We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Nearby Hotels
Broome Park Hotel(Barham)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$314
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cathedral Gate Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$117
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,222)
Filter reviews
1,222 results
Traveller rating
327
522
215
90
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
522
215
90
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkmain buildingthe ground floorbuffet stylelovely old hotelold buildingfour posterexcellent locationstaff were welcomingcity centrehigh streetbreakfast was excellentfull englishstayed for two nightssingle roomsunday morningcooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
783 - 788 of 1,222 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Uncomfortable bed, tired decor, worn out carpets, poor quality hairdryer, weak shower, filth on top of plug sockets, noisy bathroom fan, TV only works for 10 minutes at a time, no fresh air in room. Can't wait to check out tomorrow morning. Will never book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unhappytraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Unhappy Traveller2013,

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at The Falstaff. As can be read from other visitors most people are happy with their visit and do see The Falstaff as good value for money. It is a shame that you did not give us an opportunity during your stay to rectify the issues you've raised but thank you for your feedback, we do always take on board what our guests are saying.

Kind Regards,

John Alexander
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed one night in The Falstaff on our trek through the Kent area. We stayed in the building behind the hotel and it was very quiet and comfortable! It is located right across the street from the old Roman wall. Everything worked properly, the bed was ok, and the shower was in good working order. The WiFi was good. The Continental Breakfast was wonderful! The price was really good! I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyK835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Excellent location for visit to town & Cathedral. Very nice breakfast. Enjoyed staying an old inn instead of familiar chain. Staff helpful and efficient. Friendly but not overly friendly(like a Swiss Inn).
Good value. Easy walk from Canterbury West rail station once you go inthe right direction.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here for an extended visit to Canterbury earlier this month. Everything was excellent from the staff to the fantastic location, just a short walk to the high street. Will certainly recommend this to friends and family and personally can't wait to visit again..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Falstaff is a great place to stay at in Canterbury with an authentic English feel to the experience. The patio, garden and breakfast are all lovely and the rooms are comfortable enough although an update would be greatly appreciated. If you're into old stuff then go for it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReyVas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews