We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but good be so much better with some small changes...”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Headcorn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good but good be so much better with some small changes...”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This is the second time that we've stayed at Abode, and as before we stayed for just one night as a treat. It's a good hotel but as other reviewers have said, it doesn't quite live up to the mission it sets itself. The good: Location is superb, our room was spacious with lots of drinks and nibbles to tuck into, great bathroom, huge comfy bed, lovely breakfast, pleasant staff. The not so good: Shower only produced cold water and was broken (loose part on the controls). We told the front desk about this and, to their credit, they offered to take a look/sort out a room for us the next morning for us to shower in but we declined as we were only staying one night, so used the bath instead. We were a little disappointed that they didn't go the extra mile and do something to compensate for this - a free drink in the bar perhaps? It was noisy at night with people going up and down the high street but I guess this is something you have to accept as a sacrifice for the location. One of the bathrobes was torn and the television reception wasn't very good. Also, there were areas of the hotel that were looking tired. So, in summary, not what you would expect from a top end luxury boutique hotel. The little details really let it down. But I'd still recommend it for a short stay in Canterbury.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcollins007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    563
    326
    183
    79
See reviews for
273
1,075
65
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Abode on Sunday night. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We were very kindly given an upgraded room which was of a good size for a weekend stay, clean and very comfortable. The room had everything you could need including dressing gown and slippers. Our room had a dvd player and films could be borrowed in the hotel. We were able to make tea, coffee and hot chocolate and there was a good selection of nibbles, biscuits, juices and water. The bathroom was clean and warm and had a lovely range of smelliest. We soon realised we had forgotten our toothbrushes, but we had no cause to worry as reception soon sent up two complimentary toothbrushes and a further supply of tea. Other reviewers have said the hotel is noisy. we did not find this to be the case at all. The cocktail bar is lovely and in the evening the lighting in the hotel is dimmed and gives a very warm and relaxing atmosphere. We had breakfast at the hotel and it was delicious. My daughter had a full English breakfast and I had eggs benedict. There is a selection of cereals, pastries, fruit and yoghurts and after a hearty breakfast we were ready to tackle Christmas shopping.
Canterbury is a lovely city and we had a wonderful stay. As my daughter is at university in Canterbury I will be visiting regularly and I won't hesitate to return to the Abode. Lovely hotel, lovely staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andawem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Nice location, rooms overpriced and cramped, I booked five Desire rooms at £145 a night , the only Desire I had was to get out.the resturant was the biggest disappointment , I had Chef table for ten guest , was presented the worst menu I have ever been given , three starters and three main , liver,Hake or the predictable and boring mushroom risotto , only after some real fuss did they add Scallops and Venison, quality was only ok, a real let down .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petts Wood
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We made arrangments to stay at this hotel on the understanding that I could park my car (disabled driver) in their small car park. This was all agreed and a confirmation email was sent by the managment months before. our stay. On arrival I was told that your space has been taken and that we would have to park some distance away in a public car park. Having a heart problem I found it difficult to walk back to the hotel and I struggled for the rest of the evening. However they did organise a cab for me at their expense in the morning.
Its a nice hotel wth a good champagne bar -albeit very expensive. The room was nice but perhaps a bit noisy. Also you cannot open the winows because of the air conditioning.

The staff were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScoutPettsWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The hotel is in a great central position for visiting this very walkable city. The (standard) room was clean and well maintained. However the walls were not very sound proof in our room and we could clearly hear all the comings and goings of the 'neighbours' as well as their conversations and sound from their TV. The bathroom was quite cold and became very wet with condensation after a shower. The food in the Michael Caines restaurant was excellent quality although the menu was limited and inflexible, especially for vegetarians (risotto on this occasion)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Great location, superb service from the staff in all parts of the hotel, in particular the mixologists in the cocktail bar.
Tiny little things need attention in the room (it was one of the cheapest rooms), paint chipped round the door, that sort of thing, but lovely smellies!
Had dinner in the restaurant which was awesome (separate review).
Only downside is the car parking which is a nightmare, if you can get into the hotel car park it's not too bad, but to be fair, the hotel is in an historic building, right in the centre of an historic town, so it's not going to have loads of space for a car park!
Worth a stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatyans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

couldn't have chosen a better location. Restaurants, shops, location, bus terminal and attractions all within 10-15 mins. to the left or right of the hotel entrance.
having a kettle with wide selection of teas and coffee is such a plus.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horse54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Property: ABode Canterbury
Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing