We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Hotel well situated you can park your car in the hotel's spacious car park and go everywhere on foot. The hotel room was spotlessly clean, the staff very pleasant and the breakfast excellent. A perfect hotel for visiting Canterbury. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    463
    182
    77
    50
See reviews for
157
547
58
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Just back from the Falstaff hotel in Canterbury. We had a great time. The hotel is amazing. The location is perfect. Staff is really friendly. The room we stayed in with the four poster bed was amazing. So much space, so beautiful - just perfect. Even though it was facing the front of the hotel (main road) - we slept very well. The breakfast was plentiful. We are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomerscalesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoy staying at The Falstaff and we very much look forward to welocming you back.

Kind Regards,

John Alexander
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

Great location and very friendly.
BUT the carpets are furniture is looking very threadbare and needing replacement. While the hotel plays on its charm of being old, wooden beams etc, it is looking rough around the edges.

Also don't be late for breakfast as there is a large queue later in the morning

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank weechancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. I am pleased to hear that The Falstaff is convenient for you in so many ways and please do rest assured we are also working hard on improving all areas of the property.

Kindest Regards,

John Alexander
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
418 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

It will be seen from the previous reviews that there is quite a variation in the review outcomes for this hotel and this is totally related to where your room happens to be located within the hotel. I have stayed here previously and vowed never to return but business brought me back on this occasion. We had requested a quiet room (rooms at the front of the hotel are VERY noisy and some rooms elsewhere are less than desirable) - the room I was allocated was in arefurbished wing and it was delightful. I experienced some difficulty with WiFI and the staff could not have been more helpful in resolving the problem.

The loaction is brillaint in that it is minutes walk from both the station one way and the centre of the town the other. Breakfast was included and this was comprehensive and high quality.

Would I come back...yes...but I would ask for a quiet room!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room...definitely not at the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfab777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 1st Dec for 1 night, in wheelchair accessible room (girlfriend is disabled). Main hotel not 100% step free but the annex at the rear where we stayed has step free access from car park which is good for anyone who has these needs.
Check in and hotel staff accomodating to us and our needs throughout.
Room was well appointed with a comfy bed, good size LCD tv with complete freeview services, with usual kettle, tea/coffee, iron and the obligatory trouser press. One side of bed was made accessible from wheelchair which was a great help. Pillows a bit naff but otherwise we slept well. Room very clean and spacious, no broken or tatty furniture etc..
Dining room, though small, also has a wheelchair access ramp. We had bed and breakfast and were greeted to a buffet of full selection of cooked full english or continental breakfasts. Food was very very good except maybe the scrambled eggs which were a bit rubbery and bland, but no other complaints food wise. Eggs cooked another way available on request.
The only real niggle we did have was the bathroom. The sink and lavatory looked new, but the bath, while in good condition, the adaptations and tiling on the wall are starting to look a bit worn & worse for wear and could do with a refresh, but all grab rails etc well placed and still usable. The shower itself was a high pressure power shower and felt invigorating. Other niggle is that for a disabled bathroom it really does need a non-slip floor.
There aren't many hotels in Canterbury that have disable friendly facilities unless you stay on the outskirts of the city - this is primarily due to the ages of the buildings in the city, but this one, built in the 15th century, has been adapted sympathetically and is one of the reasons we booked.
Situated by the West Gate tower, is on most of the city's public transport routes, so only a short walk to the city centre, taxi rank, bus stops or trains (Canterbury West).
We will book this hotel again in the future and recommend to anyone considering a stay in the city. The £99 charge was certainly reasonable given the location and quality of the staff and room we had. Better value than ABode for a room of the same standard and quality.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dozeydustman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Great old coach house hotel - we staying in one of the superior rooms, four poster bed, very homely and comfortable indeed
The hotel itself is in prime position for a visit to the city. Minutes walk from everything.
Staff were exceptionally polite and helpful
Breakfast was plentiful and 'help yourself' - but everything you could imagine was there to choose from.

Room Tip: choose a room at the back of the hotel - quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Guest,

I am really pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and the team looked after you.

We very much hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

John Alexander
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jellier
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Have just retured from a few days in Canterbury and stayed in this hotel. Could not fault it. Staff were efficient,courteous and friendly. Rooms were warm clean and comfortable with all the necessary equipment.- trouser press iron and ironing board coffee making facilities etc. The public arears were comfortable and clean and the bar service efficent and friendly. My only problem if you could call it that was that we were in rooms separate from the main building and as the weather was very wet we had to walk in the rain to get to breakfast or the bar. But all in all I would recomment this hotel to anyone and will be staying there again when in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,848 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
419 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Property: The Falstaff in Canterbury
Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing