We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A 2night/3 day city break at this small but friendly hotel was an experience in comfort and convenience. Ideally placed just outside the city walls, with a 5min stroll to the city centre/cathedral. It was easy to find, with an ample, secure car park adjoining. The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful or efficient, with advice not only on the hotel's own facilities, but on where to go and what to see in the city, and the most recommended eateries.
The room was not overlarge, but not cramped either. The facilities within were as one might expect, and they all worked. The room and ensuite were spotlessly clean. Nightlife is not within the hotel, but not far away, but at night there was no noise.
We would definitely stay again for further exploration of the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel, but not overlooking the main road.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,113)
There are newer reviews for The Falstaff in Canterbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here last Friday night with my wife staff pleasant and friendly clean spacious room very well located for exploring Centre of Canterbury. Would definitely recommend this hotel, car park available on site. Breakfast also included with price of room

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank barryos61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel was booked for us as part of a tour. We stayed in the Wood Mill part of the building which is across the car park from the historic hotel. It had an electronic lock go get in, a challenge the first time, but got used to it. The room was a standard, older, motel room. The room was fairly large with chairs to sit. The bathroom was small and had a leaky toilet which we reported. It had not been fixed by the time we left so we had a towel on the floor to sop up the water. The plus was the location, close to the train station and close to the heart of Canterbury. We were able to walk to the Abbey, by day or night, and walk to St. Augustine's Abbey as well. Being so close to the tourist area, there is a wide selection of restaurants to choose from. The breakfast buffet included with the room had a wide selection and was hot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrontierLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We took a train from London and walked a very short distance to the Falstaff. This old structure is clean and well maintained. We preferred the annex (Old Woodmill) for 2 nights because it was extremely quiet. Our room, unlike another review, was not huge but it had a desk, coffeemaker, upholstered chair, good TV, and comfortable bed...fine for 2 people. We walked to the cathedral, the riverside park, shops, and the bus stop with ease, taking local bus 6 to the bus terminal to pick up bus 15 to Dover for a cruise.
Breakfast was very nice. It was a buffet because of the large amount of diners, and changes to table service when less crowded. The little bar area has a fireplace and charm for a quiet drink.
This is a pleasant hotel for a pre-cruise stayover instead of Dover, or perhaps for parents visiting the nearby colleges. (I saw no gym or business center...not that kind of place.) Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The attached picture is of the annex entrance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candyshores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Very old building which adds something to the stay. Helpful friendly staff make this hotel have a feel to it that is one step removed from the "typical" predicatable chain type of hotel. Rooms were reasonably priced and very clean.

There was no food available when I stayed and the small bar is not for a rave night out at all but that is more than made up for with the excellent location in the middle of Canterbury. There are loads of other restaurants, nightclubs and bars there with a very lively atmosphere.

The free carparking at the hotel right in the middle of town was also very useful. I would have prefered the main building to the annex as it was piddling down when I stayed but the annex was very quiet and this may suit better for a family stay.

Room Tip: If you have kids or a mobility issue then avoid the rooms where the bathroom is "upstairs"...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nautiboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in mid-September; it was our jet-lag recovery spot and it couldn't have been better. The location is excellent, close to everything, but just outside the hustle and bustle of the center of Canterbury, so the room was quiet. The room was good sized, bed was very comfortable, and we had access to a small walled garden. The breakfast was excellent. The staff was most accommodating: when we had to catch an early train, they provided us with coffee and several of their FABULOUS sausages, even though the dining room was not yet open. Now that is service! Should we visit Canterbury again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meridoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The historic Falstaff building dates from the 1400s, though there are much more recent additions. Its location is just a short walk to main street, shopping area and Canterbury Cathedral.

We stayed just the one night prior to embarking on a cruise at the nearby Port of Dover and it was very convienent for our needs. Our excellent ground floor room was in a separate annexe at the rear of the property - it had a huge amount of space and was beautifully presented.

As noted by other reviews the hotel does not have an evening dinner restaurant but there are plenty of pub and other options close by.

The staff were friendly and helpful making our short stay even more pleasant.

Breakfast (included in the tariff) was adequate without being spectacular, but it set us going for the morning.

Overall the Falstaff was an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,955 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £65 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing