We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but fabulous location, great breakfast and helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Expensive but fabulous location, great breakfast and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed on a Saturday night - walked in to see if they had a room available because we didn't want to drive back to London. Room was a twin room, well stocked and appointed. There was noise from the high street but we had ear plugs so didn't bother us - it's location on high street coupled with it's building age means that it isn't super sound proof.

The staff were extremely helpful - though the car park walk (5 mins) - would feel further to those with luggage or with walking difficulties.

The bar was modern and luxurious and breakfast was varied and well served in the morning. It is a hotel with modern boutique design and a luxury dimmed light atmosphere in the evening. We had a great stay and I would recommend - especially if you are taking time around the hotel to enjoy a long breakfast or a drink in the bar

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mademoiselle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    525
    310
    175
    73
See reviews for
251
1,006
61
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Visited the Abode Hotel in the heart of Canterbury. Great venue for visitors to the wonderful town of Canterbury - it is a lovely mix of heritage and modern building, the Cathedral taking centre stage of course. Lack of parking was a pain and it was about 5 mins to the public car park (the hotel give you a voucher so you don't have to pay) - again you are in the middle of a town so unless you can get there early to get a space this is your only option - at least we didn't have to pay.

The Abode is a very professional friendly hotel. The room we stayed in was one of the feature Enviable rooms with a sititng area and flatscreen TV and a glass fronted bathroom with a huge pedestal bath tub. It was spotlessly clean and the extra touches like a basket of very high quality treats - organic juice, nuts, chocolates etc very welcome as we cuddled up on the sofa to watch TV.

The bed was bit soft and we did have the rolling into the middle issue! Air con worked well but was a bit difficult to understand. There was another control panel by the bathroom with was called Heat Pad and we assumed it was the underfloor heating for the bathroom area only. I couldn't work out how to use it and I love gadgets. An iPod dock would have been nice too. TV reception very poor.

Couldn't get the WiFi to work but didn't seek assistance as it was quite late at night and being a weekend it wasn't vital to me.

Sleep was interrupted by revellers out in the street in the early hours of the morning - but this is what happens if you stay in a hotel in the centre of town.

The breakfast in the restaurant was perfectly acceptable and served hot but not very exciting. The bacon was a bit bland and only one small piece of black pudding was put on my plate (though as it too was a bit bland I did not ask for any more!). Service was good too.

Lovely cocktail bar but drinks were quite pricey and there wasn't a lot of space bearing in mind the hotel does have 72 bedrooms.

The major downer for us was that they had a problem with the hot water on the Saurday evening we had a warm shower but to get the water hot enough we didn't seem to be able to get any pressure. On Sunday morning there was hardly any hot water so I did not have the pleasure of a nice soak in the impressive bath as all I managed to get was about 6 inches of water. My husband rang reception who said they were having issues with the boiler/pumping system and advised he wait for 15 minutes. He did this and it was slightly better but we did not have time to wait much longer as we had to meet family.

I felt the standard room rate of £185 was a little high for this room. I think £150 would be a more acceptable price.

Very comfortable stay apart from the issues with the hot water.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not facing the street - the view might not be as nice but you won't be woke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed here on a monday night for me and the gf to do some christmas shopping. Overall this review is very positive but even with the positives the cost of the hotel they do slightly shoot themselves in the foot, but i explain this later.

We stayed at the hotel on a good deal (on the website, but well hidden) which was a night in a enviable room (1 above comfortable/basic) 2 course meal for both of us at the tavern restaurent down the road and breakfast in the morning (£119 for the lot). We got there quite early and parked in the hotels car park which can easily become full as only about 20 cars can use it. So we parked up and walked round. The reception staff were very lovely and considering me and gf never pay this much for a hotel usually, felt really pleased with how attentive the staff were and polite. We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the high street and the room was very good. Spacious, large bed, spotlessly clean with the usual necessities. The shower/toilet very modern and clean and i genuinely could not fault the room in our stay here.

The hotel has a restaurant (which me and the gf shuddered to even contemplate usuing lol we're not really the well off type, but saved up hard to experience a hotel like this).After checking in, enjoying the room we headed out. Location is perfect and so nice to go shopping, wonder around knowing you havent got to worry about the car and knowing your only a few mins from your room when you want to return :) This is ultimately what your paying for is the location and delivers on that front.

That evening we went along to the tavern for our 2 course meal. We certainly werent expecting anything much, the tavern is a mix of a nice bar/weatherspoons but when we arrived they done the restaurant area up really nice. We sat down and the lady showed us what we can order. The food, without a lie, was incredible!!! All homemade (not a spoons in that respectt) and my gf had the best fish pie she ever had! Really impressed and considering was included with the hotel stay we really enjoyed our evening there.

That night there was some noise. The high street quite busy with students on night outs etc but living in a busy town this did not effect me.

The breakfast was fab. Good choices and good service which really was all we could ask.

The Few things to round it off......

Parking- The hotel is an expensive one and whether or not its justified the parking should be free. There is a small number of spaces (due to location) which is acceptable especially as there are other car parks but to pay extra to stay in a hotel of this cost is a bit ridiculous. I hope the abode take note of comments made on this site because its a small, notable, insult which needs correcting..

Price- The hotel is lovely. The champagne bar is also very comfortable to relax btw as forgot to mention that. I agree with all the other comments, to charge what they charge the hotel needs to be a 6 star style hotel with free drinks and the works. The price we paid we felt matched what we recieved £119 for a enviable room with breakfast and dinner was just about justified. But seieng people paid £165 for a room and more is just ludicrous when other central hotels charge 70 - 80 pounds for a night.

Fussy issues? probably. Me and the gf would def stay again if coming to kent but only on a similar offer to which we would very much enjoy staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank latinosteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Lovely hotel in central Canterbury, Boutique style! Expensive but you know that when you book, champagne bar, good breakfast, note goodies in room are included. was there for family party, so did not use restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkholidayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

£165 for a hotel with no parking. Room fine but nothing more than other chain hotels. You do get some crisps and chocolate for your room rate so that must be a tenner
Staff pretty good
Couldn't get the wifi in room 122
And for £165 you'd think they could open for breakfast at the the right time instead of making you wait outside

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terminus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

This is the second time that we've stayed at Abode, and as before we stayed for just one night as a treat. It's a good hotel but as other reviewers have said, it doesn't quite live up to the mission it sets itself. The good: Location is superb, our room was spacious with lots of drinks and nibbles to tuck into, great bathroom, huge comfy bed, lovely breakfast, pleasant staff. The not so good: Shower only produced cold water and was broken (loose part on the controls). We told the front desk about this and, to their credit, they offered to take a look/sort out a room for us the next morning for us to shower in but we declined as we were only staying one night, so used the bath instead. We were a little disappointed that they didn't go the extra mile and do something to compensate for this - a free drink in the bar perhaps? It was noisy at night with people going up and down the high street but I guess this is something you have to accept as a sacrifice for the location. One of the bathrobes was torn and the television reception wasn't very good. Also, there were areas of the hotel that were looking tired. So, in summary, not what you would expect from a top end luxury boutique hotel. The little details really let it down. But I'd still recommend it for a short stay in Canterbury.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcollins007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Abode on Sunday night. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We were very kindly given an upgraded room which was of a good size for a weekend stay, clean and very comfortable. The room had everything you could need including dressing gown and slippers. Our room had a dvd player and films could be borrowed in the hotel. We were able to make tea, coffee and hot chocolate and there was a good selection of nibbles, biscuits, juices and water. The bathroom was clean and warm and had a lovely range of smelliest. We soon realised we had forgotten our toothbrushes, but we had no cause to worry as reception soon sent up two complimentary toothbrushes and a further supply of tea. Other reviewers have said the hotel is noisy. we did not find this to be the case at all. The cocktail bar is lovely and in the evening the lighting in the hotel is dimmed and gives a very warm and relaxing atmosphere. We had breakfast at the hotel and it was delicious. My daughter had a full English breakfast and I had eggs benedict. There is a selection of cereals, pastries, fruit and yoghurts and after a hearty breakfast we were ready to tackle Christmas shopping.
Canterbury is a lovely city and we had a wonderful stay. As my daughter is at university in Canterbury I will be visiting regularly and I won't hesitate to return to the Abode. Lovely hotel, lovely staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andawem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Property: ABode Canterbury
Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABode Canterbury is a stylish boutique hotel that has been beautifully designed and refurbished, maintaining the old wooden beams and traditional fabric of an ancient and historic building while adding contemporary design features and modern comforts, with understated British style. With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), Abode Canterbury is the perfect place to visit the city and enjoy the shops, historic sites and traditional architecture.There are 72 bedrooms, rated Comfortable, Desirable, Most Desirable, Enviable, Most Enviable and Fabulous. Bedrooms have been designed with a sense of luxury and relaxation so the guest can enjoy an ideal night's sleep, and wake up refreshed and rejuvenated. Bedrooms at all levels are well-equipped: trademark ABode features include Vi-Spring beds; luxury toiletries; personal DVD players and state-of-the-art LCD televisions. Some rooms have imaginative wet rooms and baths integrated into living areas; the Fabulous suite has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the roofs of Canterbury across to the Cathedral.Michael Caines MBE and his talented team of chefs offer an incredible range of dining and drinking experiences, from superior room service or a drink in the stylish Champagne Bar to a pint and a pie or char-grilled fish or steak in the traditional Old Brewery Tavern. The Michael Caines Restaurant offers the ultimate dining experience, with delicious modern European cuisine accompanied by an exceptional wine list, served with professional yet not too formal style. ABode Canterbury is the ideal place for weddings, private parties, private dining and meetings, and any and all special occasions, whether for business or pleasure.We even have the facilities to make you feel absolutely fabulous. Why not join us for a workout in our well-equipped and comfortable residents' gym.ABode Canterbury, in the very heart of an ancient and historic city, is your home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing