We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best in town”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Probably the best commercially-driven place to stay in Canterbury and has an excellent location but it could try harder. Rooms are large with decent size bed and bathroom but wifi is poor except near the lobby. Lobby champagne bar is a great place to relax but the Michael Caines restaurant looked soul-less and too expensive - and recently slammed in the papers (Canterbury is so in need of a top class restaurant). A number of guests seems to be complaining about the heating controls and there was a fire alarm practice with no warning inside the rooms - more communication to the guests would be desirable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baidun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are in the process of changing our wi-fi provider and to upgrade the system which will improve our guest’s experience.

The Michael Caines restaurant is competitively prices for the city we offer lunch and pre theatre for £12.50, and 2 courses from the a la carte will cost around £27.00. Whilst is always disappointing to receive a negative review we are very proud to be the highest rated restaurant in The Good Food Guide for Canterbury.

We test the fire alarm system weekly; signs are placed in reception the evening prior advising our guests of the test.

Regards

Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,955)
There are newer reviews for ABode Canterbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,491 - 1,497 of 1,955 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

Modern, clean hotel located on Canterury high street a stone's throw away from the cathedral. You couldn't want a more convenient location. Perfect for exploring this beautiful city.

The hotel has limited parking at a cost of £6 per day. The car park was full during our stay so the hotel also offers a 24 hour parking permit for the Castle Row carpark for the same price.

The rooms themselves are modern and air conditioned with large wardrobes and DVD player. However there is no minibar in the rooms and the room we stayed in had no view.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

From the moment we were let into the car park (and whatever other reviews say there are not just 6 spaces - I would guess at least a dozen) we were greeted by friendly staff. We were allowed to check in an hour and a half early as our room was ready, and that room and bathroom were very nice. We were in an internal room looking out onto a roof which meant no noise from outside and we could keep our curtains open all night. The hotel is very central so there were lots of places of interest within easy walking distance. Breakfast was a delight with the hot part freshly cooked and the service superb. My husband had been told they kept soya milk but the first morning it hadn't been delivered. The second morning they sent someone out to get some for me! This meant I could try their delightful granola cereal. Canterbury itself is very lovely and characterful with lots of small interesting shops. We particularly liked Canterbury Pottery near the entrance to the Cathedral - the potter is in the shop and his work is beautiful and not too expensive.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Me and my wife stayed here two nights for our first wedding anniversary, local to Canterbury we couldn't afford a trip away to celebrate so decided to book in the city. Our room was only £99 and came with dinner included!... The staff are very helpful from the management who carried our bags to our room to the housekeeper who cleaned our room. We dined in the site's causal dining outlet, it was quiet but the food was amazing and the staff where again lovely. We will definitely stay here again! Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the ABode a few times and each time is just as good as the last, spacious rooms, clean, modern, awesome bathrooms.

Recently i had a birthday dinner in the restraurant and the food was stunning. I recommend the tasting menu.

As a regualr to there bar, i can also recommend all of their cocktails. I love there Disarrano Sour. To die for just a great place to stay, eat or just for a drink in thier champange bar.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank READITNOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed for our first visit to Canterbury at this lovely hotel & from the moment we arrived felt extremely welcomed & enjoyed our stay enormously. We were on a dinner B & B package & ate at both the Old Brewery Tavern (part of the hotel complex) & at the Michael Caines restaurant. In both venues the food & especially the service & welcome were exceptional.
Sally at reception was a delight & the rest of the team at the hotel were very professional & there appeared a very good team spirit amongst all staff.
We stayed in a "delightful" room which was very comfortable with lovely toileteries.
We will stay again & look forward to renewing our acquaintance with our new friends at the hotel, thank you. Chrissie & Reg

Room Tip: We were in a room at the front of the hotel & were not aware of any noise.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosescarnations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after attending a friends wedding. Due to booking late there was nothing available near the venue and we thought if we couldn't get somewhere close we might as well indulge a bit and get somewhere nice.

We arrived well before check in time as we needed to change and leave. We were offered the use of a disabled WC to change, however the staff managed to get out room ready for us to change in time - this really helped.

We were also upgraded to a very nice room with an emperor bed, free drinks and snacks etc..... The worst bit being when we had to checkout.

One point to note is that parking is limited. We were lucky enough to catch a guest from the previous night as they were leaving so we got a space.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterTommyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £92 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing