We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but average hotel”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Although the hotel is in a great, quiet and central location - with parking if early enough - we found the room a disappointment. The bed was comfortable but the room quite stark, small and with a 'cold' feel to it - no arm chair although space, one picture on bland walls - not very inviting overall. The bathroom was small.

We didn't eat at the hotel preferring to try local restaurants and cafes but did have a drink in the bar which was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Loobs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,495 - 1,501 of 2,117 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

I would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful hotel in the heart of Canterbury. From the minute we arrived, staff were attentive, professional and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We were given a free double upgrade as we were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary ~ our room was truly amazing and our sincere thanks go to the young man on reception, who made us feel so welcome and special. Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order and we didn't feel rushed, service again was professional, attentive but non-intrusive.
I cannot comment on the food in the restaurant as we did not eat in the hotel as we preferred more atmosphere.
We parked in the hotel car park which costs £10 night, very convenient but really felt this should be complementary as the hotel is very expensive to stay in.
Overall a wonderful stay and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Logisticlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were more than happy with the cleanliness, service, location, and everything else about the hotel, but we would not spend the money or the time eating in the restaurant again. The food was very average and quite expensive. It seemed like the chef was trying to do too much, and couldn't accomplish it. While the service was excellent, the food was really disappointing. There are plenty of casual dining places in Canterbury that offered better fare, for a better price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davidmbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is our second stay at the abode and we loved it again.
We stayed in room 233 right on the front which looked over the beany museum it was a big clean room with a lovely comfy bed but sadly the pillows were a little lumpy.
The housekeeping and front of house staff were helpful and friendly.
We ate in the micheal canine restaurant on the first night and it was truly amazing and well worth the money.
The champagne bar does a amazing espresso martini which I could have drunk all day !!!
One thing I would say if you plan on staying a sat night ask for a back room as we did get woken up a few times with drunken revellers.
They are lovely here and we will return again. Oh and the tuck box in your room is great !

Room Tip: Ask for a back room if at weekend as does get noisy late at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nawtymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed for 2 nights recently, I have stayed at other hotels in the city, but this is the best one I have stayed at. Service is excellent, food is great, breakfast is cooked to order not a Luke warm buffet. My room was spotless and I had nibbles and water and fruit juice provided, if I was being picky a small fridge would have been nice to keep the juices and water provided cool. But I will definitely being staying here again, oh and the location couldn't be better right in the centre of town, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed last week en route to Dover. The hotel is centrally located right in the historic centre yet offers secure car parking.
The Champagne Bar is superb, and the restaurant and breakfast was a delight.
Our room was attractive but smaller than expected - we had paid for an upgrade to a larger room so were a little bemused by the size the smaller rooms must have been.

Room Tip: There are various categories of rooms and the hotel website states the square footage of each. We up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen02ACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I visited Canterbury, last June, and I would highly recommend this hotel, is located right in the middle of town, however, your room feels as far away. Rooms are nicely appointed and fairly spacious. Canterbury Cathedral is very near as well as an assorted choice of restaurants. The staff is very professional and helpful.

Room Tip: I've been here only once, so, I have limited recommendation on room choice, our room was located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Francisco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £76 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing