We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
London
2 reviews
“The place to stay!!”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Have been visiting Canterbury for many years now, and found this place by far and away the best Canterbury has to offer!. clean rooms, friendly staff, great location (Near the city centre) and many local attractions too.

Can't wait for my next visit ...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    458
    180
    76
    49
See reviews for
155
540
58
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My partner booked a surprise weekend away away for us in Canterbury last year. Our hotel to stay in was 'The Falstaff', a 4 poster bed in a lovely warm room facing on to the quiet carpark at the back of the hotel. I have never been to Canterbury and l it was a very dear surprise. A table for supper on one evening had been booked at the gorgeous restaurant opposite The Falstaff - Chapmans (that l cannot recommend highly enough!) The room was in the hotel was divine, the bed sumptuous and crispy clean white linen.
The bathroom could of be a little more updated but hey! The real touching thing was the loo roll being folded to a point on the holder! Lovely. It was clean and free of cobwebs and dust. Tea, coffee etc .. provided and TV. Great place - Thumping good breakfasts in a clean happy dining room. Wonderful stay would dearly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for the kinds of rooms - They vary in size - bed difference, ie four post to ordinary double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockelsdorf, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We had been on a short break holiday down to Dorset, so we had decided to break before getting the 12:00hrs ferry to Dunkirk. As it was my partners Birthday and she had never been to Canterbury. As I had stayed here in January, I suggested the Falstaff as an ideal place to visit the Cathedral and shops. The reception staff are very pleasant, helpful and friendly, we got given a room that is up a winding staircases, this would have been difficult for anyone with a disability, old or infirm, especially as there is no porter visable and no offer of help with the cases. That being said I realise that this is an very old coaching house and that this is part of its charm. We had room No4 and for a short stay was perfect. A television, a reasonable sized bathroom, neat clean and tidy. It even had a trowser press.
The breakfast was not the usual a la cart service but a buffet type, reason was that the hotel was full and so that there was no delays the buffet had been put on, but eggs of choice could be ordered. There was abundant cereals, fresh fruit, juices, milk, and prunes etc. I had ordered 2 poached eggs, they came and were perfect, I had mushrooms, beans, bacon, hash brownies and sausage to go along with them.
I was again satisfied with the hotel in General a few small niggles and a largish one.

small; no porter service offered, the advertised wifi reception in the room was non-existant.
Major niggle: no hot water on Sunday morning, it really shouldn't take 3 hours to get it fixed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithr668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and were placed in the Wood mill annex. We enjoyed a lovely clean room with tasteful furnishings, the shower and tiling were slightly in need of modernising but everything functioned perfectly. The historic building had such charming character, and its close proximity to everything we needed or wanted to do and see was a real bonus. Having free car parking enabled us to enjoy a car free holiday for 3 days. Breakfast was buffet style while we were staying because the hotel was full but the standard of food was very high and the staff very efficient and helpful. Outside noise from some revellers disturbed our sleep on one night, but that would not put us off staying again, in fact if visiting Canterbury again I wouldn't even bother researching alternatives I'd just book The Falstaff .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StazUrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We had booked through a third party for one Saturday night. The room was in the Tap Rooms block and faced the main road. The room itself was a goo size with a comfy bed and was great. It was only when we came back to the room in the evening and tried o get some sleep that it all went wrong. There was loud noise outside our window until about 3am. It was a hot night so we needed the small windows open but in the end we had to close them due to the noise. The room was opposite a taxi rank. When the revellers were on their way home they seemed to congrgate just outside our room.

We complained the next morning and was told that as we booked through a 3rd party and not direct with the hotel they offer the worse rooms to these guests. However, the room price was the same (not cheap) so we were very disappointed and were told that we couldn't have a refund there and then as we had already paid in full with the 3rd party. Very disappointed to be offered a bottle of wine only. We were told that the manager will contact in a few days but didn't why the manager at the hotel could not do more for us aas we were so disappointed and exhausted.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebblesnutmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Our room placed us in the annex, at the back of the 14th century main building, and although not luxurious, this was clean and well maintained, with decent sound-proofing on the windows (although these could have done with a paint). Location is great, just outside the west gate of the city, three minutes walk from the cathedral. Staff were helpful, getting us fresh milk for our room very readily.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mac094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We left there today after 3 nights accommodation. It is a very old building going back to the 14th century, full of character. Superb location just step out of the hotel and you are into the shops and the Cathedral is just around the corner. The staff there were quite honestly the best I have encountered, from those on Reception to those in the breakfast lounge. Great breakfast too- buffet.Nothing is too much trouble. The information about where to go to enjoy the stay was spot on. Cannot fault the place. I'll be going back I can assure you

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10, it was great there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chowWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Property: The Falstaff in Canterbury
Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing