We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I've been in to The Falstaff a couple of times recently for meetings in the coffee bar and have been very impressed with the welcome, service and ambience. It's olde worlde, nice and cosy with excellent staff and service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentcouple66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    470
    190
    80
    54
See reviews for
165
561
58
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel and once again we enjoyed our stay. Its an atmospheric building, with creaky and non flat floors in places, and no wonder, considering its age. The staff were very friendly, breakfast was good, and you walk out of the entrance into the town centre. I left an item in my room on departure, and this was posted back to me within a few days, for which I was very grateful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank contrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Hotel offers a comfortable stay. The building is old and creaky but in a good way. The breakfast was decent and the staff accommodating. The hotel is very central, near The West Gate entrance, making it easy to access the old part of Canterbury. There are some areas that could do with a touch up, as it looks a bit tired but this doesn't detract from a pleasant stay. Don't be put off by other negative reviews.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We booked a superior room but what we got was far from it. When we arrived the staff were lovely but the room was very tired looking and did not have the fireplace and beamed ceilings as stated on their website. When looking at the bedding it had holes in the quilt cover the duvet underneath was very dirty and the sheet was all screwed up. The staff did however sort this out for us and changed the whole bedding. When it came to sleeping the mattress was very uncomfortable and the noise from the radiator was awful so much so that I'm writing this very early in the morning as I just can't sleep. Shall be demanding my money back for tomorrow night and booking elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glennzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Glennzoe,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear you felt disappointed. We have been looking into the points you raised and taking action where necessary; our maintenance manager has fixed the radiator. There was also an issue with a batch of linen needing to be returned to the laundry company but I would like to re-assure you this has not happened before as they are very reliable and have serviced the hotel for many years. I am glad to hear the team responded to your satisfaction on this point and were generally very helpful towards you. We are continuing to work through our maintenance programme on room improvements and I am pleased to say a lot of our regular guests do notice the work being done. It is a shame you did not wish to move to another room but would like to thank you for your feedback. The vast majority of our customers feel The Falstaff is very good value but we do value all customer feedback and use it constructively to further improve the hotel.

Kind Regards,

John Alexander
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel for couple of days break
Staff friendly
Breakfast was excellent
Only thing that let it down was we arrived late and it would of been lovely if u did an evening meal or Bar menu but I do understand why as there is a lot of Resturant near by to choose :-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ranger101970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed in a standard double for two nights. The location is brilliant really close to the high street and cathedral. The room was very spacious and fixtures n fittings are old fashioned fitting in with the decor and age of hotel. The breakfast was varied and cooked well and the staff were helpful and friendly. Out only problem was the shower was awful... bad pressure and temp either hot or cold. Overall a nice hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beko83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horley surrey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night, and really enjoyed our break, the hotel is faultless. Every member of staff was so polite, friendly and helpful and did everything to make our stay comfortable. Our bedroom was really cosy (22), and had everything we needed. Breakfast was outstanding, very varied selection, service impeccable. Canterbury is a beautiful City, lots to see, some lovely quirky shops within minuets from the hotel. We are looking forward to a return visit. Thank you for a superb stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilipG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear PhilipG,

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed everything and very much look forward to welcoming you back to Canterbury in the near future.

Kind Regards,

John Alexander
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,916 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#9 of 16 in Canterbury
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Property: The Falstaff in Canterbury
Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing