We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money but good location”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

£165 for a hotel with no parking. Room fine but nothing more than other chain hotels. You do get some crisps and chocolate for your room rate so that must be a tenner
Staff pretty good
Couldn't get the wifi in room 122
And for £165 you'd think they could open for breakfast at the the right time instead of making you wait outside

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terminus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,615 - 1,621 of 1,986 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2012

This is the second time that we've stayed at Abode, and as before we stayed for just one night as a treat. It's a good hotel but as other reviewers have said, it doesn't quite live up to the mission it sets itself. The good: Location is superb, our room was spacious with lots of drinks and nibbles to tuck into, great bathroom, huge comfy bed, lovely breakfast, pleasant staff. The not so good: Shower only produced cold water and was broken (loose part on the controls). We told the front desk about this and, to their credit, they offered to take a look/sort out a room for us the next morning for us to shower in but we declined as we were only staying one night, so used the bath instead. We were a little disappointed that they didn't go the extra mile and do something to compensate for this - a free drink in the bar perhaps? It was noisy at night with people going up and down the high street but I guess this is something you have to accept as a sacrifice for the location. One of the bathrobes was torn and the television reception wasn't very good. Also, there were areas of the hotel that were looking tired. So, in summary, not what you would expect from a top end luxury boutique hotel. The little details really let it down. But I'd still recommend it for a short stay in Canterbury.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcollins007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Abode on Sunday night. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We were very kindly given an upgraded room which was of a good size for a weekend stay, clean and very comfortable. The room had everything you could need including dressing gown and slippers. Our room had a dvd player and films could be borrowed in the hotel. We were able to make tea, coffee and hot chocolate and there was a good selection of nibbles, biscuits, juices and water. The bathroom was clean and warm and had a lovely range of smelliest. We soon realised we had forgotten our toothbrushes, but we had no cause to worry as reception soon sent up two complimentary toothbrushes and a further supply of tea. Other reviewers have said the hotel is noisy. we did not find this to be the case at all. The cocktail bar is lovely and in the evening the lighting in the hotel is dimmed and gives a very warm and relaxing atmosphere. We had breakfast at the hotel and it was delicious. My daughter had a full English breakfast and I had eggs benedict. There is a selection of cereals, pastries, fruit and yoghurts and after a hearty breakfast we were ready to tackle Christmas shopping.
Canterbury is a lovely city and we had a wonderful stay. As my daughter is at university in Canterbury I will be visiting regularly and I won't hesitate to return to the Abode. Lovely hotel, lovely staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andawem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Nice location, rooms overpriced and cramped, I booked five Desire rooms at £145 a night , the only Desire I had was to get out.the resturant was the biggest disappointment , I had Chef table for ten guest , was presented the worst menu I have ever been given , three starters and three main , liver,Hake or the predictable and boring mushroom risotto , only after some real fuss did they add Scallops and Venison, quality was only ok, a real let down .

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We made arrangments to stay at this hotel on the understanding that I could park my car (disabled driver) in their small car park. This was all agreed and a confirmation email was sent by the managment months before. our stay. On arrival I was told that your space has been taken and that we would have to park some distance away in a public car park. Having a heart problem I found it difficult to walk back to the hotel and I struggled for the rest of the evening. However they did organise a cab for me at their expense in the morning.
Its a nice hotel wth a good champagne bar -albeit very expensive. The room was nice but perhaps a bit noisy. Also you cannot open the winows because of the air conditioning.

The staff were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScoutPettsWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The hotel is in a great central position for visiting this very walkable city. The (standard) room was clean and well maintained. However the walls were not very sound proof in our room and we could clearly hear all the comings and goings of the 'neighbours' as well as their conversations and sound from their TV. The bathroom was quite cold and became very wet with condensation after a shower. The food in the Michael Caines restaurant was excellent quality although the menu was limited and inflexible, especially for vegetarians (risotto on this occasion)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Great location, superb service from the staff in all parts of the hotel, in particular the mixologists in the cocktail bar.
Tiny little things need attention in the room (it was one of the cheapest rooms), paint chipped round the door, that sort of thing, but lovely smellies!
Had dinner in the restaurant which was awesome (separate review).
Only downside is the car parking which is a nightmare, if you can get into the hotel car park it's not too bad, but to be fair, the hotel is in an historic building, right in the centre of an historic town, so it's not going to have loads of space for a car park!
Worth a stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatyans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £86 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing