We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is everything!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location is everything!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the location!! It is literally on the high street... as soon as you walk out of the hotel you are in the buzz of everything. You can walk to Canterbury Cathedral within minutes and there are lots of restaurants and bars to wine and dine.

The room itself was comfortable and suitable for two people. It had all of the amenities that we needed although the bathroom was a little small. In terms of decor.. its not as modern as other hotels that I have stayed in but I guess your not in your room for long if u are exploring Canterbury!

It was a little noisy at times as we were directly on the street but it didn't affect our sleep (and the high street is relatively quiet at night). We ventured into the bar in the evening which was very quiet and didn't have much atmosphere... that could have been because it was a Sunday evening...

We were fortunate enough to get a parking space too... It is around the back and very small so you do have to take your chances. Overall... I would definately return!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank missbettyems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    525
    307
    174
    73
See reviews for
250
1,002
61
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We wanted to eat in the restaurant but only discovered, having booked the room, that it was closed. We thought we would eat in the Old Brewery Tavern but the reviews were up impressive and we decided to eat elsewhere. The bed was so soft we kept rolling into the middle; I found it extremely uncomfortable and did not sleep well. Breakfast was quite tasty but much of the selection was run out when we arrived after only half an hour of it being open. Staff appeared run off their feet and unable to cope with the number of guests. Would not stay again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Squeezer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Our restaurant is closed on a Sunday evening only, and is open for lunch 7 days a week and dinner Monday to Saturday.

We have just purchased 20 new Vi-Spring mattresses that are firmer sprung for guests who prefer a firmer mattress. I am pleased you enjoyed the quality of breakfast.

Regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I've heard the rants of those travellers that are put off by the parking mayhem, I've also heard the displeasure of the noise bellowing up from the busy streets.
There is a very small price to pay for the delightful central location and that means checking in by driving as close to the hotel as possible then abandoning your car and finally praying to the gods for some help finding a suitable place to park. Not the best way to start your first few moments in Canterbury but please persist. Once you have worked out that the map provided is as much use as an umbrella in a snow storm and finding your way back is going to be a little tiresome. But like tenzing and Hillary the arduous journey is worth every moment. The hotel is fantastic, Ive stayed here five times and cannot possibly give the hotel enough praise. The staff are attentive, the rooms clean and spacious and the food is to die for. The problems are caused due to the perfect location. The quaint central location in the middle of a bustling High Street with no access to cars or buses is the reason it's difficult to park, it's a little noisy because the hotel is situated in the centre of a busy high street. Decide whether you want to walk straight out into the centre of Canterbury without worrying about traffic or get a mediocre hotel on the outskirts with plenty of parking but miles away from any interest. I'll let you decide........

Room Tip: All rooms are clean, spacious and have everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sexypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have stayed here many times in the past so were already aware of the irritating parking situation, however this time the road by the hotel was being completely dug up - would it have been too hard to notify guests in advance? Our room was clean and comfortable (as usual I needed ear plugs to sleep as it is at the front of the street and very noisy). This stay we had splurged and gone for a ''most enviable room' - our shower wasn't working (they took less than 10% off our overall bill to compensate when we informed reception). We were also woken at 7.30am on Sunday morning by a false fire alarm. When me mentioned how unhappy we were about this at check out we were told 'sorry but it's not our fault' - well whose is it? Mine?! When you have paid over £250 for a good nights sleep I would expect more than a very uninterested and dismissive apology. I am not a regular complainer but am getting fed up of 3rd class service at this 1st class priced hotel.
My husband and I have always loved this hotel but each time we go the staff seem to care a little less (bring back Oscar) and this time more than ever. Overall a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentMJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Regrettably we were not advised of the works being carried out by KCC , if we had been we would have contacted guests in advance.

I am sorry for the fire alarm activation and the disturbance this caused, as I am sure you understand guest and staff safety are paramount and we need to evacuate the hotel when the fire alarm sounds. Thankfully it was a false alarm.

I’m very disappointed to read your comments relating to the team, I can assure you this is not the case, the entire team strives to exceed our guests expectation.

Regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Bed too soft and map to car park very difficult to follow meant that we had a less than restful stay. We will look for an alternative place to stay next time in Canterbury. The tuck box of local produce was good and very welcome

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your review. As part of our ongoing improvements within the hotel we have just purchased 20 new Vi-Spring mattresses that are firmer sprung, for guests who prefer a firmer mattress.

I’m pleased you enjoyed the complimentary tuck box.

Regards

Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkletts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great hotel but we had room at the back facing noisy road. It was a late booking so we probably got the worst room. Situated at end of corridor it didn't feel like it was part of the hotel and we were woken at 6 am seemingly by staff moving furniture around. On the whole lovely hotel, great location in centre and fabulous food in the restuarant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed at the Abode many times and have always had excellent value for money. It is in a great location for visiting all the historical sites and the shops. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The rooms are spotless and the food is good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brightflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Property: ABode Canterbury
Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABode Canterbury is a stylish boutique hotel that has been beautifully designed and refurbished, maintaining the old wooden beams and traditional fabric of an ancient and historic building while adding contemporary design features and modern comforts, with understated British style. With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), Abode Canterbury is the perfect place to visit the city and enjoy the shops, historic sites and traditional architecture.There are 72 bedrooms, rated Comfortable, Desirable, Most Desirable, Enviable, Most Enviable and Fabulous. Bedrooms have been designed with a sense of luxury and relaxation so the guest can enjoy an ideal night's sleep, and wake up refreshed and rejuvenated. Bedrooms at all levels are well-equipped: trademark ABode features include Vi-Spring beds; luxury toiletries; personal DVD players and state-of-the-art LCD televisions. Some rooms have imaginative wet rooms and baths integrated into living areas; the Fabulous suite has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the roofs of Canterbury across to the Cathedral.Michael Caines MBE and his talented team of chefs offer an incredible range of dining and drinking experiences, from superior room service or a drink in the stylish Champagne Bar to a pint and a pie or char-grilled fish or steak in the traditional Old Brewery Tavern. The Michael Caines Restaurant offers the ultimate dining experience, with delicious modern European cuisine accompanied by an exceptional wine list, served with professional yet not too formal style. ABode Canterbury is the ideal place for weddings, private parties, private dining and meetings, and any and all special occasions, whether for business or pleasure.We even have the facilities to make you feel absolutely fabulous. Why not join us for a workout in our well-equipped and comfortable residents' gym.ABode Canterbury, in the very heart of an ancient and historic city, is your home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing