffered a tiny bit noise but nothing major.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianbennett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Property: The Falstaff in Canterbury
Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing