We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contender for Worst Hotel in Canterbury”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Contender for Worst Hotel in Canterbury”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

A dreadful experience.
Badly managed in virtually every aspect.
We were told no car parking available when the website said there was. After nearly an hour trying to park in a public car park - a long way from the hotel - they finally managed to find a space in the hotel car park.
The bar - which adds a large service charge for every drink bought - was a disgrace - staff standing about talking while half the bar was full of dirty crockery and the other half was wet with slops. Half the staff should have been able to do a better job if properly trained and managed.
Breakfast it took 20 minutes to get served, once a table had been found. That was only after requesting we be served - could have waited longer if we had not ask for service.

The room was far too hot and the air con did not work - the staff tried to set it on cool. The window could be opened but the ventilator on the roof outside was very noisy even with the window shut. Spent entire night awake - too hot and suffering with the noise of ventilators on the roof outside.
Abode is one hotel I will not visit again - absolutely terrible nights stay. There are far better hotels in Canterbury which are better managed and offer far better service.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simco1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for your review. You are absolutely correct we do have a car park as stated on the website which has 12 spaces, demand is high and it is not always possible to accommodate every guest wishing to park. I am delighted the team were able to obtain a space for you on a busy Saturday afternoon.

We offer table service within the champagne bar and a discretionary 12% service charge is added, if you were unhappy with this or with the service you received it is disappointing you did not raise this at the time to allow the team an opportunity to rectify this.

I did check your bedroom after reading your review. The comfort heating/cooling was set on heating; by changing the setting to cool this would have lowered the temperature quickly. Instructions are in the guest directory or a member of the team could have assisted if we were aware you were not happy with the temperature of your room.

Best wishes

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    558
    322
    181
    76
See reviews for
267
1,056
64
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Abode Canterbury is well located on High Street although if arriving by car the car park At the rear of the hotel reached by some very narrow roads and is tiny. It costs £6 per night. The hotel is welcoming and the staff were helpful and pleasant. Our first night was spent in Room 116 which was small but had everything we needed and the bed was comfortable as we're the pillows - which is just as well because we got very little sleep due to the incessant noises throughout the night. Not sure whether we were located at the far end of everyone's bathroom pipes, but cistern-filling noises, extractor fans and air conditioning unit noises abounded! We packed the following morning as I had no intention of spending another sleepless night in that room and we made for reception. I explained our issue and in fairness the reception staff agreed without hesitation to find us a different room. Our bags were moved whilst we were out and our new room was clearly the next level of comfort, being larger (the bed was big enough for 5 people!) and having robes, slippers and a turndown service - a very sensible way to treat a concerned customer. The new room was quiet, absolutely fine and we slept soundly that night so well done Abode staff you turned it round into a positive. The Champagne Bar is the hotel's lounge bar which also serves light meals. We had cocktails prior to dinner (but surprised to find a £2 service charge on our bill - surely this is at the customer's discretion especially in a bar?) Dinner in Michael Caine's restaurant was delicious. The cost was £114 for two of us for starter and mains including bread basket, a bottle of wine and water but again a 12.5% service charge is automatically added - leave it to the customer to decide whether the service was worth that or not - I would always leave 10% in any decent restaurant but don't care to have it imposed for a customer to have to question. All in all we enjoyed our stay at Abode and would return but would pay more attention to room selection. If you're thinking of staying avoid Room 116.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 116 - Noisy. Room 218 much quieter and larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenbakagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The stay was a disaster from the front desk, where we were lied to on several occasions, to the room which was not what we reserved. The reservation was a bait and switch, and we were placed in a double not a king. No credit was offered.

The HVAC in our room was broken, and the windows sealed shut. It was never repaired during the stay, and we went from hot during the day to cold at night. Bathrooms were upgraded but the bed was an awful marshmallow. The elevator broke during our stay. The location was the only thing desirable.

Again, staff were trained to speak in memorized statements and never tried to resolve any of our issues. I have seldom been this ill treated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

On the 3rd October the hotel was struck by lightning, which damaged the air conditioning/heating units, the lift, telephones and our wi-fi. We are waiting for control boards for the air conditioning/heating units which we are expecting in the next 7 days. As a temporary measure we have placed stand alone heaters in every effected room.

We have 10 rooms in total that have a king size bed 2m x 2m they are our enviable bedrooms and our suite, all our other rooms have double bedrooms 1.5m x 2m or twin beds. I would be delighted to discuss your reservation if you wish to call me on 0044 1227 826670.

We do offer credit on check in for this to be provided we need a credit card authorisation on arrival. If this is not provided guests are not able to charge and food or beverage to their bedroom.

Regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

A bit pricey for what it is. Stayed in a "desirable" room, but it was very warm and the windows were fixed shut. Room service breakfast was late and came without half of what we ordered. Location was perfect and a saving race otherwise would have been very disappointed. Would only go back if cheaper and had a window you could open / ventilated room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StuartH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
With regards the air conditioning the hotel suffered a direct lightning strike on the night of the 3rd October and the resulting power surge damaged the lift and air condition and heating units within the hotel. I am sorry the room was too warm during your stay.

We do have rooms available from £95 depending on availability.

Regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

The location of the Abode is great. The rooms are very clean and of a good size. There are a couple of problems though - the shower is fixed very close to the wall and the lumpy, marshmallow bed was quite uncomfortable.
At breakfast, we were obviously forgotten about - several times- and eventually cooked breakfast was served more than 45 minutes after ordering. When it arrived, it was very good, though!
The staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paintings23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. If you could contact the hotel and let me know the room you stayed in I will check the mattress in case it needs to be replaced.

I am sorry for the delay with breakfast.

Regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here just for one night but wished it had been more! The staff were polite and helpful, the room was lovely and as we'd mentioned it was out anniversary they'd put a balloon and treat basket in the (upgraded) room. Breakfast was lovely too. The location is amazing, right in the centre of Canterbury near everything you could want. The hotel entrance feels luxurious and a calm haven in the city. Would really recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were recommended this hotel by friends as it was my 40th birthday and wanted a night away from the kids with my husband.Arrived and got to our Room which was 101, we went there on a summer sizzle deal which the price was to good to miss , included 2 course dinner and breakfast.The dinner was very poor and basic , 1 chicken leg and mashed potato No veg . Any how we went out for a few drinks and enjoyed the rest of our evening.Arriving back to the hotel at just past midnight to our comfy room , expecting a nice Lay in (as no kids) and check out not till 12. Err no,woken up at 6 with a Arctic laundry lorry out side our window for 45 mins , then delivery's turn up at 7, then the dust cart lorry's at 7.30.we then had had enough and went down for breakfast .On returning someone had been in our room and left a pile of clean sheets on the floor ,we hadn't put anything in the safe as was still in the hotel. We went to do a bit of last minute shopping and I found my purse was open and upside down in my handbag,which I had left in the room when we went for breakfast and £30 was missing .i won't be staying back at this hotel .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waxyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we upgraded your to one of our most enviable rooms as it was a special celebration, which faces the high street, I am sorry that the early morning traffic disturbed your sleep.

We take accusations of theft extremely seriously, and we should have been informed of the allegation immediately to allow an investigation to take place, the locks would have been read to see who had entered room 101 since your arrival and we would have contacted the police also.

Regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.1 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Property: ABode Canterbury
Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABode Canterbury is a stylish boutique hotel that has been beautifully designed and refurbished, maintaining the old wooden beams and traditional fabric of an ancient and historic building while adding contemporary design features and modern comforts, with understated British style. With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), Abode Canterbury is the perfect place to visit the city and enjoy the shops, historic sites and traditional architecture.There are 72 bedrooms, rated Comfortable, Desirable, Most Desirable, Enviable, Most Enviable and Fabulous. Bedrooms have been designed with a sense of luxury and relaxation so the guest can enjoy an ideal night's sleep, and wake up refreshed and rejuvenated. Bedrooms at all levels are well-equipped: trademark ABode features include Vi-Spring beds; luxury toiletries; personal DVD players and state-of-the-art LCD televisions. Some rooms have imaginative wet rooms and baths integrated into living areas; the Fabulous suite has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the roofs of Canterbury across to the Cathedral.Michael Caines MBE and his talented team of chefs offer an incredible range of dining and drinking experiences, from superior room service or a drink in the stylish Champagne Bar to a pint and a pie or char-grilled fish or steak in the traditional Old Brewery Tavern. The Michael Caines Restaurant offers the ultimate dining experience, with delicious modern European cuisine accompanied by an exceptional wine list, served with professional yet not too formal style. ABode Canterbury is the ideal place for weddings, private parties, private dining and meetings, and any and all special occasions, whether for business or pleasure.We even have the facilities to make you feel absolutely fabulous. Why not join us for a workout in our well-equipped and comfortable residents' gym.ABode Canterbury, in the very heart of an ancient and historic city, is your home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing