We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Excellent, well positioned Hotel for exploring Canterbury, right on the main road opposite the Library, our second visit to this hotel. Parking was not a problem, but we may have just been lucky as the car park is small. Very efficient and pleasant staff, we asked for a quiet room and we were given one at the back of the hotel, which was fine.
When we arrived we were given a voucher for a free drink with our evening meal, and 40% off breakfast voucher. We did not eat in the Hotel as there are so many good restaurants at close proximity to the hotel. There is and excellent bar with very good attentive staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ipswichsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,955)
There are newer reviews for ABode Canterbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,562 - 1,568 of 1,954 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

stayed for one night to explore canterbury and whitstable.we got a great package including dinner in their pub.we took the credit for the meal and ate in the formal restaurant,
good welcome,be warned parking is a problem.on site parking is limited and we had to park approx ten mins walk away.lovely spotless room with good linen and turn down service.
super bar.very busy and buzzy.
fantastic afternoon tea.....delicious.nice drinks in bar before dinner.dinner was good but not outstanding.friendly helpful service,bit slow in the restaurant but very sweet staff especially on reception.breakfast good.
great base to explore the wonderful canterbury.

Room Tip: ask for a room near a lift
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jks24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the most enviable room 101 and had a great stay. We manged to park in the secure carpark no problem. Check in was quick and very professional.
Rooms are huge and the free standing bath was a real treat!
Loved the complementary tuc box and king size bed.
You will not get a better position in town. Right smack in the thick of it!
Breakfast was great and well with paying for.
We ate in Michael Caines resturant and to be honest I was not totally blown away! It's nice but I would not go back. Service was pretty slow and we were left waiting ages for drinks in the bar. I am glad I have been but next time I stay at the hotel I will dine elsewhere.
Overall if you want a classy hotel in the centre the Abode will tick all the boxes!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Fantastic rooms. Really novel mix of old and new in the common areas. Stylish modern interior mixed with relaxing lounges that are more like a gentlemens' club. Roaring fire in the main bar welcomed us on a cold January day.

A tasty (complimentary) tuck box with posh snacks boded well on the food front but we were really disappointed by the breakfast in bed. Invest in some toast racks ! There was nice fruit and yoghurt but we also got a few slices of flabby white toast in a basket covered in a napkin. Soggy by the time it got to the room. Kellogg's mini cereal Rice Krispies were not what we expected either given the style of the hotel and the tone that had been set by the tuck box

Room service breakfast aside, a great place for a treat weekend in Canterbury. Staff extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyRichardLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We booked into the Abode Cantebury for a 6 night Christmas stay as it was my 60th birthday and also my daughter and her family live in Kent. After a 10 hour journey from Scotland we were pleasantly suprised when we got to our room 104 at the hotel. The room was fantastic with a separate shower room and separate bathroom. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The staff were more than helpful and could not do enough throughout our stay and had placed a bottle of wine and a birthday balloon in the bedroom.(my wife must have told them it was my birthday!!). Breakfast was great and always well presented and a little bit different from the normal offerings. The cocktail bar is comfortable with a real fire overlooking the cobbled streets of Cantebury. We had Christmas lunch for 8 persons in the Tavern and that was another great day as they really made an extra effort for the kids as well.
This hotel is right in the heart of Cantebury and 5 minutes from the Cathedral and all the lovely narrow shopping streets. We booked months in advance on the internet and wer kept up to date by Amy all along the way. The deal we had was fantastic and that was what encouraged us to extend the stay.
We can only fault the visit by the fact that WIFI was not working anywhere in the hotel but the problem was a line issue outwith the hotels control. They allowed us to use one of their lobby computers to check e-mail etc so not a big issue. The parking is limited but you can always park outside to unload and then park the car elsewhere so again not a big issue. Best holiday we have had for a while and will definately be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creagmhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

At the heart of Canterbury within walking distance of the cathedral and surrounded by the shops this looks and feels like an upmarket and contemporary hotel. Blending traditional furniture and paintings with modern design and interior architecture. Expect to pay anything between £87 and over £115 for bed and breakfast. Reception was enthusiastic if a little gushing but well meant. Rooms are simple but not to the point of feeling like a budget hotel. There are the special touches like complimentary rombout style coffee and an upmarket range of treats competitively priced . It was a shame that they had items more than a week past their best by dates . While the fresh coffee is to be commended what a shame they paired this with the unwelcome pots of long life milk. A trouser press would be a welcome addition to the room. Room service is expensive and soup and a sandwich can cost you fifteen pounds. It was with this I experienced confusion. Staff asserting and contradicting each other over what was and wasn't available
At one stage my room was called by reception to contradict information supplied by a waiter delivering food only for that information to be proved wrong when food was delivered. Food was also delivered Luke warm and had to be sent back. There is a Michael Caine restaurant in the hotel . However, some options were questionable . Carrot risotto with foam .... Not every vegetarians dream dish especially when it was the only option . In summary probably one of the best options in Canterbury if you want a smart , comfortable hotel in the centre of Canterbury . But it has the potential to be even better

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeedsCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Me, my mum and a friend, have spent 2 months trying to book rooms for me and my partner and our friends and family, to stay when we get married near Canterbury this August. On each occasion the phone was either never answered or when it was, we were put through to the reservation department where there was either no one to answer my call or no one who helped us in the slightest. We were always told 'someone will call you back', 'we will call you back within half an hour', and they never did. Every time.
I am very disappointed with this awful service. And we were hoping to book 10 double rooms, a family room and a suite for 2 nights. You missed out there!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £93 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing