We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Restaurant”
Review of The Parrot

The Parrot
Ranked #48 of 369 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic restaurant. Today is the third or fourth time I have eaten at the Parrot. Each time I have thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
For me The Parrot epitomises Canterbury. Low ceilings, wooden floors, oak furniture and cosy wood burning stove.
The staff are really friendly and attentive.
The food is great, freshly cooked and delicious.
We will definitely be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    107
    29
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Went with a party of friends following my wifes graduation. We had an excellent meal of truly brilliant food for £30 a head including a considerable number of drinks. The pub downstairs is both quaint and cosy with own fires and ancient wooden benches.
Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Bradfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding lunch (good new menu too) & friendly staff”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I have just got back from an excellent lunch at The Parrot. I have worked around the corner from The Parrot for 7 years and have enjoyed it on and off, but the new menu they have just launched is delicious (and they also have a fantastic and accommodating head chef, who basically said "anything is possible; you want it, I can make it" to a friend with a gluten allergy). One warning: the portions are huge and you may have to be rolled out the door when you leave. Everyone enjoyed their food today and we will certainly be back again to try more from this menu. In term's of service and friendliness (from the bar staff to the kitchen staff who came out personally to see us), The Parrot were on top form today.

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Attractive pub, poor food”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Went late afternoon on New Year's day with my partner. An attractive pub with a nice wood burning stove and some decent beers. We both ordered a classic burger. The fries were fine, and the coleslaw good, but the burger was not good at all. Very dry and served almost cold. I'd go back for a pint but not to eat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank timkennington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you Parrot!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Had our Christmas party here last week. It was fantastic!.
Great home cooked meal, generous portions served piping hot too.
The staff were brilliant so helpful, even when we forgot our orders!!
Already looking forward to visiting again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Parrot also viewed

 

Been to The Parrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing