We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful, used to have very good reputation”
Review of New Century - CLOSED

New Century
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: Chinese, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: WE are family business in canterbury for over 20 year ,we alway doing our best on our service and food to all the local familys and visitors in canterbury, looking forward to see soon in our restaurant ***
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awful, used to have very good reputation”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Ordered a take away via Just Eat, payment taken with an one hour delivery time given. Food arrived two and a half hours later, some items missing, three items could not be eaten, all items warm and not hot. Really disappointing especially as we live only live a short 10 minute drive, should have gone elsewhere, will do in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    15
    3
    0
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food In Canterbury”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Fantastic food, good service and an amazing all-you-can-eat menu that offers exceptional value for money. Definitely the best place to go for Chinese food in Canterbury.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KenC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst customer service ever experienced”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We ordered this as a takeaway and were quoted a price of £15.70 and a delivery time of 45 minutes. The food turned up 30 minutes late and with a price of £26.70! When ringing the company they were unapologetic just saying it was a "busy night", i have read several other reviews that also complain about the lateness of this company. On complaint about the price the company offered no sort of price negotiation until pressured and then offered a measly £2 off the price. The food was over priced, late, and quoted wrongly. Never again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Average dining experience”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I visited this restaurant with a group of five. As I am not a great fan of Chinese I was hoping my colleague's excellent reviews would be substantiated. However, I can't say this was the case. The food was reasonable and there is a wide choice available. The staff were nice. I don't really enjoy eating at a table with a plastic tablecloth and cheap cutlery. Desserts at a Chinese are a bonus and even if they were bought in they were nice. I liked the Chinese lager. Bill came to around £150 for five people with drinks and a few cocktails so not bad value. Ambience was a little missing. Yes, with photo ID you can eat free for your birthday. I'll pass on that.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erma_Passenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing family run restaurant!”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Absolutely love this restaurant and have used it reguraly over the last 8 years! The menu is extensive and everything is bought to you hot having been freshly prepared! Ok so the drinks may cost a little more than in another restaurant but for less than 25 you could have a range of starters, duck (which you would normally pay around 7-8 pounds for on its own), soups and an array of main courses with pudding and a couple of drinks!
The restaurant is family run and all of them polite and ensure that you enjoy your meal!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Century also viewed

Sturry, Canterbury
Pett Bottom, Canterbury
 
Fordwich, Canterbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing