We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel all round”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The Abode is perfectly located for shopping or sightseeing in Canterbury. We went there for Christmas shopping as Canterbury has an ideal mix of chains and good small shops and restaurants/coffee all very conveniently close to the High Street. Didn't eat at the Abode (pricey but looked very good). Car park is tiny (about ten cars max) but we were lucky - arrived mid morning as people were leaving but newcomers not yet arrived. Obviously our room wasn't ready then, but hotel was very happy for us to leave the car - a snip at £5 per 24 hours! All round a comfortable hotel and a good night's sleep in an ideal location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,954)
There are newer reviews for ABode Canterbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,577 - 1,583 of 1,954 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

Stayed for two nights sat and sun in what the hotel c all most desirable room and very nice it was to lovely big comfy bed nice complimentary basket of goodies . These rooms are away from front of hotel so no street noise. Breakfast was first class plenty of choice very well cooked to order. We found all the staff extremely helpful and friendly which gave the hotel a very nice atmosphere. Canterbury is a very interesting lively place to visit we would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed on a Saturday night - walked in to see if they had a room available because we didn't want to drive back to London. Room was a twin room, well stocked and appointed. There was noise from the high street but we had ear plugs so didn't bother us - it's location on high street coupled with it's building age means that it isn't super sound proof.

The staff were extremely helpful - though the car park walk (5 mins) - would feel further to those with luggage or with walking difficulties.

The bar was modern and luxurious and breakfast was varied and well served in the morning. It is a hotel with modern boutique design and a luxury dimmed light atmosphere in the evening. We had a great stay and I would recommend - especially if you are taking time around the hotel to enjoy a long breakfast or a drink in the bar

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mademoiselle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Visited the Abode Hotel in the heart of Canterbury. Great venue for visitors to the wonderful town of Canterbury - it is a lovely mix of heritage and modern building, the Cathedral taking centre stage of course. Lack of parking was a pain and it was about 5 mins to the public car park (the hotel give you a voucher so you don't have to pay) - again you are in the middle of a town so unless you can get there early to get a space this is your only option - at least we didn't have to pay.

The Abode is a very professional friendly hotel. The room we stayed in was one of the feature Enviable rooms with a sititng area and flatscreen TV and a glass fronted bathroom with a huge pedestal bath tub. It was spotlessly clean and the extra touches like a basket of very high quality treats - organic juice, nuts, chocolates etc very welcome as we cuddled up on the sofa to watch TV.

The bed was bit soft and we did have the rolling into the middle issue! Air con worked well but was a bit difficult to understand. There was another control panel by the bathroom with was called Heat Pad and we assumed it was the underfloor heating for the bathroom area only. I couldn't work out how to use it and I love gadgets. An iPod dock would have been nice too. TV reception very poor.

Couldn't get the WiFi to work but didn't seek assistance as it was quite late at night and being a weekend it wasn't vital to me.

Sleep was interrupted by revellers out in the street in the early hours of the morning - but this is what happens if you stay in a hotel in the centre of town.

The breakfast in the restaurant was perfectly acceptable and served hot but not very exciting. The bacon was a bit bland and only one small piece of black pudding was put on my plate (though as it too was a bit bland I did not ask for any more!). Service was good too.

Lovely cocktail bar but drinks were quite pricey and there wasn't a lot of space bearing in mind the hotel does have 72 bedrooms.

The major downer for us was that they had a problem with the hot water on the Saurday evening we had a warm shower but to get the water hot enough we didn't seem to be able to get any pressure. On Sunday morning there was hardly any hot water so I did not have the pleasure of a nice soak in the impressive bath as all I managed to get was about 6 inches of water. My husband rang reception who said they were having issues with the boiler/pumping system and advised he wait for 15 minutes. He did this and it was slightly better but we did not have time to wait much longer as we had to meet family.

I felt the standard room rate of £185 was a little high for this room. I think £150 would be a more acceptable price.

Very comfortable stay apart from the issues with the hot water.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not facing the street - the view might not be as nice but you won't be woke...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed here on a monday night for me and the gf to do some christmas shopping. Overall this review is very positive but even with the positives the cost of the hotel they do slightly shoot themselves in the foot, but i explain this later.

We stayed at the hotel on a good deal (on the website, but well hidden) which was a night in a enviable room (1 above comfortable/basic) 2 course meal for both of us at the tavern restaurent down the road and breakfast in the morning (£119 for the lot). We got there quite early and parked in the hotels car park which can easily become full as only about 20 cars can use it. So we parked up and walked round. The reception staff were very lovely and considering me and gf never pay this much for a hotel usually, felt really pleased with how attentive the staff were and polite. We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the high street and the room was very good. Spacious, large bed, spotlessly clean with the usual necessities. The shower/toilet very modern and clean and i genuinely could not fault the room in our stay here.

The hotel has a restaurant (which me and the gf shuddered to even contemplate usuing lol we're not really the well off type, but saved up hard to experience a hotel like this).After checking in, enjoying the room we headed out. Location is perfect and so nice to go shopping, wonder around knowing you havent got to worry about the car and knowing your only a few mins from your room when you want to return :) This is ultimately what your paying for is the location and delivers on that front.

That evening we went along to the tavern for our 2 course meal. We certainly werent expecting anything much, the tavern is a mix of a nice bar/weatherspoons but when we arrived they done the restaurant area up really nice. We sat down and the lady showed us what we can order. The food, without a lie, was incredible!!! All homemade (not a spoons in that respectt) and my gf had the best fish pie she ever had! Really impressed and considering was included with the hotel stay we really enjoyed our evening there.

That night there was some noise. The high street quite busy with students on night outs etc but living in a busy town this did not effect me.

The breakfast was fab. Good choices and good service which really was all we could ask.

The Few things to round it off......

Parking- The hotel is an expensive one and whether or not its justified the parking should be free. There is a small number of spaces (due to location) which is acceptable especially as there are other car parks but to pay extra to stay in a hotel of this cost is a bit ridiculous. I hope the abode take note of comments made on this site because its a small, notable, insult which needs correcting..

Price- The hotel is lovely. The champagne bar is also very comfortable to relax btw as forgot to mention that. I agree with all the other comments, to charge what they charge the hotel needs to be a 6 star style hotel with free drinks and the works. The price we paid we felt matched what we recieved £119 for a enviable room with breakfast and dinner was just about justified. But seieng people paid £165 for a room and more is just ludicrous when other central hotels charge 70 - 80 pounds for a night.

Fussy issues? probably. Me and the gf would def stay again if coming to kent but only on a similar offer to which we would very much enjoy staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latinosteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Lovely hotel in central Canterbury, Boutique style! Expensive but you know that when you book, champagne bar, good breakfast, note goodies in room are included. was there for family party, so did not use restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkholidayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

£165 for a hotel with no parking. Room fine but nothing more than other chain hotels. You do get some crisps and chocolate for your room rate so that must be a tenner
Staff pretty good
Couldn't get the wifi in room 122
And for £165 you'd think they could open for breakfast at the the right time instead of making you wait outside

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terminus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £93 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing