We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket , smart feel but needing to pay attention to detail”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
leeds
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Upmarket , smart feel but needing to pay attention to detail”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

At the heart of Canterbury within walking distance of the cathedral and surrounded by the shops this looks and feels like an upmarket and contemporary hotel. Blending traditional furniture and paintings with modern design and interior architecture. Expect to pay anything between £87 and over £115 for bed and breakfast. Reception was enthusiastic if a little gushing but well meant. Rooms are simple but not to the point of feeling like a budget hotel. There are the special touches like complimentary rombout style coffee and an upmarket range of treats competitively priced . It was a shame that they had items more than a week past their best by dates . While the fresh coffee is to be commended what a shame they paired this with the unwelcome pots of long life milk. A trouser press would be a welcome addition to the room. Room service is expensive and soup and a sandwich can cost you fifteen pounds. It was with this I experienced confusion. Staff asserting and contradicting each other over what was and wasn't available
At one stage my room was called by reception to contradict information supplied by a waiter delivering food only for that information to be proved wrong when food was delivered. Food was also delivered Luke warm and had to be sent back. There is a Michael Caine restaurant in the hotel . However, some options were questionable . Carrot risotto with foam .... Not every vegetarians dream dish especially when it was the only option . In summary probably one of the best options in Canterbury if you want a smart , comfortable hotel in the centre of Canterbury . But it has the potential to be even better

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    546
    320
    180
    76
See reviews for
261
1,042
64
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Me, my mum and a friend, have spent 2 months trying to book rooms for me and my partner and our friends and family, to stay when we get married near Canterbury this August. On each occasion the phone was either never answered or when it was, we were put through to the reservation department where there was either no one to answer my call or no one who helped us in the slightest. We were always told 'someone will call you back', 'we will call you back within half an hour', and they never did. Every time.
I am very disappointed with this awful service. And we were hoping to book 10 double rooms, a family room and a suite for 2 nights. You missed out there!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURREY
Level Contributor
142 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This was our second visit to the Abode. We were really impressed last time and this trip was even better.

On arrival we were given free upgrades on our two rooms, which were excellent, nice decor and really comfortable with terriffic bathrooms.

We then had drinks in the bar and lunch in Michael Caines.
The food and service were all excellent and the set Sunday lunch menu was incredible value, I can't understand why with food of that quality at that price that it was only half full.

We had dinner in the tavern and again service and food, all spot on,

Throughout our stay I found all of the staff to be thoroughly professional, helpful and friendly, a rarity these days.

My only niggle with the Abode is that they charge you to use their own car park.

In summary I think this hotel is fantastic and will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HERSHAMBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here for Christmas night, having spent the day in the hotel for our meal and enjoyed it very much. It was a very special stay in fact. The Christmas meal was really excellent, the food was fantastic. The service was ok although it can be amateurish in parts but well intentioned.

We had a most enviable - large room. It was very pleasant. One reason we booked it was for the large stand alone bath which is lovely but when I tried to use it there was no hot water!!! It was sorted out very quickly but to pay over £200 for a room and not have hot water isn't too good. We had a huge extraction vent near to the window but I have to say it didn't bother me as I always take good ear plugs to hotels !! The view was rubbish but it was a quiet room on the whole and cosy. You do get some freebie nibbles which was handy as the restaurant closed in the evening. We enjoy the bar in the hotel, and the general atmosphere very much. The sales on Boxing Day in the same streeet were too tempting. I can say that the service is mixed here but overall we do like this hotel. We had our wedding reception here which was excellent and would definately recommend it if you can ignore a few quirky things.

Room Tip: Larger rooms are pricey but very nice. Large suite over the bar is on main street but ok if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justhadtosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Although the Abode's city centre position is good I found some disappointing disadvantages; the nearest available parking was several minutes away through pouring rain and down streets that, after dark, were daunting. Service was less than professional: the receptionist's response to the lack of parking was, amazingly, "No problem!" a term repeated several times when, clearly, there certainly was a problem - although for the guest not for the hotel.

The bathroom for my "Desirable" room was tiny - it was extremely difficult to reach out for the loo paper without activating the sensor that activated the flush; a few chilly surprises there. Restaurant staff need to be trained not to interrupt guests mid-chew by asking, "Is everything alright with yor food?" and housekeeping staff not to burst into bedrooms without knocking. These things may seem minor but they shouldn't happen in a relatively pricey hotel and staff training could deal with them so, essentially, it's a question of poor management and leadership. Next time I have to go to Canterbury I'll book well ahead at the Cathedral Guest House; a bit cheaper, marvellous value, beautifully appointed and organised, good parking - and free admission to the Cathedral.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Astronomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Definitely has the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! Location is great, right in the center of Canterbury. It is a little on the expensive side, as are most places in Canterbury... even the travel lodge!

Attached is a really nice restaurant called The Old Brewery Tavern. Food there is good, but not the nicest or best value for money in Canterbury. Get in there early if you're going because it turns into a very busy nightclub at around 9 every night.

Only thing I was a bit unsure about was the bathroom in our room. The walls were made of glass which some people may find a bit weird! Massive bath made up for it though.

Also, if you're inclined to over-do it on a night out, get a Bloody Mary from the Bar. They are amazing!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trossachs
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We came to Canterbury to spend my Husband's landmark birthday with his daughter and grandchildren. His birthday is on Christmas Eve so we decided to make this a special trip and include having Christmas dinner in a hotel. We chose Canterbury but didn't know anything about the Abode Hotel till we found it online. I am so happy we found it, The Christmas dinner was 10 out of 10. As a former hotelier I could not find one fault with anything. In fact they went out of their way to make this a very special day including giving all children Christmas gifts. The food, and service was excellent and the value exceptional, nothing was done on the cheap including great christmas crackers and presentation. If anyone is looking for a venue for Christmas dinner in 2013 I would highly recommend the Abode in Canterbury! We also tried a cocktail in their Cocktail Bar on Christmas Eve, having never seen a cocktail made to order we loved watching it being made and enjoyed drinking it even more!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trossachsmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Property: ABode Canterbury
Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABode Canterbury is a stylish boutique hotel that has been beautifully designed and refurbished, maintaining the old wooden beams and traditional fabric of an ancient and historic building while adding contemporary design features and modern comforts, with understated British style. With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), Abode Canterbury is the perfect place to visit the city and enjoy the shops, historic sites and traditional architecture.There are 72 bedrooms, rated Comfortable, Desirable, Most Desirable, Enviable, Most Enviable and Fabulous. Bedrooms have been designed with a sense of luxury and relaxation so the guest can enjoy an ideal night's sleep, and wake up refreshed and rejuvenated. Bedrooms at all levels are well-equipped: trademark ABode features include Vi-Spring beds; luxury toiletries; personal DVD players and state-of-the-art LCD televisions. Some rooms have imaginative wet rooms and baths integrated into living areas; the Fabulous suite has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the roofs of Canterbury across to the Cathedral.Michael Caines MBE and his talented team of chefs offer an incredible range of dining and drinking experiences, from superior room service or a drink in the stylish Champagne Bar to a pint and a pie or char-grilled fish or steak in the traditional Old Brewery Tavern. The Michael Caines Restaurant offers the ultimate dining experience, with delicious modern European cuisine accompanied by an exceptional wine list, served with professional yet not too formal style. ABode Canterbury is the ideal place for weddings, private parties, private dining and meetings, and any and all special occasions, whether for business or pleasure.We even have the facilities to make you feel absolutely fabulous. Why not join us for a workout in our well-equipped and comfortable residents' gym.ABode Canterbury, in the very heart of an ancient and historic city, is your home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing