We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

My husband and I stayed here on a Sunday night recently, on a DBB deal which was very good value.

We arrived early, and as we were able to park in the hotel car park we decided to notify reception of our registration before doing some sightseeing. We thought we were much too early for check in, but there was a room available, so we were able to check in then.
Dinner that evening was in the Brewery Tavern next door (the main restaurant was closed for refurbishment) which was pub style food, all good.
The room itself was lovely, though the bathroom was a little on the small side (it was a standard room).
Breakfast the next morning was supposed to be limited due to the kitchen refurbishments, but there was everything that my husband and I wanted, so we didn't feel it was lacking.
All in all we enjoyed it and would be back.

  • Liked — the central location meant we didn't need the car the whole time we were there
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cork_girl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    525
    307
    175
    73
See reviews for
250
1,004
61
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

We stayed 3 nights in one of the higher room standards. The room was facing the street and directly above the bar on the first floor. Our thoughts one week later include:
Pros:
- lovely large room full of light. Concur with all previous comments about the bed- delightful.
-fantastic central location
-positive experiences with both the bar and reception staff.
-although a street facing room the noise from outside was not too bad at all.
-bath and bathroom in our room large and spacious

Cons:
-The noise from the bar. Our room was certainly not cheap at 180 GBP per night and the level of noise that came through the floor expected.The initial evening was a Saturday and the noise was very loud. The following evenings without the bar guests,the music was still permeating the room. We checked how loud it was in the bar and must say it was not loud- we believe it was clearer in the room

-Will not be a con for some however the toilet is a little like a fish bowl and you can be seen from certain areas of the main room.
-The restaurant was closed however the breakfast service was incredibly slow.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

I have stayed at Abode hotels before on business and always found them very good. The hotel is modern, with classic lines and it looks great. My room was large and the bed was very comfortable, whilst the bathroom was clean and well appointed. The flat screen TV and DVD player were welcome features (and seemingly standard at Abode hotels!).

We ate in the main restaurant twice and could not fault the food. Seven courses for two people for under £50 was superb value. Breakfast provided a large range of offerings, all of which were good quality.

The only thing that lets this hotel is the staffing. The staff on reception seemed overworked at times and so did not give the level of service that one might expect. Errors were made on booking and upon checking out which led to us being overcharged, twice! In the restaurant both at breakfast and in the evening, there seemed to be too few members of staff. This meant that it often took an age to get served and took the shine off our stay. Looking at the previous reviews, I cannot believe that management have not rectified these issues as they seem a reoccurring theme.

Overall I would stay at the hotel again but I just hope that subtle changes are made to improve the levels of service provided.

  • Liked — The decoration and quality of food
  • Disliked — The level of service provided by staff members
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loftyjen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

We stayed here as a friend was getting married in Canterbury. Even before we arrived we'd recieved some fairly inconsistant treatment from the reception staff over the phone - when my boyfriend phoned to enquire about early check in he was told this wouldn't be a problem however another friend got told by a shirty receptionist that it wouldn't be possible (even though we were wanting to check in at the same time!).
The room was lovely, pillows good size and towels big enough (a bit of a bugbear of mine!).
We got back from the wedding and a group of us stayed up in the champange bar - the barman was lovely and made sure to let us know when he was finishing so that we could get last orders in with him.
We retired back to our room (leaving lots of friends still up!) but found that my sleep was disturbed by the really loud air con - ended up taking the card out to turn it off (while being concerned the room could end up too hot) as really couldn't bear it.
The next morning breakfast was ok - seemed to take ages to arrive but one waiter in particular was v chirpy and so made it feel not so bad.
The reception staff on over the w/e seemed to be ok.

  • Liked — bed was v v comfortable
  • Disliked — loud air con!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loftyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

We visited the Abode Canterbury for our wedding anniversary as we got married there (when it was called the County Hotel) five years ago.

The change from County to Abode has been marked by an overhaul of all of the rooms, a new "destination" restaurant and the changing of the hotel public bar into a champagne bar.

The room was bright, well furnished and had one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in.

In contrast to the other reviewers, we found the reception staff to be friendly and efficient. The champagne bar was also worth a visit.

The only negative point to our stay was the breakfast. Service was friendly but very slow, the food was poor and the coffee awful. I would expect better from a hotel which is trying to establish itself as a "gastro" destination. Indeed, the low quality breakfast put me off the idea of eating in the restaurant that evening.

  • Liked — Rooms, location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mxlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

We booked the hotel through bookings.com (?) and got a reasonable rate (not including breakfast (I've said it before, and I'll continue saying it - I hate hotels who do not include breakfast in the room rate)).

After booking the hotel, I tried calling them to ask about parking. I knew the hotel had a car park, and I wanted to reserve a place. I knew what time I would be arriving, so I thought it a logical thing to do. The hotel staff who answered the phone was rather rude in saying that it's first come first served. They don't take reservations for the carpark, and I'd have to hope for the best.

Anyway, we arrived, in the pouring rain. I left the car as close to the hotel entrance as possible (not far, but far enough to get quite wet) and asked about parking. No. All full. Have to park in Rosemary Street instead. I unloaded the bags, left my wife to check in, and I moved the car.

The room was already paid for. But they still asked for a creditcard to cover "anything else which might come up". My wife refused and said that we would pay when checking out for anything we consume. The receptionist was a little sniffy at that, but accepted it and made no further comment.

The first room we were shown had a very badly stained carpet. Just stained and dirty. If they want to be a 4-star hotel, then they should invest in a carpet cleaner.

The second room was better.

The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The tea and coffee making facilities were very good and tasty. And the room was very nice.

As mentioned earlier, breakfast wasn't included, but there are loads of cafes on the High Street, so we didn't go hungry. Checking out was OK - no problems there.

Overall, it is a nice hotel Perfectly located. But they really need to improve their service in some areas.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AM&AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

We spent two nights at Abode Canterbury in their junior suite at £175 per night. The room was lovely, modern, very clean and we had two very comfortable nights sleep. On arrival we were greeted by a most helpful receptionist who was friendly and very efficient. Unfortunately parking at the hotel was full and we were a bit inconvenienced in that respect as the nearest car park is about 10 mins walk away.

However, on our first day breakfast service was very poor. We arrived at 9.25am, and although waiters and waitresses buzzed around us busily, their priority most certainly was not to meet our needs and provide us with breakfast! We were offered tea or coffee and after 10 mins there was no sign of the tea ordered - we had to request it again. There was no apology given! We were then ignored for a further 10 mins as they set up the lunch tables! We summoned a waitress and asked if we could possibly order breakfast! Once again no apology! Inefficient and apathetic staff who lacked iniative, and little sign that anyone in authority was keeping much of an eye on the situation! Would not expect such poor service at the price!

Our second day's breakfast experience was more positive though as mentioned in another review, the menu is somewhat unimaginative at the price! We didn't find waitressing staff to be particularly welcoming or friendly but rather aloof!

Checkout wasn't too efficient either despite the fact that it wasn't particularly busy! One very efficient receptionist and a little boy who appeared somewhat out of his depth!!

Overall we found the accomodation of very good quality but the breakfast service was very disappointing!

  • Liked — location and modern decor and great cocktails!
  • Disliked — attitude of waiters/waitresses and seemed overpriced when consider overall quality of service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank annadhubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Property: ABode Canterbury
Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABode Canterbury is a stylish boutique hotel that has been beautifully designed and refurbished, maintaining the old wooden beams and traditional fabric of an ancient and historic building while adding contemporary design features and modern comforts, with understated British style. With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), Abode Canterbury is the perfect place to visit the city and enjoy the shops, historic sites and traditional architecture.There are 72 bedrooms, rated Comfortable, Desirable, Most Desirable, Enviable, Most Enviable and Fabulous. Bedrooms have been designed with a sense of luxury and relaxation so the guest can enjoy an ideal night's sleep, and wake up refreshed and rejuvenated. Bedrooms at all levels are well-equipped: trademark ABode features include Vi-Spring beds; luxury toiletries; personal DVD players and state-of-the-art LCD televisions. Some rooms have imaginative wet rooms and baths integrated into living areas; the Fabulous suite has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the roofs of Canterbury across to the Cathedral.Michael Caines MBE and his talented team of chefs offer an incredible range of dining and drinking experiences, from superior room service or a drink in the stylish Champagne Bar to a pint and a pie or char-grilled fish or steak in the traditional Old Brewery Tavern. The Michael Caines Restaurant offers the ultimate dining experience, with delicious modern European cuisine accompanied by an exceptional wine list, served with professional yet not too formal style. ABode Canterbury is the ideal place for weddings, private parties, private dining and meetings, and any and all special occasions, whether for business or pleasure.We even have the facilities to make you feel absolutely fabulous. Why not join us for a workout in our well-equipped and comfortable residents' gym.ABode Canterbury, in the very heart of an ancient and historic city, is your home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing