We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An odd one, this ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An odd one, this ...”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

First impressions, before arriving, were mixed - told that the hotel could only provide evening meals if we took a fixed menu option. Instead, we were referred to one of the nearby restaurants which proved to be t=great and once I got used to the idea of popping out to get my diner, i began to like the hotel a little more. Breakfast was just right - the choice was limited compared to some hotels but in fact, there was enough for most tastes and it saved me eve-eating! Again, the bar had a limited range but included something for everyone in our party, so I couldn't r early complain. My only real problem was the fact that my room was at ground floor, facing the road, which meant a stream of people passing the window and a lot of noise form the pub until late at night. I really should have asked to be moved, so have myself to blame in part.

All things considered, I think that once you accept that this is not a hotel trying to be a destination in itself (no pool, no gym, no corona bleu chef) you begin to see that for anyone wanting a use to explore Canterbury and the surrounding area, it really is pretty good and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for the Woodmill annexe at the back - avoid the pub noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    462
    181
    77
    50
See reviews for
157
546
58
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel has a car park and is an easy walk from the City centre, the rooms are a mixed bag, you could even say eccentric, some can be noisy as the pub garden next door gets busy. So old fashioned English yes, but a quirky character building in a great location. Not peaceful but handy for the City? Buffet breakfast with tasty pork sausages, passes the English sausage test. No draught real ale in the bar but the pub next door has lots of it !!

Room Tip: Avoid front low floors as traffic/pub noise can be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2_Romantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle Of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights at this hotel. Our accommodation was in the quiet Woodmill building at the rear of the hotel and was hard to fault in any respect.
The location is brilliant for the city, being so close to the centre. Although they do not provide evening meals on site (apparently they used to), there must be at least a dozen decent eating places within a 400 yard radius.
Breakfast is fine, although may involve a short wait for a table at busy times.
Our room was spacious and the bed comfortable.
The hotel state on their website parking cannot be guaranteed but we never had a problem getting a space (I seem to remember there are 34 spaces and 46 rooms so I was always prepared for the possibility of having to use nearby public parking).
Overall, a great hotel and helped contribute to a very pleasant holiday. If there had been the option, I would probably have given it 4 and a half stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manxseasider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights and were delighted with everything ,the staff the food, no complaints at all . In a very good location the carpark was very large and no charge which is a is rare with a lot of hotels these days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 509kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Noisy and unclean. I arrived at this hotel, to discover dirty cups in the tea and coffee area and hairs in the bath.
I was not happy and could not wait to leave.

Helpful?
3 Thank anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A characterful ex-coaching inn, dating back hundreds of years but with modern updates, and just outside the old city walls, the Falstaff is a very pretty black and white timber framed hotel.
Staff were friendly, the breakfasts were excellent and the wifi worked both in the public areas and our bedroom. The prices for our room were very competitive, even though we booked direct.

The hotel is literally a 2-minute walk from the start of the shopping centre and five minutes from the Cathedral, and many other attractions.

Our one slight downpoint: the hotel advertises itself as 'hotel and restaurant' but the 'restaurant' only serves breakfast! It wasn't a big issue, as the staff readily recommended good places to eat, and we had excellent meals in two of their choices - but we were just curious as to why they still advertise as having a restaurant, when they don''t?
It is not enough to put us off - we really loved Canterbury and will be back, and stay again at the Falstaff

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high melton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Hotel in good location right by city walls and easy walk to cathedral and town. Receptionists delightful, very helpful. Standard double room / bathroom good and breakfast very good, service was excellent. Would recommend this hotel. For the price paid it was good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank braveheart24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
419 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Property: The Falstaff in Canterbury
Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing