We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfy hotel, good location”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We booked an EnviABle room. It was clean upon arrival, with lots of space and a very comfy bed. The free snacks basket was a nice touch. No minibar or other fridge and no on-demand movie service, but a DVD player was available. The air conditioner/heater was a bit loud for my taste. The hotel staff were "okay." They didn't seem to want to be too helpful.

We didn't eat at Michael Caines restaurant, but the Old Brewery Tavern (a short walk away) had great food and service.

Beware if you're driving. The hotel is off of a pedestrian zone.

Room Tip: Different classes of rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,704 - 1,710 of 2,114 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

This was a surprise night away and my husband booked a package which included flowers, champagne and dinner. The room was lovely; I believe that we were upgraded to a Most Enviable room and it was very comfortable; huge bed and freestanding bath with a separate shower room.

Great location right in the middle of Canterbury. The cathedral is magnificent and there is an interesting (free) museum opposite the hotel. Lots of lovely shops too.

The staff are very helpful and friendly and I would happily return to the hotel when the weather is warm to fully explore the area and the river.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAliceG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Lovely hotel in the very center of Canterbury. Perfect for exploring the city and easy walking distance to all the main attractions. Our Sat Nav tried to take us along the high street on a Saturday morning so we called the hotel for directions. The receptionist stayed on the phone with us giving us turn by turn directions right to the hotel car park.

The room was very comfortable. It was at the back of the hotel so only had a view of a roof but was very quiet, even though we stayed on the Saturday before St Patrick's day and the town was full of loud (but friendly) students in fancy dress.

The Champagne bar was a nice way to finish off our Saturday evening - open till late, friendly staff and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The front Desk is very, very helpful ... location in heart of Canterbury and less than five minutes from the Cathedral ... rooms are nice, the cost of hotel included breakfast wich was very enjoyable
The Canterbury Museum is around the corner and a newly renovated museum is directly across the street ... both are great

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Eugene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

This is one of my favourite hotels. Our most enviable room was lovely (as usual). All the staff are friendly and helpful. Had an excellent meal in the restaurant and cocktails in the champagne bar finished the evening off well.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bastet101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a relaxing w/e in a Most Enviable room on a special dinner, bed and breakfast deal. We loved the room, definitely worth upgrading for stand alone bath, cool lights, huge comfy bed, extra space and luxury quotient!

Complaints about room: the hot water didn't work in the morning but staff reset boiler quickly, shower was pretty weak and I gave up and had a bath, pillows were not particularly comfortable and there was no sign of being able to request another type, although our room was near the back of hotel it was noisy as streets all around the hotel we were prepared to compromise for the great city centre location.

Meal in the Tavern Pub was good with excellent service from waitress and manager who gave us free champagne when my meal was missing its chorizo. Breakfast was very good too.

Felt like our stay was a real treat!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This was a nice hotel perfectly located in the main street. upgraded our room on arrival which is always nice. room was a good size and bathroom was the same although the bed was very soft which didn't help the nights sleep. whilst they can't cater for everyone's taste a middle ground is a better alternative than what a very soft bed which people will either love or hate, parking was reasonably priced on site at £5. bar area was very welcoming and a pleasant place to have a beer or a glass of wine although another let down was that they invite you to take a seat so the waitress can serve you and then they don't tell you they are charging for the waitress service. it cost us £16 on the bar bill for something we did not ask for.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronniemarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £76 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing