We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic time”
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay and after reading some earlier reviews were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Reception staff very friendly and helpfull- we were allowed to book in early as our room was free- and dining room staff were good despite being understaffed on our first day. The room was very warm and comfortable though we did get some noise when people passed by our windows (we were in the old building on the ground floor). The hotel was close to all the amenities- plenty of choice of restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    470
    191
    80
    54
See reviews for
165
563
58
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We took the train to Canterbury and the Falstaff is just 3mins walk from train station. Also, it is just near the Westgate and therefore, many shops & restaurants nearby. Very convenient!
We booked 3 nights with different bookings. Luckily that we could stay in the same room in these 3 nights although it was a twin bedroom. However, the staff could arrange combining two beds into a double bed in the next day. Very good service.
The breakfast is included in the room rate. They provided Full English Breakfast, with fruits, cereal, breads in buffet style, while cooked food in a set. In general, breakfast is very nice.
There is in-room wifi. That's really convenient and it is not charged. The room is comfortable and clean. But we could not able to get a fridge and safebox in the room. Also, if you are carrying large luggages, please ask for ground floor room. There is no lift in Falstaff.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bird-Bird-Blogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We stayed here for one night with a group of friends (10) in all and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were a good size and the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities, ironing board, tv everything that was needed for a great nights stay. Parking on site was also a bonus.
Breakfast was very nice t00 - all in all absolutely no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stumbie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

I have just returned from spending two nights in this delightful hotel. The location is very good, literally two minutes away from the impressive looking Westgate, and close to the town centre, cathedral and other popular attractions. At first i was disappointed at being roomed in the newer Woodmill part of the hotel as opposed to the older part of the inn, however i soon made myself extremely comfortable in the twin room i shared with a family member. It must be said that our room was in the attic and could be quite difficult to access for the less abled so i would check this when booking. The beds were the most comfortable beds i have slept in, and the room spacious, airy and clean. The bathroom/shower was not the best but perfectly adequate and clean. The hotel only provides breakfast but there are plenty of good restaurants within close proximity. The breakfast was lovely and consisted of a served full English and fruit/cereal/yoghurt/croissant on a buffet basis. The staff were very polite and helpful and seemed very eager to please. I would definately return to this hotel.
I would like to take this opportunity to recommend a restaurant called Marlowes...absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ragcarrieanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We spent a mid-week break at The Falstaff and it was an excellent choice. The staff on reception were very welcoming, even providing a very useful map of the city. We had a room in the Old Woodshed which is a converted building at the rear and the room was large, clean and comfortable with an en suite bathroom. Breakfast was first class and plentiful. The bar was not used much during our stay although it is nice and cosy and there are no evening meals. This does not matter at all as the hotel is quite central and close to some first class restaurants and pubs. There is even a Wetherspoons pub less than a minute away so something for everyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We stayed at The Falstaff for one night at the end of November. We took the train from London and arrived late morning at the hotel. We just wanted to leave our bags so we could visit the cathedral. The very nice lady at the desk checked and our room was ready.
We booked a family room that was in an annex near the car park. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast the next morning was crowded but good. We had a very pleasant experience at The Falstaff.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Shabby. Dirty, has the feel of a place that's about to go under. Very very poor. Bathroom hadn't been cleaned and was disgusting .

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jitsuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,917 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#9 of 16 in Canterbury
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Property: The Falstaff in Canterbury
Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing