We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay, great staff and fabulous atmosphere! strongly recommend it!”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing stay, great staff and fabulous atmosphere! strongly recommend it!”
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The reception lady, Sally - i think is just fabulous! we have arrived at the hotel just to treat ourselves and to escape a bit from london! It was a pleasurable experience and we will definitely be back! the staff was very professional friendly and hands on, ready to assist with any occasion, the food was absolutely amazing the room was super as well! we recommend it it was room number 305. We love it!

I would like to say a BIG THANK YOU for all of you guys! you have done a great job!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelishldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 2 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay, its always lovely to hear positive feedback but particularly so when a guest highlights a particular member of the team. Sally has just been promoted to the assistant front office manager and her customer service skills are exceptional. I will pass on your kind comments personally to Sally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    570
    330
    185
    80
See reviews for
276
1,092
66
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East sussex
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We have just returned from a weekend at the abode and found it to be very clean friendly and comfortable, we arrived earlier than planned and sadly our room wasn't ready but the staff allowed us to leave our luggage and car so we could go and explore while we were waiting. The room was very nice and a lovely little tuck basket with sweets and crisps was a really nice touch (and they topped it up the next day !) we had a minor problem which was sorted politely and efficiently. The beds are lovely and comfy only slight down side is the pillows are square and not quite long enough for me but all in all a lovely place to stay and we will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nawtymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 2 July 2011
Thank you for posting your review, I am pleased that you had a good stay, and that the team responded to your needs quickly and professionally. The beds are hand made Vi-Spring beds and are extremely comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland/Germany
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

This was my second time staying at this hotel.

I arrived 1230 on Thursday 23 June and the welcome at Reception was warm, enthusiastice and genuine, it was like being welcomed home. Room was ready which was a bonus, though I would not have minded if it were not.

I had booked a table for lunch in Michael Caines restaurant for 1315. I had a pre lunch drink before having the most gastronomic "Amazing Graze" five course lunch with wines. The freshness of the courses, the accompaning wines made this a lunch to remember. And what great value.

The service too in the bar was excellent and the room most comfortable.

Breakfast next morning was a feast.

This is a great hotel in a great city, I will be back.

P H

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonahIreland_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased that you found the service so personal and friendly it’s the service we strive to deliver at the hotel. The wine match with the grazing lunch is a fantastic offer and really does enhance the experience. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

My sister and booked into the Abode for a last minute break. The welcome on arrival was very friendly. The room was clean and very comfortable. The restaurant staff were faultless and very professional. They meal was delicious. We both slept soundly in the luxurious beds. Departure was smooth and equally friendly. Can't find any fault at all with this hotel. We will be returning soon. It was the perfect location for all the sites in Canterbury and situated in the main shopping area.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and thank you for your kind comments relating to the team and the service within the hotel and restaurant. Delighted that you will be returning the near future.

Best regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

My husband treated me to a last minute birthday treat of a one night stay and meal in the restaurant. Initial impressions were excellent, Becky on reception was very friendly and helpful, however, everything went down hill after that. The bathroom mat was covered in hairs which fell all over the floor and bath when I unravelled it. To be fair, someone was sent to clean up, but he used an old stinky Hoover and the stench in the room after he gone was dreadful, so much so the duty manager had to I've us candles to burn. On top of this, the flannels were filled with dried leaf or something when you unravelled them which is not nice when you have a face of soap! The restaurant is good apart from the slate plates as cutting on them makes your teeth go on edge. Overall, disappointing levels of cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andythechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Thank you for your review, I am very sorry for the shortfalls you experienced within the housekeeping department, which I have addressed. What you have described is completely unacceptable. I am pleased you enjoyed the restaurant and will pass on your kind comments personally to Becky on the front desk.

Best regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The hotel is on the High Street right in the middle of Canterbury, you couldn't wish for a better location. We stayed in a desirable room for 2 nights, accommodation was great, room not massive but modern & very clean. We were a little worried about car parking in light of earlier reviews but we had no problems. We parked in the gravel car park as the main car park was full but this is very near to the hotel, very good when you consider the central location of the hotel. We went out in the car for the day on Saturday returning at 4.30 and we were able to find a space. We ate in the restaurant one evening, the food and service were good but the portions were very small. Given the size of the portions it was expensive but we had an enjoyable evening non the less. We would definitely stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisonB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay, the hotel parking is limited with 12 spaces at the hotel and we rent 10 spaces across from your Old Brewery Tavern. We do have parking vouchers as well for use in the local council car parks should our car parks be full.

Best regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Stayed as part of birthday celebrations, staff were all friendly, helpful and professional. Rooms although expensive were beautiful - calm, spacious, heavenly beds. Lovely birthday touches provided by hotel - a balloon in my room and glass of champagne on arrival delivered to my room - thanks, i loved it all. Fantastic location and cheap parking just made it super convenient as well as super comfortable .

Room Tip: We were all on second floor - great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am so pleased you had such an enjoyable birthday and stay at the hotel, we always try to do something a little extra for guests who choose to celebrate special occasions at the hotel.

Best regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Property: ABode Canterbury
Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing