We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in a central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Guildford, Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on business and found the hotel charming. The location is excellent, right on the High Street. The High Street position should not put any potential guests off as there is no excessive noise owing to the excellent soundproofing.
A good gym as well.

I would have given this hotel five stars had it not been for the poor shower. I was on the second floor and my colleague was on the first and we both experienced extremely average showers. Poor water pressure and temperature fluctuations between luke warm and cold. This was the same in the evening and morning.

Otherwise a very pleasant and comfortable stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JohnM2429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    524
    303
    173
    73
See reviews for
249
998
61
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here on a Sunday night for our 1st wedding anniversary and I couldn't have asked for more. I wasn't sure which hotel to go for but chose this one as it was central and to be honest the price seemed good for the quality of the hotel. The pictures on the website don't do justice to the rooms, I booked a 'Desirable' room and the room that we had was huuuge! I did put a note on our booking form to say that it was our anniversary, so I'm not sure if they upgraded us, but the room was fab - and I've never seen such a massive bed, and so comfy! The rooms seem to all come with a 'tuck box' which I must say had quite a generous selection of some very tasty bits and bobs.
I was also impressed by the complimentary toiletries which were animal friendly (BUAV approved).
The hotel itself is an interesting mix of modern and original features and we enjoyed a cosy 'night cap' in the bar whilst checking out the old beams and windows. We didn't have dinner here as we'd made plans elsewhere, but breakfast was very nice and the staff all friendly and helpful. There is also a rather cool lounge area upstairs with lots of old style features and furniture.
I was a little intimidated by the upper class feel of the place at first (not being very 'posh' myself) but the vibe of the place is really quite relaxed and friendly. All in all, highly recommended!

Room Tip: We chose the desirable room and if that it was we had (as I'm not sure if we were upgraded) it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here again to celebrate my Wife's Birthday (18th March) and we were totally spoilt as usual. We got married at this hotel back in August 2012 and have stayed with them several times since. The staff can never do enough for you, in particular Steve, who makes you feel so welcome. We will back back very soon. Thank you.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RemiKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zell am See, Austria
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I booked a category desirable room, number 203, on the second floor. The room was spacious and nicely appointed BUT it is situated by the lift shaft. The sound proofing in this room is poor and the noise from the lift is unacceptable. Loudly creaking floorboards from the room above added to the noise level. This room has no mini bar which is very disappointing. Bed was marvelous and towels were fluffy. Overall the room was nice. My credit card stopped working and the staff would not accept a DEBIT card. This meant that I had to count out cash for my in room breakfast in my pajamas ! Breakfast was great value, although they tried to charge me for two - this meant I had to answer the door again in my pj s. The bank told me that the problem with the card was the hotel Inputed the incorrect expiry date - not sure that was correct ! My left luggage got taken back to my room by the porter which also gave me cause for anxiety as they could not locate it. Location is superb and sound proofing from OUTSIDE is excellent.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank binky59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed at the hotel last week for a night with my husband and son and thought that it was excellent. We had a large triple that was comfortable and plenty big enough for us. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in! It is in a great location for walking around Canterbury, and I will not hesitate to stay at ABode the next time I visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

As above. As a lawyer travel all round uk, hotel superb. Thought
Breakfast too expensive even given Michael clines credentials
The room was very
Comfortable and the bed lived up to its hype in the literature










  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OWEN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

From the outside, this hotel is beautiful and sitting in the heart of Canterbury. However, I found the hotel itself a little disappointing and overpriced. The parking is non-existent and the room a bit small. Staff were friendly and approachable. Most disappointing was the restaurant, which I found a little sterile

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you found the hotel disappointing. We have agreed a 5 year lease on the vacant land opposite the hotel which will provide an additional 25-30 car parking spaces. This should be available to use by the end of the month. Our accommodation rates start from £85, for the best possible price it is best to book direct with the hotel.

Regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Property: ABode Canterbury
Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABode Canterbury is a stylish boutique hotel that has been beautifully designed and refurbished, maintaining the old wooden beams and traditional fabric of an ancient and historic building while adding contemporary design features and modern comforts, with understated British style. With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), Abode Canterbury is the perfect place to visit the city and enjoy the shops, historic sites and traditional architecture.There are 72 bedrooms, rated Comfortable, Desirable, Most Desirable, Enviable, Most Enviable and Fabulous. Bedrooms have been designed with a sense of luxury and relaxation so the guest can enjoy an ideal night's sleep, and wake up refreshed and rejuvenated. Bedrooms at all levels are well-equipped: trademark ABode features include Vi-Spring beds; luxury toiletries; personal DVD players and state-of-the-art LCD televisions. Some rooms have imaginative wet rooms and baths integrated into living areas; the Fabulous suite has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the roofs of Canterbury across to the Cathedral.Michael Caines MBE and his talented team of chefs offer an incredible range of dining and drinking experiences, from superior room service or a drink in the stylish Champagne Bar to a pint and a pie or char-grilled fish or steak in the traditional Old Brewery Tavern. The Michael Caines Restaurant offers the ultimate dining experience, with delicious modern European cuisine accompanied by an exceptional wine list, served with professional yet not too formal style. ABode Canterbury is the ideal place for weddings, private parties, private dining and meetings, and any and all special occasions, whether for business or pleasure.We even have the facilities to make you feel absolutely fabulous. Why not join us for a workout in our well-equipped and comfortable residents' gym.ABode Canterbury, in the very heart of an ancient and historic city, is your home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing