We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful beds for anyone with a lower back problem!”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

It's hard to believe that the hotel I stayed in last night is the same as the one mentioned in all these reviews!! I agree that the hotel is very well situated, the bar and communal areas very nice, the bathroom clean and the staff friendly and helpful! If I was to review it on those things alone, I would give it a 4/5! However, the hotel lets itself down in one very important aspect - the beds!! The bed looked comfortable enough until I sat on the edge and immediately sunk down several inches. Lying on it was even worse - just like lying on a very squidgy marshmallow. I don't like hard beds but this bed went too far in the opposite direction.The nice man at Reception when I rang down, politely told me all the beds in the hotel were the same and did offer to put a board underneath it, but we decided to move the mattress on to the floor. It then became obvious what the real problem was - the bed base - which was very old and lumpy, and
alongside the oversoft mattress gave no support. So, in short, if you don't mind a very soft bed, you'll be fine. But if you have ever experienced back problems, avoid this hotel at all cost. This hotel could be fantastic if they spent some money on replacing the beds. Sorry, Abode, I'd have loved to have given you a better review but please take these comments on board. Your beds were the worst I have ever encountered in a hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,396 - 1,402 of 1,986 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here several weeks ago for a weekend break and was very impressed. The location is great, right in the High St. The room was clean, and the ambience in the lounge bar is very nice.
The staff are very professional and give attention to detail.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Fantastic hotel in the centre of town. Very comfortable rooms, amazing breakfast. Staff very attentive. Lovely bar areas for relaxing before dinner. Very good value when purchased as special offer with bed breakfast and evening meal. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lansy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Paid extra for a luxury room and it was worth it, although our friends had a standard room and were not hugely impressed. Ours had a huge bed, a leather sofa, flat screen TV, free standing bath plus wet room. It was lovely. The location of the hotel couldn't be more central and was really convenient for the cathedral, wall, parks and pubs and restaurants. We ate at Michael Caines restaurant in the hotel one night. The food was excellent and the staff were really lovely and helpful. On the down side, the champagne bar staff were not so great. On our first visit we were told to take a seat when we went to the bar but then no one came to serve us for 10 minutes. Subsequent visits all went the same way; staff would look at you from the bar but not really register that you might want to place an order with them. That said, the house champagne was very good. Unusually for a hotel like this, we also found that the front desk staff didn't greet you when you entered the hotel. Just small details that can make a difference to how you feel about a place. Overall though I would recommend the Abode in Canterbury.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RebPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Another superb meal at the abode in Canterbury attentive knowledge staff and the 2011 byron californian pinot noir was stunning. Been to two Michelin star restaurants last two months and the abode was on a par with them

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

we stayed at the abode for our 22nd wedding anniversary on the 13th june 2014. The hotel was lovely,and our room was FABULOUS.,i didnt want to leave it. We ate in the michael caines restaurant and the food was lovely with the staff being very efficient and polite. We will deffinately be returning. Thankyou for making it a lovely anniversary .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We ended up staying at the Abode by chance after having to check out of another terrible hotel and what a wonderful suprise it was!
Even though they have limited parking at the hotel we were lucky and got a space and after calling into reception they sent out the lovely concierge Alex to help us transfer all our bags to the hotel. What a lovely guy Alex is! So friendly and helpful, he took us all the way to our room and then provided us with lots of information about Canterbury and his reccomedations on where to go. Whilst talking to Alex about our stay we mentioned it was our anniversay and he appeared at our door a few minutes later with a 'Happy Anniversay' balloon - such a thoughtful touch!
We were so impressed with our room, the bed was amazing and the bathroom was stylish with a huge freestanding bath. We popped out to see the Catherdral and have a look around, on returning to our room we found that the aircon wasn't working - being that this was initially the main reason we'd booked the hotel (as we were travelling with our 3 month old baby) we spoke to reception who sent the receptionist up immediately to check we had the settings right. Alex then arrived to double check everything but unfortunatly it was broken. As we had our baby with us and it was so hot they immediately looked to transfer us to another room, which luckily for us was their best room - a suite on the top floor with it's own roof terrace! Again Alex appeared to help us transfer our mountain of stuff and help ensure everything was ok - the room was freezing and goes to show how effective the aircon is ususally. We had a lovely night in our new room and our baby slept really well which any new parent will testify is just brilliant! The bed was heavenly and the view of the Catherdral while we drank our morning coffee on the roof terrace was amazing! I think we were very lucky to end up in this room, but even if you stayed in one of the other rooms you would not be disappointed - the only thing we wanted for was to stay longer! At check out time again Alex was there to help transfer our mountain of stuff back to the car...just brilliant customer service. The hotel is also very well situated to explore this wonderful city and we'll be coming back as soon as we can. Thank you Abode.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lou9Luton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £86 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing