We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,331)
Filter reviews
1,331 results
Traveller rating
373
559
229
95
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
559
229
95
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park old coaching inn main building free parking superior room old building lovely hotel excellent location four poster bed public areas city centre staff were welcoming high street breakfast was excellent full english stayed for one night cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,331 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2018

We stayed here for two nights recently. There are plusses and minuses to this hotel. The location is great. It is beside one of the old city gates and the river and is very central. It has a car park. The hotel is an old coaching inn which is being refurbished.
All the staff we encountered provided excellent customer service and were willing to go the extra mile; for example, one of the excellent receptionists managed to change our room to a ground floor room so that my partner could avoid the steep staircase. The room we had was a good size. The lighting in the bathroom is fantastic; so unusual to get lighting bright enough to put on makeup/shave etc. Breakfast was OK - good coffee and wonderful porridge. A better range of breads, and fresh fruit salad would be nice. On the down side, the room was in an annex on the main road. We slept very badly indeed because of the road noise which goes on for most of the night. The annex was next to a pub and the empty bottles were collected around 6am and this was also extremely noisy. Those windows really need good sound proofing. Also, an umbrella in the room would be good for getting across to the hotel in the pouring rain. We would return to The Falstaff, but not to a room overlooking the roads.

Room Tip: Book a room which does not overlook the roads.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Purchased through the Tesco points scheme it gave a unique opportunity to visit Canterbury and the surrounding areas. There were no downsides by using vouches as the whole experience was first class.The staff were welcoming and the whole hotel is undergoing renovation which means slight interruption with daytime builders etc but this did not spoil the stay. Some of the rooms are small but very well decorated and high specification.The breakfast is more than adequate. There is no onsite restaurant (for evening meals) but the town is awash wit food outlets at all levels (all within walking distance). There is free parking at the rear of the hotel on a "first come, first served" basis but be aware that public car parks are expensive.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a higher spec room and to the rear of the hotel
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

so glad I chose this hotel in Canterbury from many on offer requested ground floor room which was allocated we stayed in the annexe room 47 .Room was very comfortable bathroom very big shower only which is great for us,bed was really comfortable also bedding was of very good quality which is very important to me.the room was very clean and serviced brilliantly every day by the time we returned from sightseeing.nice bar my husband and I had a lovely bottle of wine each night really enjoyed cosy atmosphere,and if I must be a little picky please put more staff on at breakfast as staff were struggling a little to keep restaurant clean and fetching tea and coffee small niggle but even this would not deter me from staying here again as great stay great staff what more can you ask for .

Stayed: August 2018
Thank janny002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Perfect location for a night or 2
In Canterbury. Hotel rooms are a little outdated compared to the rest of the hotel. Reception and bar area give the impression of an upmarket hotel but the rooms are a little basic and old looking compared to the rest of the building.
Just off the high street on a a quieter road with some quaint pubs nearby you really can’t beat the location. Buffet breakfast with everything you’d need, private car park and friendly staff. Definitely gets the job done.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Stayed here one night over the August bank hols This hotel is the best 3star we have stayed at, hotel is an out coach house and really lovely, our room was a front bedroom in main area it was modern with a very comfortable bed, very clean and had a wonderful shower, Hotel very close to all of Canterbury and parking included in reasonable priced room . Breakfast again included in price had a great buffet choice and very very nice. lovely bar area, Had a great stay and will be going back.

Room Tip: had room 291 very nice
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews