We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ambience”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very centrally located and the bar is absolutely lovely. We sat by the fire with some very tasty winter cocktails. The room was nice although quite small and the shower wasn't particularly powerful.

The staff were very friendly at reception and at the bar. We very much enjoyed our meal in the county bar - we were there for the NYE Gala ball. The food for dinner was delicious and breakfast in the morning was good too. So nice to have it cooked for us rather than having a hot over-cooked buffet which is what you get in most places these days.

Would recommend it!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MrsSmith23dec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,516 - 1,522 of 2,017 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

I regret that we are unable to give a more positive review of our experience of a recent "Indulgence" package - I think the room was classed as "most desirable" but it was really very small - a twin with little room to move around. The complementary tuck box contained an odd mish mash of crisps, mints, juices and certainly nothing in the least bit luxurious. On a positive note, the beds were comfortable and the toiletries were very nice once you got used to the rather strong and conflicting smells. Bath robes were tiny, but as we had our own we did not comment.

However the included meal was a disappointment. There was quite simply nothing in the least bit special about it. The free bubbly was unpleasant. The beef was tasteless. Breakfast the following morning was nothing short of a disgrace - cold and flaccid and very very short staffed. Perhaps we are just to picky. This was the thought that kept us for complaining. In the end we thought the best way to deal with the matter was to put it down to experience and stay somewhere else next time!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank olwenjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked a 2 night stay just before Christmas – As the “main” restaurant is closed on Sundays we booked a bed and breakfast rate on Sunday and the Indulgence package on the Monday.

It may have been that we had two small dogs with us but the “Desirable” room was not very desirable. Although I had read reviews about the windows not opening I hadn’t realised how claustrophobic it would make us feel. The room was also “heated” with an aircon which made it draughty and cold. The bathroom had no heating at all and was cold – the shower was also cold. In the middle of the second night there was a major leak from the fire alarm fitting above the bed and we ended up sleeping with a pile of towels on the bed. To be fare though there was a terrible storm that night/day and flooding in the area. We also never received the “beautiful bouquet of flowers” that was part of the indulgence package.

The eggs benedict and the full English breakfast were very tasty but the buffet was very poor for a hotel with food expert Michael Caine restaurants. There was only toast available – no other bread or rolls. The sweet options were also poor for example the muffins were in packets – not freshly made.

We ate at the Old Brewery Tavern the first night. We had expected it to be a brasserie but it doesn’t quite know what it is pub/ restaurant / disco. When we arrived around 8 o’clock the music was so load we could hear the waiter speak – There was a large group of rather drunk pre-Christmas revellers in the bar part shouting , singing and swearing loudly . As the bar and the restaurant is only divided by a thin curtain it was like sitting in a rowdy pub. The food is pub style food – fish and chips or steak and chips but presented in a stylish way and probably not enough chips due to the presentation in a mini deep fat frying basket. Very cute and very tasty but the price didn’t match the pub atmosphere with drunk pub guests shouting next to you. The staff though were top notch and apologised for the rowdy guests and as there had been a mix up with our desert he had removed the service charge which is normally automatically added to the bill.

Our second night we ate at the Michael Caines restaurant. On the Monday before Christmas it was rather quite but there were enough guests to not make it uncomfortable. The interior of the restaurant has a very cosmopolitan feel to it. We thought the food and the wine where very good. We thought the portions were just right – not too small and not too large. There was also a good choice of open wines by the glass. We did thought find it a bit strange that the open wine suggestions for the tasting menu were not available unless you had the tasting menu. There was a slight hitch when we were given a glass of open wine that had oxidized – the sommelier should in this level of restaurant should check the wine before serving – but generally the waiters were friendly and correct.

The major saving grace of this hotel and its restaurant are the staff. From the receptionists tot the waiters – we didn’t encounter one who wasn’t friendly, helpful and professional.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLJDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We visited on a Sunday for the evening and booked a winter stay, dinner, bed and breakfast package. We were celebrating an aniversary and the staff were fantastic and managed to find us a better room and subsequently upgraded us to a beautiful room.

On check in however when asking for a sample menu for the dinner tonight and the wherabouts of the restaurant the meal would be in, we were informed the following: Dinner will be served in Michael Caine's restaurant in the hotel lobby and we were shown a sample menu, which looked fantastic.

With this knowledge in mind we dressed up accordingly for the restaurant, once downstairs it seemed to be closed. We checked again with reception, who advised that dinner is actually served next door in the brewery tavern, a much more casual restaurant pub style with limited menu options. (It does mention this is where dinner is served on the website deal, but as we were advised differently from reception we took their benefit of the doubt).

Once in the Brewery tavern we were greeted by an empty pub, where, not only were we completely overdressed, but in addition there was only one other table and virtually all of the menu options were no longer available. (Bearing in mind we were eating at around 7.30pm on a Sunday ). This put a real dampener on our Anniversary and in addition had to pay a surcharge on top of the pre-paid allowance for menu items we never would have normally charged. The restaurant completely lacked atmosphere and was virtually empty, I cannot see why so many of the menu options had sold out and why when reserving the restaurant we were informed we couldn't eat at our desired time due to lack of availability.

The hotel is a fantastic hotel but we will be avoiding their restaurant: The Brewery Tavern at all costs in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniellay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your review I am pleased you enjoyed the upgraded accommodation.

I am very sorry that you were given the incorrect information relating to the dining option with the winter warmer package, our Michael Caines restaurant is closed every Sunday evening. The offer includes dinner in the Old Brewery Tavern. Sunday evenings are normally a quieter evening in the hotel and I’m sorry that this detracted from your enjoyment.

Regards

Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just returned from our 6th visit to the Abode. The hotel meets all our needs in terms of comfort etc. The food is good and location excellent. The front bar is the place in Canterbury to be seen and you can also watch the world go by. As usual we asked for a room not next to the lift. As this request had not been met we got a free upgrade and a free drink. We also got a free drink as the pohne was not working.

The food in the Old Brewery was also good and the breakfast just right. The kipper was a little small but otherwise fine. I would gladly recommend this hotel but laways ask for a room awayfro mthe lift.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Location on high street and lack of competition has made this a hotel that is hard to ignore in my home town for years but on returning to visit family over Christmas, I found the quality of accommodation distinctly disappointing. The shared areas really are pleasant with lovely ambient lighting but our room felt utterly lacking in personality and whilst they'd clearly attempted to apply a modern 'spartan' feel, they'd missed out on significant basic housekeeping.

The sink drained incredibly slowly - one tooth brushing episode would leave it full. The door hooks on the back of the bathroom door were just metal stumps fixed to a poorly painted chunk of wood. The room seemed large and lacking in furniture - a desk and one upright corner chair plus bed floated in the room and there was loads of space not utilised that could have contained something cosy to soften the feel of the place. I could not get the wifi connection to work and later discovered the instructions in the manual were out of date. The walls were not enormously well insulated from other room noise. Our room had a bleak outlook onto an internal area, although I was pleased not to be overlooking one of the roads where late night revellers could be an issue. On a very blowy night, the windows rattled to the point of keeping a person awake.

These are just minor tweaks but for a hotel selling a lifestyle downstairs of swish modernity in traditional surroundings, our room just did not match the story. The worst offender, however, by far were the lumpy pillows. The duty manager agreed with me the following morning that he himself could not have slept on them - horrendous- fibres all knotted making a square bag of lumps to rest your head on. They are apparently in the process of replacing these - why wait? Why sell me a room in which I'll be unable to get a good night's sleep?

The way staff dealt with my quibbles pushed the rating up from 2 to 3. Disappointing stay in my home town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexWigglyworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your comments, its disappointing you did not find your room to your liking. We had a new Wi-Fi system installed just before Christmas and thank you for your comments relating to the instructions which I will change. We are replacing pillows as we do throughout the year as and when we feel they need replaced, I do apologise for the uncomfortable pillow which we should have changed prior to your stay.

Regards

Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed here on 27/12/13 booked a deluxe room for a fair amount of money for my husband's 40th birthday. The room was smaller than expected but clean and welcoming. Advertised robe and slippers but could only find the robes....... unfortunately did not have a great nights sleep as we had very noisy people above us putting the tv on loudly and talking loudly, wouldn't have minded but it was 04·30am. To be fair I did ring reception who did sort the issue out. Just one word of advise if you have a room with wooden floors be respectful to the people underneath your room and remove your shoes as it is very noisy .The breakfast is not that great no full english and a horrible bowl of fruit and they consider two very small croissants as French pastries.

Room Tip: Have the top floor rooms less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40trudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to learn you were disturbed by neighbouring guests during your stay. Our expected delivery of slippers was due the week prior to Christmas and has been delayed until W/C 6th January I am sorry they were not available.

Regards
Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £80 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing