We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Having stayed at another Abode Group hotel recently, the Slaughter Country Inn, which was absolutely lovely, decided to try another Abode hotel, the Abode Canterbury. Sorely disappointed - whilst the reception area and dining room where breakfast was served were very nice, the bedroom left a lot to be desired. We were appointed room 213 - right at the very back - small room, a tad shabby, with a small bathroom. On entering the room it smelt musty, there was condensation on the window, which we opened with a bit of a struggle!! However as there was a very noisy bar, the Forge, opposite the car park at the rear of our room, we had to close the window at 1.30am in order to try and get some sleep! Second night was much the same.

We booked two nights on the spring break offer - which was advertised as 'dinner bed and breakfast', however on ringing the hotel after we had booked in order to book dinner, we were informed that this would not be in the hotel but in their adjoining Tavern, a short walk down the street. The set menu for the 'deal' we booked was really very poor - we used the allowance to choose from the other menu. The food was very good, however the tavern was more like a cafe than a restaurant - certainly not as described on the website.

In our confirmation booking email we were informed that there would be a £5 per night charge for car parking, but this was more when we received our bill on checking out. Even £5 per night is excessive - car parking very limited too.

Breakfast was served in the hotel dining room - quality of the food and service was excellent.

Room Tip: Do not book room at the back of the hotel overlooking a noisy car park and a very noisy bar until th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CM7Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

I will have the confirmation email we send amended to clarify that dinner is served in the Old Brewery Tavern.

The Old Brewery Tavern restaurant was refurbished in May and looks modern and contemporary, I am pleased you enjoyed the quality of the food.

The parking charge was increased to £6 in May. You should have been advised of the increase as your reservation was made in April I do apologise for the error.

Yours sincerely

Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,592 - 1,598 of 2,020 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in the city. It is clean and the staff are polite and try hard. Breakfast food quality is excellent - as you might expect from the Michael Caines restaurant.Finding the car park is challenge for those without GPS - and access is a slight downside. Recommend "non high street" room if you are to avoid the noise of early morning revellers.

Room Tip: Pick a non-high street room for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at ABode Canterbury in June 2013.

The service levels in this place are amazing - polite, friendly staff all trained to give the highest quality of service, and really make you feel like a valued guest.

The rooms are contemporary and exceptionally clean, and kitted out with quality extras such as toiletries and a range of hot drinks and biscuits. There's a safe, iron and ironing board in the room, with a large wardrobe, as well as a flatscreen TV with sky channels (inc sports).

The bathroom was immaculate, with a range of quality toiletries and pristine white towels. My one complaint about the bathroom was that the water pressure form the shower was ridiculous at times - in the morning water actually stopped coming out. For the money I paid I would expect a power shower to be honest.

In the evening there was a bit of noise coming up from the high street, and from the neighbouring Brewery Tavern nightspot, but nothing too bad.

The bed was quite soft which I really liked and I slept heavily.

ABode has a champagne bar where you can sit and have a really classy evening. A range of cocktails, whiskies, rums and other spirits are available to suit most budgets.

The breakfast was fantastic as well - freshly baked pastries, cereals, meats and cheeses available from the buffet with juices, as well as a breakfast menu that had classics such as English breakfast, Eggs Benedict etc. Again service in the restaurant was faultless, professional and friendly.

Room Tip: A room not facing the high street might prove to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazroy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

A very nice room, but the kitchen venting chimney operated just outside the window. Even with double glazing, there was a loud, uneven hum all night. I put the air conditioner back on because that noise was easier to sleep with. Staff were very professional and friendly, but if I stayed here again I would be careful about asking for a room away from the vent.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kraml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed for one night on a business trip. The hotel is very centrally located on the main drag and 2 minutes away from the Cathedral
Finding the hotel by car is a bit tricky as the streets are very narrow. There's limited parking which is a few minutes away from the hotel and costs £6 per night. The welcome in reception was friendly and efficient. My room was big and light and airy; flat screen TV but no radio :( The hair dryer was definitely better than most hotel hairdresser I have used. In the evening, I ate in the Brewery Tavern ( rather than the Michael Caines restaurant) the food was fab and good value, and it had warm and knowledgeable staff.
I found the bedroom air-conditioning a bit obtrusive during the night and confusing to regulate - and was disappointed that there was no hair conditioner in the bathroom in the morning ( an important omission when you are on a business trip!)
So, a good hotel with nice touches - just a few minor detract ions.
Would definitely recommend, though.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank CatherineSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed here on business in May 2013
several good points and several bad
the good first.
Location is right in the middle of canterbury - so great for tourist reasons and
hotel rooms are clean and tidy.
the bad points
the beds are very, very soft, in fact so soft they gave little support, and i actually thought it was a water bed.
on my first night I was given a room at the front of the hotel, what a disaster this was, all you here till about 3am when the night clubs trow out, is students and local, fighting,,shouting and being abusive, throwing bins down the street and generally being a nusance.
As for the hotel, well its nice enough, but on the first morning, i asked for a omelette, and was bluntly told it was not on the menu, and "the chef is too busy to make one"
i thus decided to order one poached egg, along with my colleague who ordered porridge, all i would say is make sure you are not in a hurry, as it took the chef over 30 minutes to provide.

Room Tip: sleep at rear of hotel, and dont bother with breakfast, it not worth the money and takes too long
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tangsoored_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for your review.
The beds are hand made vi spring beds which are soft my design. I will review the mattress within the bedroom as we have just had to replace a mattress within a bedroom as a section of springs had collapsed.

I am sorry for the poor levels of service at breakfast and the inappropriate comment made to you. I am appalled that a team member would respond in such a way, and I can assure you your comments have been discussed with the restaurant management and the staff, and corrective training has been completed.

Regards

Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Went here for birthday and was given a complimentary upgrade when we arrived, which was a lovely surprise. The room was beautiful and the stay very comfortable. The breakfast was also very nice, lots of choice.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
1,144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £84 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing