We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aah! Glad we went to The Dolphin”
Review of The Dolphin

The Dolphin
Ranked #39 of 372 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Aah! Glad we went to The Dolphin”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Always welcoming, excellent food, good selection of beers, games, newspapers and altogether the best eatery in Canterbury. Been many times with friends and family and never disappointed. Don't go anywhere else. Well done to all at The Dolphin!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    107
    19
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real food in a pleasant setting.”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Very friendly, very good service, very nice food (limited choice though), crapy beer (hey, we're Belgian), fair price.
Very nice experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I have travelled the world looking for many things; not least a great burger. It's a lonely quest - many frozen, processed burgers called "gourmet" and "homemade" lurk on pub and restaurant menus, ready to trap the unwary.

So, care worn and weary from the search I came to this pub. I liked the decor, I liked the ambience, the chaps behind the bar were warm and welcoming: but I've learnt through painful experience none of this is much of an indication of burger quality. The menu looked good, lots of choice but, like a moth to the flame, I was drawn to the burger.
"Don't do it," my wife said, "It'll only end in bitter disappointment," (the burger, that is), "and I'll have to listen to you grumbling about it for the rest of the night."

But I wasn't disappointed. It's a great burger. Is it the best I've ever had? I don't know but it must come pretty close. The meat's not packed in so tightly you could use it as a springboard - it's got space to let the juices flow freely and impart flavour throughout, it falls apart the way a real homemade patty does.

And full marks to the butcher that supplies their meat.

There are many reasons you might like to visit the Dolphin but I can tell you, that burger is very special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great find in a rainy Canterbury”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stumbled upon the Dolphin purely by chance in Canterbury and what a pleasant find it turned out to be. Interior decor of the pub is old advertisments and old advertising mascots/figurines mixed with some road and rail signs. All tastfully done and not over the top. We ordered a starter each (batter Brie with caramalised red onion) which would have easily been enougn if shared. The mains were of Desperate Dan proportions. Nothing wrong with the service, presentation or cooking. Just too much of it. The menu was titled bit between Christmas and New Year. Hopefully it does change according to seasons. Car park close by.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The nicest pub in Canterbury”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

...also serves the best food, ale and drinks. For ten years now this pub has been consistently brilliant. There are even board games for when you run out of things to say...

Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dolphin also viewed

 

Been to The Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing