We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, lovely staff, but tired rooms and a 4 foot bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Worthing UK
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Well located, lovely staff, but tired rooms and a 4 foot bed”
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Having read some of the reviews and booked late we were a bit worried about the Falstaff, but overall this proved to be unfounded.

The good bits – the reception desk staff – really charming and helpful; they checked to see if the room was ready early and as it wasn’t stored our luggage so we could explore. Although buffet style the breakfast was well cooked and there was a wide choice of hot and cold food. The dining room was very pleasant and there seemed to be plenty of room, even though the hotel was full. The bedroom was clean but whilst the bathroom was generally spotless they’d missed the bath which had a shampoo bottle top in and hairs. Plenty of hot water, good water pressure and proper sized bath-sheets rather than the normal small sized towel. Actual bedding is good quality including crisp cotton sheets. The location is excellent, especially if you arrive by train to Canterbury West and there seems to be loads of car-parking if you need it – rare indeed in Canterbury.

The bad bits – bath not properly cleaned. The room was tired, paper was peeling a bit, curtain lining perished, basin cracked and plug chain broken, for example, but to a point these were balanced by the cleanliness. We were in an annexe (as are a lot of the rooms as it is an old coaching inn around a courtyard) and the walkway could have been more clearly marked. The building we were in was an old pub and fronted a main road. From the outside it looks like an abandoned pub (needs decorating and prettifying), this causes after-hours drinkers to congregate outside the bedroom window, as evidenced by the noise in the night and piles of cans outside in the morning. However, the main reason for marking it down to an overall 3 was that the bed was only 4 foot wide rather than a full sized double (we weren’t warned) and worse still, it only had a single duvet on which we didn’t realise until 11.00, by which time we just wanted to go to bed rather than sort it out. Otherwise we’d have rated this an 4 overall.
From our experience of central Canterbury hotels, this really isn't bad.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clamshell-Worthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    470
    189
    79
    54
See reviews for
165
559
58
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Treoes
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We booked direct and staff did their utmost to be accommodating for my 90 year old father in law by offering a ground floor room and very good disabled parking facilities. They were also very patient with him at all times including checking in and breakfast time without being patronising.

My husband and I were in the Falstaff Suite which was excellent. OK there were elephants upstairs but it is an old place and insulation was not invented then!!

Highly recommended for romantic, visiting and family occasions.

A very enjoyable short stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PleasedTreoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend and after reading some previous reviews I was a bit worried!! However, I was very pleased. We were greeted by a very friendly french guy on reception who gave us a map of the local area and showed us places to visit and recommended some restaurants. We had a double room (21) in the main part of the hotel which was quite roomy with tea/coffee facilities, tv etc. Basic bathroom with good shower and VERY hot water and a hairdryer! We had no noise from other rooms. Very nice breakfast with plenty of choice of cereals, juices, fruits and croissants followed by a cooked breakfast. Very handy to have the free car park as the hotel is just a short stroll from all the attractions.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sharonb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Friends and I stay here to watch Kent cricket up the road. A historic inn, the location is good, at one end of the High St of this beautiful city, with ample parking. Friendly, helpful staff and excellent freshly cooked to order breakfasts.
Contrary to the views of some others, we did not find the hotel dirty at all, a little well-worn in places maybe, but great value. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atticuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Looked really nice on their website, booked through hotels.com though I'd got a good deal at £100 for a double for the night. The room was dirty when we arrived (in fairness they did clean it again when we requested), damp from shower condensation and right on the main road so v noisy. Breakfast was included and average at a push. V close to Canterbury West station
Don't be deceived by their website, the reality leaves much to be desired.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meerkatmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

My boyfriend and I went to Canterbury for a couple of days and stayed in the Falstaff. First impressions were quite favourable as an old coaching inn. Our room was in the Woodmill part and it was basic and clean. There was a broken tile on the bathroom floor, the grouting needed attention, all in all it needed some paint and TLC!! The walls were so thin that during the night I could hear people in the next room unplug appliances and flush the toilet. The staff however were very helpful and the breakfast was nice too. It was good as a basic base to visit Canterbury as the location was great, but if you're looking for a luxurious romantic break, I'd stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roe184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Had one night here and the outside looks great. The car park was free and we has no trouble getting a space. Check in was easy. The room was of a good size however the whole place needs a refurb and deep clean. For example the walls and carpets were quite dirty. However the towels and white bedding were spotless. The bed was comfortable.

Breakfast was quite nice but service was a little slow.

You are just across from the start of the pedestrianised high street. No problems with noise as we were at the back of the hotel.

The location is the reason to stay here. There are lots of retaurants bars and pubs nearby. This is of use as there is no room service. The Bishops Finger pub next door was lively and friendly. The shops and cathedral are really near too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkyh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,908 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#9 of 16 in Canterbury
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Property: The Falstaff in Canterbury
Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing