We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, perfect stay”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed over for a night the room was very spacious and clean, located towards the rear of the hotel away from the street as such got a perfect nights sleep on one of the most comfortable hotel beds in a long time.

Bathroom was a decent size with a good pressured shower.

Service was very friendly through out, unfortunately I didn't manage to use the restaurant though so can't comment on the food.

The hotel is situated central with Canterbury so your easy walking distance to local attractions, train stations, pubs and restaurants.

Would certainly stay here again if I'm ever in Canterbury again

Room Tip: Away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul-H8465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,472 - 1,478 of 2,033 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel in historic building. bar area comfortable with lots of character. all staff extremely friendly and helpful even taking bags from car park which is very small and we were lucky to get a space. Our room was a desirable and a fair size though small bathroom with no room for personal effects (especially for two people). Also cramped between door wardrobe and bathroom door. The restaurant was superb. Staff attentive friendly but very professional. Food excellent and beautifully presented. Have written a separate review on that experience. Overall would recommend and will be back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank julesnottm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I would like to say wow, my husband and I have waked past this restaurant / hotel many times and said we should try it, and lucky me got to try for my birthday and all I can say such wonderful service from the moment we arrived attentive and happy. The food was a wow cannot explain in words you have to go and try. Cocktails and wine amazing went so well with the meal. A totally enjoyable experience would highly recommend even if you fancy a lovely lunch, worth every penny.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Upon arriving at this hotel, we realized it is a forgotten place. We had requested months ago for a room with cold air conditioning. We booked one of the most expensive rooms hoping to have comfort and cleanliness. It had none. The room had no working air conditioning, temperatures raised to about 100F at night because it faced the afternoon sun even though it was in April.
We called the front desk, and they said they would fix it. They didn't. they offered to move us to a room of the same category but it was half the size of the one we had. During the night, we removed the quilting between the sheets and found several yellow stains which were disgusting. the floor was never mopped, the entire room was covered in filth.
Though management will say "they did everything they could" to please us....it was not good enough or acceptable to pay what we did for a suite. We tried speaking to the general manager, but he sent his assistant manager to deal with us. Horrible experience, not worth advertising or being a part of any website. The day we were leaving, there was no running water in the shower.
In short, extremely filthy and forgotten, no real air conditioning that works, staffed by young inexperienced people. Don'y stay here at all.

Room Tip: Stay away from Canterbury in the countryside, it is more beautiful and it has better quality hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ada d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The comfort cooling in your room was not working and the manager on duty did offer to move you to 223 on Sunday which is also a most enviable bedroom but it is a little smaller than 201, rooms 223 air conditioning was working, it’s a pity you chose not to move as this would have been more comfortable for you. The earliest we could have an engineer to fix the air conditioning was Tuesday morning, the air conditioning was fixed but will not work effectively if the windows are open.

I am sorry for there were stains on the duvet, which is completely unacceptable. We do not mop the wooden floors they are swept and steam cleaned as required.

As a gesture we did not charge you for the accommodation on the Tuesday and the duty manager checked back on the Wednesday and the feedback was positive, it’s naturally very disappointing to read your comments.

Regards
Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The Abode Hotel in Canterbury is unmatched in its offering. Luxurious rooms, a decadent restaurant and stylish champagne and cocktail bar make for a very special experience. Our Most Enviable room was immaculate, and touches such as the basket of complimentary snacks were greatly appreciated. Staff including Richard, Jonathan and Niamh (there were many more) went above and beyond to ensure we had a comfortable stay, and the all-important breakfast was top notch both in-room and downstairs.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Abs0lutely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

From the greeting from the lovely blonde on reception to leaving it was an outstanding little stay. There are some small flaws, parking isn't ideal and the TV is a little low to watch in bed but on the same not its a 5 minute walk and who on earth is concerned about watching TV, get out the hotel for a few hours. The room was big for the price and the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was immaculate and the bath was amazing! I am looking forward to staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was my first stay in an ABode hotel. I had the "comfortable" (basic) room and it was fine. Small but not cramped. I didn't eat breakfast at the hotel but did have lunch in the pub around the back. It was excellent. I probably wouldn't return but not because I had a bad experience, only because the concept wasn't really my thing. It reminded me a bit of an ALoft hotel. It's a simple, contemporary concept in an historic building. I would prefer contemporary or historic...All in all I would still recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jroberts100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.3 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £76 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing