We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant base for exploring Canterbury and beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Brilliant base for exploring Canterbury and beyond”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights whilst we explored Canterbury. Fantastic location; ten minute walk into the town centre, where there are plenty of pubs, restaurants and all of the main attractions in Canterbury. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room, although compact, was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was lovely; there was a bit of confusion on our first day as to whether it was self-service or not, but that was clarified for us. Lots of choice of food and they cook fresh eggs to order which we really appreciated. Lovely old building with on-site parking and free wifi. A very comfortable stay; would recommend and return myself.

Room Tip: Don't forget to get the car park access code before you leave during the day, otherwise you end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    460
    180
    76
    49
See reviews for
155
542
58
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great hotel in a fantastic location. Only 5 minute walk to city centre. Check in was smooth, the hotel staff were incredibly friendly and the room well equipped and a good size. We had a drink in the cosy bar before heading out, and breakfast the following morning was nice enough, if not spectacular. Would love to stay again in this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Room 22 opened up to an outside seating area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

lots of character; spacious well equipped room and good value. Good breakfast, centrally placed and good staff. recommended if you're staying in Canterbury for a night. some rooms are in an annex which I'm told was a bit noisy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derm90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Thanks for a lovely comfy room & great breakfast, all the staff were also very helpful & friendly. We also enjoyed the city, very old world and charming, there`s certainly plenty to do and see, we`ll be back! Cheers!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manxman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

An overnight stop on the way to the Channel Tunnel and couldn't be better! We were upgraded to the four poster bedroom - the oldest in the hotel apparently and really characterful and comfortable at the front of the building.
The staff were really friendly and helpful, and breakfast as ever was excellent - just right to set us up for a channel crossing and a long day's journey through France.
The Falstaff is perfectly located for exploring Canterbury - right next to the Westgate and then a short stroll into town with all the shops and amenities of this wonderful city. There are so many good restaurants to choose from within a short distance of the hotel plus great pubs too.
With easy parking as a real bonus this is one of our favourite places to stay when visiting East Kent or on the way to the Continent - very highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at a the Falstaff Hotel in Canterbury from the 22nd June for 5 nights. We were very comfortable there. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were excellent and the whole hotel was spotlessly clean. Our room was on the small size but had everything we needed. The bed was one of the most comfortable we'd ever slept in. The hotel had lots of character and was a most interesting building. I would recommend The Falstaff to anyone wanting a break in the beautiful city of Canterbury.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila300656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I had wanted a room at the back (quieter) but was upgraded to the Sir John Falstaff suite. Although this is on the street, at street level, curtains and blinds gave privacy when needed and it wasn't as noisy as I'd feared.

The room itself is lovely - very large, old beams and furniture, four-poster bed.

Breakfast (buffet) was good, catering to a wide selection of tastes from a typical full English to continental.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

The location - as everyone notes - is great; a 5 minute walk from the train station (west, not east!) and 5 minutes to the West Gate and the historic centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Property: The Falstaff in Canterbury
Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing