We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Nearby Hotels
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Broome Park Hotel(Barham)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$222
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$95
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$105
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,218)
Filter reviews
1,218 results
Traveller rating
327
520
214
89
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
520
214
89
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkmain buildingthe ground floorbuffet stylelovely old hotelold buildingfour posterexcellent locationstaff were welcomingcity centrehigh streetbreakfast was excellentfull englishstayed for two nightssingle roomsunday morningcooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
765 - 770 of 1,218 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed for one night with a bunch of friends. Hotel was very welcoming on arrival..We had room 27 which was a superior 4 post bed room. It was enormous with wonderful furnishings and full wooden panelling. Very luxurious fittings. A very pleasant bar area. The hotel opened up the bar after we returned from our night out at 11.30am. Breakfast very good too. Would highly recommend it

Room Tip: Room 27 superior with 4 poster. Very large and well furnished
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathThorogood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I go to the Falstaff quite often as it's a great old building, quiet, cosy and generally a very nice place to be. They could improve it a bit however; the bar today was being cleaned by a trigger happy member of staff, and the whole room smelt of detergent spray. She stopped spraying for a while but then started up again, WAY more chemical than was necessary to clean. It made my throat hurt. Could this not have been done first thing in the morning, or last thing at night, like most businesses? Also the food available is very minimal- just toasties or paninis or crisps. I don't eat wheat/gluten so that was pretty much it for me. We also had to wait to pay our bar tab as the only member of staff had to help out at reception as the person on there was 'swamped'. These are observations rather than criticisms though, the Falstaff is a lovely place and I highly recommend it to visitors as well as local people.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My daughter booked this hotel for guests for her wedding. We stayed two nights and the hotel couldn't be bothered to clean the rooms for the second night. My daughter, a new bride, had no fresh towels, or a bed made for her wedding night.
This happened in other rooms too but how unforgivable not to lok after the new bride and groom!

The staff were lovely looking after us on arrival and in the bar but breakfast was chaos, 20 mins for a couple of eggs, and the noise from the central hearing system kept people awake all night.

Frankly it is a ghastly hotel with hopeless management.

Don't stay here if you want a special occasion only if you want to be close to Canterbury town centre.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Jumbobaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Jumbobaggins,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am sorry to hear your rooms did not get serviced on the second night. The maid was told to return later on and this unfortunately did not get communicated effectively at the time which I do sincerely apologise for. We do always have a manager on duty who would have been more than happy to re-fresh the rooms had it been requested. We do always try to rectify any mistake during a guests visit for their comfort and convenience. I would like you to know that we are also looking into the other issues you have raised. I do hope everyone enjoyed the wedding and being in Canterbury.

Kind Regards,

John Alexander
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A 2night/3 day city break at this small but friendly hotel was an experience in comfort and convenience. Ideally placed just outside the city walls, with a 5min stroll to the city centre/cathedral. It was easy to find, with an ample, secure car park adjoining. The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful or efficient, with advice not only on the hotel's own facilities, but on where to go and what to see in the city, and the most recommended eateries.
The room was not overlarge, but not cramped either. The facilities within were as one might expect, and they all worked. The room and ensuite were spotlessly clean. Nightlife is not within the hotel, but not far away, but at night there was no noise.
We would definitely stay again for further exploration of the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel, but not overlooking the main road.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here last Friday night with my wife staff pleasant and friendly clean spacious room very well located for exploring Centre of Canterbury. Would definitely recommend this hotel, car park available on site. Breakfast also included with price of room

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank barryos61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews