We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class customer service/disappointing hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First class customer service/disappointing hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my 2 young children for 2 nights as we wanted to go to a zoo nearby. The hotel staff are brilliant. Everyone is polite and friendly and very helpful. The hotel however was a disappointment. The rooms are very small and not very clean. I was quite surprised at the state of the floor before my children had added to it. The Bath mat which I think was once supposed to be blue was actually black and so I could not risk using it and there was a smell of sewage coming from the sink evety time the WC was flushed. I was a little disappointed that after a coffee spillage on my bed in the evening the hotel didn't actually change the covers or sheets the next day and merely made up the bed. Therefore, we unfortunately slept on stained sheets the second night, but as I had come down with a bug that day the coffee stains were furthest from my mind. I definitely wouldn't stay there again unless it gad been refurbished.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Danielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    537
    315
    178
    75
See reviews for
255
1,028
62
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night at this hotel last week. The aim of our stay was to explore Canterbury and just use the hotel for sleeping.

Pros: very central, on the high street just two minutes from everything
Friendly staff, that were very helpful
Had its own car park close by

Cons: we only got one towel even though we were two
Not as clean as expected from a hotel like this
The bathroom had seen better days

Also maybe it is mentioned somewhere but the car park is an additional 10 £ and it is a bit tricky to find

Good hotel if you are after a central location

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ahb130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

+ car parking
+ great staff
+ superb location
+ room was fantastic on top floor (thanks for the upgrade Declan!)
+ breakfast lovely
+ Michael caines restaurant was unbelievable (very tasty indeed)

- only stayed 1 night (wish it could have been more!)

Summary: fantastic hotel centrally located and nice friendly welcoming staff....definitely going to stay there again one day! Enjoy your stay

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location, near all the sites, shops and restuarants, but the hotel is now starting to show signs of wear and tear. It also needs a very good clean, not only in rooms, but in public areas as well, and staff should be aware of litter, being left in loos, chairs in lobby and bar areas. We found the bed very uncomfortable and the pillows very small and lumpy. The sink and bath/shower was not cleaned properly, and the toilet flush did not work very well. Could hear tv from next room, so soundproofing no good. Sorry but for the price that this hotel charges you dont expect any of the above. I certainly will not be staying here again when in Canterbury, there are much better hotels at a much cheaper price that I will use.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

3rd stay, I always find the place amazing. Great service, amazing quality with lots of little extras such as the toiletries and mini hamper in the room. Breakfast to die for in the morning and probably one of the most comfortable hotels I ever stay in. Nit great location for drivers but 10 min walk from both Canterbury stations. Loads of pubs ad restaurants on the doorstep to walk out to. Highly recommended

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibroadbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

First time stay in Canterbury and the reason we booked The Abode was its location.Smack bang in the middle of Canterbury.We wanted to park the car and be able to go out and not have to worry about not being able to drink if using the car.
On arrival,staff sorted the parking of the car in a locked secure area which with me is big plus point.
Reception staff were fantastic,gave us local information,maps of places to visit,and sorted our room very quickly.
The room was very nice,bathroom was superb.Flat screen TV,DVD/CD Player,free WiFi all of which were great.
The cleaning staff came to our room every day and did a fantastic job,10 out of 10.
Hotels are only as good as the Staff they employ and this is the reason I think Abode will always be towards the top of Hotels to stay at in Canterbury

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Classy Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Canterbury, just a short wander to the Cathedral! Beautiful decor, fresh flowers and excellent, friendly and efficient staff. We stopped just one night but wished it could have been more! Rooms are large, beds enormous and comfy, compliments tuck box tasty and a lovely additional touch! All in all a great place to stay and with a fantastic restaurant too! We will return soon hopefully!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelCrazy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Property: ABode Canterbury
Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABode Canterbury is a stylish boutique hotel that has been beautifully designed and refurbished, maintaining the old wooden beams and traditional fabric of an ancient and historic building while adding contemporary design features and modern comforts, with understated British style. With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), Abode Canterbury is the perfect place to visit the city and enjoy the shops, historic sites and traditional architecture.There are 72 bedrooms, rated Comfortable, Desirable, Most Desirable, Enviable, Most Enviable and Fabulous. Bedrooms have been designed with a sense of luxury and relaxation so the guest can enjoy an ideal night's sleep, and wake up refreshed and rejuvenated. Bedrooms at all levels are well-equipped: trademark ABode features include Vi-Spring beds; luxury toiletries; personal DVD players and state-of-the-art LCD televisions. Some rooms have imaginative wet rooms and baths integrated into living areas; the Fabulous suite has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the roofs of Canterbury across to the Cathedral.Michael Caines MBE and his talented team of chefs offer an incredible range of dining and drinking experiences, from superior room service or a drink in the stylish Champagne Bar to a pint and a pie or char-grilled fish or steak in the traditional Old Brewery Tavern. The Michael Caines Restaurant offers the ultimate dining experience, with delicious modern European cuisine accompanied by an exceptional wine list, served with professional yet not too formal style. ABode Canterbury is the ideal place for weddings, private parties, private dining and meetings, and any and all special occasions, whether for business or pleasure.We even have the facilities to make you feel absolutely fabulous. Why not join us for a workout in our well-equipped and comfortable residents' gym.ABode Canterbury, in the very heart of an ancient and historic city, is your home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing