We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...but take your ear plugs”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location...but take your ear plugs”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The hotel is in a great central position for visiting this very walkable city. The (standard) room was clean and well maintained. However the walls were not very sound proof in our room and we could clearly hear all the comings and goings of the 'neighbours' as well as their conversations and sound from their TV. The bathroom was quite cold and became very wet with condensation after a shower. The food in the Michael Caines restaurant was excellent quality although the menu was limited and inflexible, especially for vegetarians (risotto on this occasion)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    573
    331
    188
    80
See reviews for
282
1,096
67
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Great location, superb service from the staff in all parts of the hotel, in particular the mixologists in the cocktail bar.
Tiny little things need attention in the room (it was one of the cheapest rooms), paint chipped round the door, that sort of thing, but lovely smellies!
Had dinner in the restaurant which was awesome (separate review).
Only downside is the car parking which is a nightmare, if you can get into the hotel car park it's not too bad, but to be fair, the hotel is in an historic building, right in the centre of an historic town, so it's not going to have loads of space for a car park!
Worth a stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatyans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

couldn't have chosen a better location. Restaurants, shops, location, bus terminal and attractions all within 10-15 mins. to the left or right of the hotel entrance.
having a kettle with wide selection of teas and coffee is such a plus.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horse54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittenweem, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

A very striking hotel with an expensive restaurant attached, plenty of lounges and a champagne bar. It doesn't quite work as the high-service boutique it's trying to be, though. It's very central but also very noisy: the external and internal soundproofing is poor, and the room had the loudest air conditioner I've encountered in years. The staff aren't as attentive as they need to be to live up to the promise of the design and marketing: they're friendly and efficient, but they lack that edge that marks a real high-service place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simoninireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I recently stayed at ABobe Canterbury to celebrate my mothers 70th birthday. Although we had booked standard comfortable rooms, the hotel had noted the birthday and upgraded us to their most enviable suites which was a really nice touch. The staff were really helpful and welcoming throughout the stay. The hotel itself is lovely with a range of comfortable and relaxing areas to spend time in. The central location is also fantastic. I would thoroughly recommend it for a short break.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NessJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

From the moment I made my reservation to check-out, service levels from all staff was second to none. I stayed in room 132 with my Mum and 4 month old baby, which was clean, comfortable and spacious enough inside. The only negative would be the bathroom...which was a very tight squeeze and we are both very petite ladies.
The location is very central, you couldn't be better placed to explore Canterbury with all amenities and shops on the doorstep. We dined at both restaurants, although the food was great I would not recommend dining at the main restaurant with a baby...we felt all too aware that my daughter was slightly noisy, spoiling the experience for other diners. So if you have you have young ones go to the Old Tavern round the corner which is a gastro style pub.
Other than that this hotel gets the thumbs up...and we would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Really enjoyed my stay at Abode Canterbury last night. The staff were really lovely and welcoming and went beyond the call of duty to accommodate us. Our dinner at Michael Caines' was excellent. Really loved the complimentary toiletries provided in our room. Abode is located perfectly in the centre of Canterbury...shops, puds and restaurants literally on the doorstep. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a hotel in Canterbury.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meadkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Property: ABode Canterbury
Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing