We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for the upgrade.”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed for two nights as birthday treat from the Mrs. The hotel management picked up that it was my birthday and upgraded our room which helped make us feel special, which is a nice touch. The balloon also helped. Otherwise front of house staff were friendly as were bar staff. Only issue raise is that that pricing for Michael Caines restaurant is a little high for the food on offer. Nothing wrong with food but just didn't feel that special. All in all another very satisfactory stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmokeyRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,477 - 1,483 of 1,986 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel a few times, and it's a well run place with good rooms and good food. However this time arrived after a three hour drive, to be told that the car park was full, and was given a map to a " nearby" car park which proved to be some distance away. Had to walk with my suitcase in pouring rain ! If guests have to park so far away - a shuttle service would be good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We booked the NYE dinner at the M.C restaurant and after party and it was super! The food was lovely, I was so full I could fall asleep! The service was great and nice attention to detail!!

We also booked a room for the night... We booked a Most Enviable room and once we checked in we were told we were upgraded to the Fabulous suite... It was amazing.. The suite was huge and had an adorable decked roof terrace with stunning views of the cathedral. This is when we decided to not attend the NYE countdown in the ballroom but retreated to the room to watch the firework across Canterbury! Icing on the cake to a perfect evening!

The bed was massive and beyond comfortable.. Did not want to get out of bed ever again! The only mini downside was that the door to the terrace was very hard to open and to close again... And clearly this is an old problem as there was obvious water damage to the door.. but it really did not bother us as the door is nowhere near the bedroom!

If you are looking for the best hotel room in Canterbury and surroundings... this is it!!!
Great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Visited Canterbury and stayed here for a night. Had one of the most enviable rooms and have no complaints.The hotel is right in the heart of the town and about 3 minutes walk to the Cathedral. The only downside is the car park is a small and spaces cannot be reserved. however we were lucky to finds a space when we arrived. There are however plenty of car parks nearby.

Once inside the staff are welcoming and friendly. They offered to help with our luggage as well. The room was beautiful. Lovely bathroom and separate shower room. The bed is huge and very comfortable especially with 6 pillows. Dinner and after dinner drinks in the bar was enjoyable and the waiters knew what they were doing.

Would certainly come here again and would recommend this to anyone,

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and o for the larger rooms and you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Abode on the 2nd January for one night. The hotel is very central and has its own car park which in a city is a plus. It Is on a first come first served basis and we were lucky to find the last parking space. Our room was compact though nice and warm and comfortable and very clean though a little lacking in character. We ate in the bar which was again very comfortable with a nice fire and very cosy. We were a little disappointed that they stopped serving food in the bar at 6.00 but the meal we ordered was well cooked and nicely presented.

We realise our stay was shortly after Christmas but during the time spent in the bar we witnessed and had to smile at times when fellow guests asked for certain items only to be told "We are fresh out. T of that sir" this included all fish shown on the menu, English mustard, Worcester sauce, (difficult to make a Bloody Mary without some, though the bar staff tried) certain drinks listed on the menu etc. etc. However the bar staff were charming and even found some nuts for me as a bar snack. Breakfast was quoted at £11.00 each which we declined preferring to eat at an independent café (Brunch) for half the price. All in all the stay was fine though a little bit more attention to detail would make it better and a closer look at stock control.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Spent 2 nights at the Abode during our trip to England and Wales. Everything about the hotel was first rate. Room was spacious and the shower was excellent. If we had one minor dislike it was how the tub area was placed in regard to the rest of the room. It was a glass wall, with opening, between the sleeping area and the shower. Because of that there is an ongoing night light between the two rooms. Annoying, but necessary for safety reasons. We had breakfast each day and it was very good. Service was excellent. Staff on all levels were the best. Central location. This would be a great place to go for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Abode for two nights and had a wonderful time.

The 'double deluxe' room was very smart, cosy, warm and inviting. The bed was huge and comfortable with soft, plump pillows. The bathroom was super clean and the complementary soaps, creams and lotions were lovely. The bath towels and flannels were soft and spotlessly clean.
The hotel throughout is smart and tidy and nicely decorated, no peeling paint or unsightly stains.

If you take your own car then I suggest you do as we did and use the 'park at my house.com' site to book a parking space locally as there are very few spaces available at the hotel.

The staff were professional and friendly and made us feel welcome. We loved our stay at the Abode and would highly recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: As above, use the 'park at my house.com' site if you take your own car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £86 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing