We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well situated, comfortable hotel”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have had several enjoyable stays here. I have read the "terrible" reviews here, and must say we have never experienced the problems people report. We find the staff friendly and helpful, food in the main restaurant is good, and our rooms (admittedly not the most basic grades) comfortable and stylish. The location - right on the High St, and a few minutes from the Cathedral - is great, so of course we would expect tricky parking and sometimes its a few minutes walk away. The hotel cannot be expected to re-arrange Canterbury for the convenience of its guests. Its not cheap but if you want the very centre of town, and some style, this is a nice place to come.

small personal irritation - must we have radio 2 every morning over breakfast? Sometimes its subdued, which is fine, but it can be rather loud.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit more for a larger room, we think. Bear in mind its the very centre of town so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandJanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,602 - 1,608 of 2,079 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Once again a fabulous stay in a Most Enviable room. Stayed 2 nights and enjoyed every minute. The staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble for them. We have stayed here a few times and the service and room quality has always been of a high standard.
The food in the restaurant is lovely and the staff are very friendly and attentive. We always enjoy the Champagne Bar and have no problem with the service charge. The menu clearly states that service will be added.

Breakfast is always good, with lots of choice. At busy times you may have to wait but when we are on a break we enjoy a leisurely breakfast. If we were in a hurry we would just get up earlier!
Thank you to all the staff at Abode. See you again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bastet101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay in the hotel and would highly recommend. The hotel has limited parking, however do not let this put you off. The hotel staff helped me with my bags without any prompting and directed me to the nearest car park. The rooms are large, well equipped and nicely decorated. The staff are extremely helpful and well trained! The hotel provides free wifi and located on the high street. A good hotel!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank G0Lightly_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

A dreadful experience.
Badly managed in virtually every aspect.
We were told no car parking available when the website said there was. After nearly an hour trying to park in a public car park - a long way from the hotel - they finally managed to find a space in the hotel car park.
The bar - which adds a large service charge for every drink bought - was a disgrace - staff standing about talking while half the bar was full of dirty crockery and the other half was wet with slops. Half the staff should have been able to do a better job if properly trained and managed.
Breakfast it took 20 minutes to get served, once a table had been found. That was only after requesting we be served - could have waited longer if we had not ask for service.

The room was far too hot and the air con did not work - the staff tried to set it on cool. The window could be opened but the ventilator on the roof outside was very noisy even with the window shut. Spent entire night awake - too hot and suffering with the noise of ventilators on the roof outside.
Abode is one hotel I will not visit again - absolutely terrible nights stay. There are far better hotels in Canterbury which are better managed and offer far better service.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simco1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you for your review. You are absolutely correct we do have a car park as stated on the website which has 12 spaces, demand is high and it is not always possible to accommodate every guest wishing to park. I am delighted the team were able to obtain a space for you on a busy Saturday afternoon.

We offer table service within the champagne bar and a discretionary 12% service charge is added, if you were unhappy with this or with the service you received it is disappointing you did not raise this at the time to allow the team an opportunity to rectify this.

I did check your bedroom after reading your review. The comfort heating/cooling was set on heating; by changing the setting to cool this would have lowered the temperature quickly. Instructions are in the guest directory or a member of the team could have assisted if we were aware you were not happy with the temperature of your room.

Best wishes

Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Abode Canterbury is well located on High Street although if arriving by car the car park At the rear of the hotel reached by some very narrow roads and is tiny. It costs £6 per night. The hotel is welcoming and the staff were helpful and pleasant. Our first night was spent in Room 116 which was small but had everything we needed and the bed was comfortable as we're the pillows - which is just as well because we got very little sleep due to the incessant noises throughout the night. Not sure whether we were located at the far end of everyone's bathroom pipes, but cistern-filling noises, extractor fans and air conditioning unit noises abounded! We packed the following morning as I had no intention of spending another sleepless night in that room and we made for reception. I explained our issue and in fairness the reception staff agreed without hesitation to find us a different room. Our bags were moved whilst we were out and our new room was clearly the next level of comfort, being larger (the bed was big enough for 5 people!) and having robes, slippers and a turndown service - a very sensible way to treat a concerned customer. The new room was quiet, absolutely fine and we slept soundly that night so well done Abode staff you turned it round into a positive. The Champagne Bar is the hotel's lounge bar which also serves light meals. We had cocktails prior to dinner (but surprised to find a £2 service charge on our bill - surely this is at the customer's discretion especially in a bar?) Dinner in Michael Caine's restaurant was delicious. The cost was £114 for two of us for starter and mains including bread basket, a bottle of wine and water but again a 12.5% service charge is automatically added - leave it to the customer to decide whether the service was worth that or not - I would always leave 10% in any decent restaurant but don't care to have it imposed for a customer to have to question. All in all we enjoyed our stay at Abode and would return but would pay more attention to room selection. If you're thinking of staying avoid Room 116.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 116 - Noisy. Room 218 much quieter and larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenbakagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The stay was a disaster from the front desk, where we were lied to on several occasions, to the room which was not what we reserved. The reservation was a bait and switch, and we were placed in a double not a king. No credit was offered.

The HVAC in our room was broken, and the windows sealed shut. It was never repaired during the stay, and we went from hot during the day to cold at night. Bathrooms were upgraded but the bed was an awful marshmallow. The elevator broke during our stay. The location was the only thing desirable.

Again, staff were trained to speak in memorized statements and never tried to resolve any of our issues. I have seldom been this ill treated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jetsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

On the 3rd October the hotel was struck by lightning, which damaged the air conditioning/heating units, the lift, telephones and our wi-fi. We are waiting for control boards for the air conditioning/heating units which we are expecting in the next 7 days. As a temporary measure we have placed stand alone heaters in every effected room.

We have 10 rooms in total that have a king size bed 2m x 2m they are our enviable bedrooms and our suite, all our other rooms have double bedrooms 1.5m x 2m or twin beds. I would be delighted to discuss your reservation if you wish to call me on 0044 1227 826670.

We do offer credit on check in for this to be provided we need a credit card authorisation on arrival. If this is not provided guests are not able to charge and food or beverage to their bedroom.

Regards

Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A bit pricey for what it is. Stayed in a "desirable" room, but it was very warm and the windows were fixed shut. Room service breakfast was late and came without half of what we ordered. Location was perfect and a saving race otherwise would have been very disappointed. Would only go back if cheaper and had a window you could open / ventilated room.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank StuartH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
With regards the air conditioning the hotel suffered a direct lightning strike on the night of the 3rd October and the resulting power surge damaged the lift and air condition and heating units within the hotel. I am sorry the room was too warm during your stay.

We do have rooms available from £95 depending on availability.

Regards

Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
469 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.3 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £73 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing