We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly and extremely comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Even though the staff on the desk were busy with other guests when we arrived they still made us feel very welcome. They were very friendly and helpful. It was a very positive start to our stay.

The room itself was very clean with possibly the most comfortable bed possible. There are sufficient sockets for chargers etc (an absolute necessity in the age of the smartphone). The bathroom was clean with lovely Dead Sea toiletries. Even better were the huge fluffy bath sheets as opposed to the scraps of towel that are sometimes provided.

Breakfast was a vast array of every food that could be asked for. From fruit and cereals, cheese and cooked meats, to a full English breakfast with the eggs being cooked however you wanted.

What really impressed us was the dedication of the staff to ensuring the guests had a good experience. For instance, one member of staff who finished at 11 o'clock, stayed in the bar until gone 12 pm, even though he had to be back on duty at 7 am the following morning.

We 100% recommend The Falstaff. With its perfect positioning for the city centre literally just a stroll away and the numerous restaurants and pubs on the doorstop it is perfect. Even more, it has a car park for guests too.

If we wanted to nitpick, the bathroom fittings are a little tired, but given a coaching in dating back to 1400's it is nothing to put us off looking forward to a return trip very soon.

A big thank you to all the staff who helped us have an extremely pleasant stay over New Year.

Room Tip: The Falstaff has such character that it doesn't matter which room you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank berylthesilverperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Falstaff and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was clean and comfortable, with a good powerful shower and cosy bed. The location was ideal, literally one minute walk to the Westgate Towers leading into the city centre of Canterbury. The service from reception staff and waiting staff in the breakfast room was faultless. The breakfast buffet itself was well-stocked and of good quality. At only £79 for the room and breakfast, it was also excellent value for money. Well worth it!

Room Tip: Try and get housed in the Old Woodmill, this annexe building is set back from the main road so will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TractorBoy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Excellent Location for the Marlowe Theatre, Cathredral and City Centre, all only minites away.
We stayed the night before Christmas eve, and everything was great, we only met 3 members of staff, but all were very friendly. Room was nice and clean ( room 10, family room in the main building). The Bar was good. BUT the breakfast was one one the nicest we have had. Lots of choice and it was all hot - Well done.
Another big plus was they had their. own parking which is a big bonus in Canterbury.

Room Tip: Staying in the main Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We booked the Falstaff for a one night stay for a double room. The room was very cold and right next to a Weatherspoons pub, which was very noisy especially with single glazed windows. However, the staff were very nice about it and as there were no more double rooms available we were upgraded to the beautiful 4 poster suite.

The room was lovely, the bed was extremely comfortable and it was beautifully furnished, However, the pipes were really loud! The (very friendly) staff couldn't work out what the noise was but we had a very comfortable stay none the less.

Another slight problem with the room was that the shower head did not fit into the holder so you had to hold the shower head whilst you were showering which was a bit inconvenient!

Other than that, we had a lovely stay, the breakfast was good and it was an excellent location. The hotel itself is beautiful and clean and the staff were very accommodating.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegrogster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear thegrogster,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Falstaff. We have addressed the maintenance issues that arose during your stay and the secondary glazing is being upgraded where required. We also checked the radiators in the room and they are working well. I am very pleased to hear that you found the staff accommodating and helpful and once again would like to thank you for your kind and helpful feedback.

Kind Regards,

John Alexander
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Norman A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 December 2013

great location right next to westgate ,close to great bars and restaurants
The Falsaff is an old coaching inn with real character and charm this extends to the staff who were very welcoming
Room 23 has its own little roman court yard with some amazing guests in the garden
Lovely open fires ,fantastic irish coffee made with baileys breakfast really good
We will be Going back

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A friend and I stayed in 'Taproom' last Saturday ( £97 twin room) or a weekend visit.

Plus points: Ticked all the boxes- friendly staff, good parking. The room was small but comfortable.
Breakfast was good quality

Downside- the main road location and proximity of Weatherspoons pub means some noise from revellers after closing time.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel and I'd stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for least noise room......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
476 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £64 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing