We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely One of the best pubs in England”
Review of The Parrot

The Parrot
Ranked #38 of 293 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 5 June 2019

We have now been to eat here twice in a matter of weeks. The staff are very friendly, the building is beautiful, the beer is good and the food is probably the best of all the Shepherd Neame pubs. I don't think anyone would be disappointed if they visited.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Bernard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2019

They claim to date from the 1300’s which could certainly be true judging by the building. Came by for a beer and returned for dinner. Had an excellent meal of steak pie. Just a pleasure to sit here and enjoy the history.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2019

Went to The Parrot for drinks and had a fantastic time. Good service and good beer and wine in an unforgettable location.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank RevMarkV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2019 via mobile

We had the BEST server (feel silly for not getting his name!) He was so attentive and had many suggestions. He's learning the beer culture and is able to talk so freely and with so much knowledge about the beer - my husband is a novice brewer so loves chatting all things beer.

All the beers we tried we enjoyed - and had great conversation around the flavor notes!

Our food was incredible. I had the seabass, as per recommended by our server, and I've never had a better fish dish. My husband ordered the pork tenderloin and our son ate the Mac and cheese!

Highly recommend making a stop at the parrot, even if it is for 1 quick drink!

Date of visit: May 2019
2  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2019 via mobile

Loved this pub ,the oldest in Canterbury ! Friendly staff and lots of memorabilia ,well worth a visit or two ,great food and beer ,definitely visit again

Date of visit: March 2019
4  Thank rosesmith1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Parrot also viewed

 

Been to The Parrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.