We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ABode Canterbury
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,164)
Filter reviews
2,164 results
Traveller rating
852
630
385
202
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
852
630
385
202
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne barhigh streetenviable roomdesirable roomtuck boxcar parklovely hotelstandard roomcentral locationsat navfront of houseexcellent locationone night staycentre of towneggs benedictlovely rooma lovely stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,660 - 1,665 of 2,164 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked a 2 night stay just before Christmas – As the “main” restaurant is closed on Sundays we booked a bed and breakfast rate on Sunday and the Indulgence package on the Monday.

It may have been that we had two small dogs with us but the “Desirable” room was not very desirable. Although I had read reviews about the windows not opening I hadn’t realised how claustrophobic it would make us feel. The room was also “heated” with an aircon which made it draughty and cold. The bathroom had no heating at all and was cold – the shower was also cold. In the middle of the second night there was a major leak from the fire alarm fitting above the bed and we ended up sleeping with a pile of towels on the bed. To be fare though there was a terrible storm that night/day and flooding in the area. We also never received the “beautiful bouquet of flowers” that was part of the indulgence package.

The eggs benedict and the full English breakfast were very tasty but the buffet was very poor for a hotel with food expert Michael Caine restaurants. There was only toast available – no other bread or rolls. The sweet options were also poor for example the muffins were in packets – not freshly made.

We ate at the Old Brewery Tavern the first night. We had expected it to be a brasserie but it doesn’t quite know what it is pub/ restaurant / disco. When we arrived around 8 o’clock the music was so load we could hear the waiter speak – There was a large group of rather drunk pre-Christmas revellers in the bar part shouting , singing and swearing loudly . As the bar and the restaurant is only divided by a thin curtain it was like sitting in a rowdy pub. The food is pub style food – fish and chips or steak and chips but presented in a stylish way and probably not enough chips due to the presentation in a mini deep fat frying basket. Very cute and very tasty but the price didn’t match the pub atmosphere with drunk pub guests shouting next to you. The staff though were top notch and apologised for the rowdy guests and as there had been a mix up with our desert he had removed the service charge which is normally automatically added to the bill.

Our second night we ate at the Michael Caines restaurant. On the Monday before Christmas it was rather quite but there were enough guests to not make it uncomfortable. The interior of the restaurant has a very cosmopolitan feel to it. We thought the food and the wine where very good. We thought the portions were just right – not too small and not too large. There was also a good choice of open wines by the glass. We did thought find it a bit strange that the open wine suggestions for the tasting menu were not available unless you had the tasting menu. There was a slight hitch when we were given a glass of open wine that had oxidized – the sommelier should in this level of restaurant should check the wine before serving – but generally the waiters were friendly and correct.

The major saving grace of this hotel and its restaurant are the staff. From the receptionists tot the waiters – we didn’t encounter one who wasn’t friendly, helpful and professional.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLJDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We visited on a Sunday for the evening and booked a winter stay, dinner, bed and breakfast package. We were celebrating an aniversary and the staff were fantastic and managed to find us a better room and subsequently upgraded us to a beautiful room.

On check in however when asking for a sample menu for the dinner tonight and the wherabouts of the restaurant the meal would be in, we were informed the following: Dinner will be served in Michael Caine's restaurant in the hotel lobby and we were shown a sample menu, which looked fantastic.

With this knowledge in mind we dressed up accordingly for the restaurant, once downstairs it seemed to be closed. We checked again with reception, who advised that dinner is actually served next door in the brewery tavern, a much more casual restaurant pub style with limited menu options. (It does mention this is where dinner is served on the website deal, but as we were advised differently from reception we took their benefit of the doubt).

Once in the Brewery tavern we were greeted by an empty pub, where, not only were we completely overdressed, but in addition there was only one other table and virtually all of the menu options were no longer available. (Bearing in mind we were eating at around 7.30pm on a Sunday ). This put a real dampener on our Anniversary and in addition had to pay a surcharge on top of the pre-paid allowance for menu items we never would have normally charged. The restaurant completely lacked atmosphere and was virtually empty, I cannot see why so many of the menu options had sold out and why when reserving the restaurant we were informed we couldn't eat at our desired time due to lack of availability.

The hotel is a fantastic hotel but we will be avoiding their restaurant: The Brewery Tavern at all costs in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniellay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your review I am pleased you enjoyed the upgraded accommodation.

I am very sorry that you were given the incorrect information relating to the dining option with the winter warmer package, our Michael Caines restaurant is closed every Sunday evening. The offer includes dinner in the Old Brewery Tavern. Sunday evenings are normally a quieter evening in the hotel and I’m sorry that this detracted from your enjoyment.

Regards

Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just returned from our 6th visit to the Abode. The hotel meets all our needs in terms of comfort etc. The food is good and location excellent. The front bar is the place in Canterbury to be seen and you can also watch the world go by. As usual we asked for a room not next to the lift. As this request had not been met we got a free upgrade and a free drink. We also got a free drink as the pohne was not working.

The food in the Old Brewery was also good and the breakfast just right. The kipper was a little small but otherwise fine. I would gladly recommend this hotel but laways ask for a room awayfro mthe lift.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Location on high street and lack of competition has made this a hotel that is hard to ignore in my home town for years but on returning to visit family over Christmas, I found the quality of accommodation distinctly disappointing. The shared areas really are pleasant with lovely ambient lighting but our room felt utterly lacking in personality and whilst they'd clearly attempted to apply a modern 'spartan' feel, they'd missed out on significant basic housekeeping.

The sink drained incredibly slowly - one tooth brushing episode would leave it full. The door hooks on the back of the bathroom door were just metal stumps fixed to a poorly painted chunk of wood. The room seemed large and lacking in furniture - a desk and one upright corner chair plus bed floated in the room and there was loads of space not utilised that could have contained something cosy to soften the feel of the place. I could not get the wifi connection to work and later discovered the instructions in the manual were out of date. The walls were not enormously well insulated from other room noise. Our room had a bleak outlook onto an internal area, although I was pleased not to be overlooking one of the roads where late night revellers could be an issue. On a very blowy night, the windows rattled to the point of keeping a person awake.

These are just minor tweaks but for a hotel selling a lifestyle downstairs of swish modernity in traditional surroundings, our room just did not match the story. The worst offender, however, by far were the lumpy pillows. The duty manager agreed with me the following morning that he himself could not have slept on them - horrendous- fibres all knotted making a square bag of lumps to rest your head on. They are apparently in the process of replacing these - why wait? Why sell me a room in which I'll be unable to get a good night's sleep?

The way staff dealt with my quibbles pushed the rating up from 2 to 3. Disappointing stay in my home town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexWigglyworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your comments, its disappointing you did not find your room to your liking. We had a new Wi-Fi system installed just before Christmas and thank you for your comments relating to the instructions which I will change. We are replacing pillows as we do throughout the year as and when we feel they need replaced, I do apologise for the uncomfortable pillow which we should have changed prior to your stay.

Regards

Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed here on 27/12/13 booked a deluxe room for a fair amount of money for my husband's 40th birthday. The room was smaller than expected but clean and welcoming. Advertised robe and slippers but could only find the robes....... unfortunately did not have a great nights sleep as we had very noisy people above us putting the tv on loudly and talking loudly, wouldn't have minded but it was 04·30am. To be fair I did ring reception who did sort the issue out. Just one word of advise if you have a room with wooden floors be respectful to the people underneath your room and remove your shoes as it is very noisy .The breakfast is not that great no full english and a horrible bowl of fruit and they consider two very small croissants as French pastries.

Room Tip: Have the top floor rooms less noise.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40trudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to learn you were disturbed by neighbouring guests during your stay. Our expected delivery of slippers was due the week prior to Christmas and has been delayed until W/C 6th January I am sorry they were not available.

Regards
Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews