We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat here, but stay somewhere else. Internet connection worst ever.”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This hotel has the worst internet and mobile phone connection ever. We were here with 3 colleagues and experienced all the same. It is impossible to get a proper internet connection. My colleagues' mobile phone did not even work in the hotel. It's horrible when you are staying here and you need to connect/work at night.

Also what annoyed me was that there are no drinks in the room. Not even a bottle of water. Not a vending machine on the hallway, nothing. This means that you need to buy every drink in the bar downstairs, which is expensive. I noticed on the bill that they charged me a 'service charge' for drinks I bought myself at the bar downstairs to take up to my room (myself!!). Why would you have to pay a service charge when you are ordering your own drink, standing at the bar, and when you're not even having your drink in the bar itself but taking it upstairs yourself???

Anyway the restaurant is great. If I could recommend something, just eat here and stay somewhere else.

I will not stay here again for business. The lack of internet connection drove me up the wall.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your review. I am surprised to read your comments relating to the hotels wi-fi. We upgraded our wi-fi in December and it has been extremely good ever since. The wi-fi is free and directs you to the Brownsword hotels landing page which allows you access to the hotels wi-fi. We have encountered a few issues with guests that had mac books, but the issue related to their own security blocking access.

We do not offer complimentary water in all our bedrooms, we have complimentary “tuck boxes” and water in our most desirable rooms up to our fabulous suite.

Regards

Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,956)
There are newer reviews for ABode Canterbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,421 - 1,427 of 1,956 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

If you're looking to visit Canterbury for the weekend then there is no better hotel than The Abode. With it's own car park (or vouchers available for just £6 to park close), the location of this hotel really could not be better. It's right on the high street and has a variety of different rooms available, all really tastefully decorated. The Champagne bar, located at the front of the hotel is delightful, and the restaurant is great also. We could not fault The Abode Canterbury.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WifeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The reception staff were exceptional, knowledgeable and genuinely helpful. The 'most enviable' room was a night of luxury and comfort. The bed, oh the bed was the best I have ever slept in. The basket of goodies in the room were very welcome and yummy. Lovely breakfast. And what a great location in the middle of delightful Canterbury, we did not move the car all weekend. You could set the room temperature to exactly what you want. The shower was it's only weakness, very feeble and the temperature and flow was variable (mid shower - how yuck is that?) but with everything else still give it 5 stars for a romantic weekend break for 2. Go on spoil yourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

On arrival we were met with smiles and staff who obviously enjoy their work. I had told the hotel this was an anniversary stay when booking but could not imagine what they had done for us.

We were given our room key to what was a normal room when we booked, however when we got to the room it was stunning from the bathroom which was huge to the biggest most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.

There was a balloon and a lovely card from the manager wishing us well, truly wonderful made our stay so much better.

More was to come in the restaurant and bar, with staff in the champagne bar being attentive and service was impeccable again looked like they enjoyed what they did and were passionate about their work.

The food in the Michael Caines restaurant is fantastic to say the least just gorgeous, I keep on about the staff but the waiters, manager and sommelier where simply professional and very well versed in the menu and let us know exactly what we were going to eat etc, a 5 star service.

In short and to stop rambling, do not hesitate to go, book the hotel book the restaurant and if you have half the excellent service we did you will be very very happy you stayed here.

A note to the hotels owners and managers, you have the most excellent staff I have ever had the pleasure of staying with, they are truly a credit to you and to themselves.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor (303) it was quiet and beautiful, the best we have ever stayed in.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpencerNegus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for one night in February 2014, We struggled to find it at first, but I think that is more for the layout of the city, than the hotels fault. I would recommend coming into the hotel via Stour Street, as explained on their website. On entry, the staff opened the door for us, and greeted us presently on check in. Our bags were taken up to our rooms for us, and then we had the discussion of parking; There is an option to check in, and then go an park your car. Which is what we did, as it made the stroll back to the hotel more pleasant.
The Hotel restaurant is very high end, and gets booked up very quickly, however we were able to get in for lunch the day after. The hotel is perfectly located for other restaurants and entertainment, and towards the end of the evening, they have a lounge on the first floor, where we were able to sit and relax in quiet, as the champagne bar downstairs was full.
My only gripe, is the queue on check out, (that I jumped, Sorry). however, on the whole, a nice hotel. friendly staff, nice rooms and nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Room 127 doesn't have a view...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imluke91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights from Feb 28th 2014
Our rooms were clean, comfortable and had everything we needed and would expect in a hotel of this class.
For us, what made this " a cut above" other hotels we have stayed in were the following:
A) the friendly, helpful staff. Not only was every area of the hotel well staffed but they were all, without exception, smart, knowledgeable, efficient and seemed genuinely committed to ensuring our stay was a pleasure. We applaud all who were on duty this weekend and hope that the management appreciate them as much as we did.
B) the Champagne Bar. So many hotels have dead or soulless bar areas- not the Abode. It was lovely to sit here after shopping and before and after dinner and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, roaring fire and excellent service and cocktails. Getting a seat was occasionally a problem, but this was because we were not the only people who wanted to enjoy its ambience.

Parking is a bit of a pain at this hotel- spaces are VERY limited and tight, but this is only to be expected in the centre of an old cathedral city. To be fair, we found the nearby public car parks easily and so we would not let this put us off using this hotel again on our next visit to Canterbury.
Well done Abode- see you again
WILLIAMS X4

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngtourist92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here 4 nights on a recent business trip, hotel is good but parking is a major problem. The hotel will give you a voucher for a council run car park but to walk that 3 blocks with luggage or in winter is a problem. The hotel car park has around 8 spaces and it's extremely small. Rooms are good but you have to get a better room, this stay I had a room with 2 single beds and was very uncomfortable, mattresses so soft you felt like you were sleeping in a "u shape". Great location is the best feature of this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank aufreqtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £92 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing