We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A first class hotel of distinction and real breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Leicester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A first class hotel of distinction and real breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here on a budget deal in a marvellous old extended coaching Inn on the main Canterbury high street. The room we had was enormous with an enormous wet room. It was very comfortable and quiet although facing the high street. The breakfast was a revelation, food cooked to order, free range eggs, bacon and sausages, good coffee and extensive help yourself range of juices, cakes, cold meats, cereals, fruit and bread. This would certainly be my hotel of choice if we visited Canterbury again. The only drawback is that the hotel has very limited parking so you are given a voucher to park in one of the public car parks a short but delightful walk through town.

Room Tip: Good disabled facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mostly_b9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    540
    315
    178
    75
See reviews for
255
1,029
62
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I planned a spontaneous weekend away in Canterbury and booked an Enviable room at the abode.The hotel has an amazing location and stands out from others I researched in the centre of Canterbury. Great room, v spacious, huge bed. All artfully appointed and modern. Very generous snacks come with the room, dressing gowns and slippers. Was a bit surprised that there wasnt a minibar, not because we wanted to drink it, but with all the great independent wine and beer shops around, a fridge would have been handy. Bit disappointed with the bathroom. It was a standard size and the shower had zero pressure unless you are a fan of ice cold water. Management, if you are reading this we were room 234 if you could perhaps sort that problem for your next guests. Obviously being a city centre location, we were prepared for some noise, but it was pretty loud from midnight until around 3am. Luckily we had brought earplugs but the noise still woke us two floors up through double glazed windows. There may well be quieter rooms available if you arent calling at the last minute like we were. Overall, it was a good stay. Staff were very welcoming, helpful and professional.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondie1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Just back from an overnight stay at the Abode, Canterbury for partners birthday. Second stay this year and again as wonderful as the first. I booked the Indulgence break which includes flowers in room and glass of champagne before dinner, also an upgraded room. We were delighted to find we had an upgrade on the upgrade! Had the tasting menu for dinner, 6 courses of stunning food worthy of a michelin star restaurant. Staff all extremely polite and attentive. All in all a perfect stay for us. We shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Abode after deciding to have a romantic evening away.
We were a bit wary as a few precious reviews had mentioned the hotel was overpriced. However, this was not the case, in fact I would say it is worth every penny.
We stayed in a standard room, the room was clean, tidy and extremely well presented. Our room was at the front of the hotel and despite the high street being underneath us we heard no noise.
The bed was extremely comfortable, with tea making facilities and a tv/DVD player.
The staff were kind and helpful and very pleasant.
A must is visiting the cocktail bar!!
The hotel is ideally located in the centre of town and even has parking available.
If you are considering a visit to Canterbury I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lashep85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed two nights (12 and 13 Aug) prior to a cruise out of Dover. We booked a "Most Enviable" room (#101). The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable and we found all staff to be very pleasant and very willing to assist/answer questions. The room looked like the pictures presented on the website. The hotel's location is excellent. We will stay here again if we return to Canterbury.

Room Tip: "Most Enviable" room 101 is on a front corner and has large windows both in the front and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

The location is great, fabulous decor. The staff and service wonderful, the food is divine... Unfortunately, the very soft mattress (despite having a board underneath the bed ) meant a dreadful nights sleep. If they would only install firm mattress's we would re-book in a instant!

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 101 as it is over the bar and facing onto very noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speden69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights as it was our 5 year anniversary. They were aware of this so they kindly upgraded us. The room was amazing, with a happy anniversary balloon waiting for us which was a nice touch. The bed is easily the most comfy bed I've stayed in and the bath/shower facilities were very pleasant. I will definitely be staying here again. Thank you Tom & Katie

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginnsey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Property: ABode Canterbury
Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABode Canterbury is a stylish boutique hotel that has been beautifully designed and refurbished, maintaining the old wooden beams and traditional fabric of an ancient and historic building while adding contemporary design features and modern comforts, with understated British style. With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), Abode Canterbury is the perfect place to visit the city and enjoy the shops, historic sites and traditional architecture.There are 72 bedrooms, rated Comfortable, Desirable, Most Desirable, Enviable, Most Enviable and Fabulous. Bedrooms have been designed with a sense of luxury and relaxation so the guest can enjoy an ideal night's sleep, and wake up refreshed and rejuvenated. Bedrooms at all levels are well-equipped: trademark ABode features include Vi-Spring beds; luxury toiletries; personal DVD players and state-of-the-art LCD televisions. Some rooms have imaginative wet rooms and baths integrated into living areas; the Fabulous suite has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the roofs of Canterbury across to the Cathedral.Michael Caines MBE and his talented team of chefs offer an incredible range of dining and drinking experiences, from superior room service or a drink in the stylish Champagne Bar to a pint and a pie or char-grilled fish or steak in the traditional Old Brewery Tavern. The Michael Caines Restaurant offers the ultimate dining experience, with delicious modern European cuisine accompanied by an exceptional wine list, served with professional yet not too formal style. ABode Canterbury is the ideal place for weddings, private parties, private dining and meetings, and any and all special occasions, whether for business or pleasure.We even have the facilities to make you feel absolutely fabulous. Why not join us for a workout in our well-equipped and comfortable residents' gym.ABode Canterbury, in the very heart of an ancient and historic city, is your home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing