We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, well refurbished building”
Review of ABode Canterbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ABode Canterbury
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We moved here for one night when we wanted to extend a weekend in Canterbury. The hotel we were in couldn't accommodate us. We found a great rate online and paid less at the Abode than the local independent hotel. It is in a great location, it's a really nice old building, well refurbished. The room was fine, but there was a shortage of electrical sockets. The breakfast was excellent, in the Michael Caines Restaurant. The staff were very helpful, in particular looking after our road bicycles. It generally had the feel of a very good quality hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mjgdlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,395 - 1,401 of 2,018 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Location cannot be beat... close to all of the action.

Booked into a "Most Desirable" room. Very big and very comfortable bed... it was a shame that we had to get up to check out at the end of our overnight stay... could have stayed nestled in that bed forever, it was that comfortable. Only downside to the room (we stayed in room 222) is that the paint work on the wall could use some freshening up (visible oily stains on the wall between the windows), otherwise it was a lovely stay.

Whilst Husband has dined at Michael Caine's in the past, we were not able to visit this trip. However, we have high praise for the Champagne Bar and its staff... very knowledgeable in their product and the barman on duty late Saturday night made good Japanese whisky recommendations for Husband to try.

All in all, given the location and history of the city and the buildings in general, ABode is a lovely place to stay. I'm looking forward to our next trip to Canterbury.

Room Tip: "Most Desireable" class or above rooms are your best bet, as are rooms on the second and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location. We stayed here for 1 night only. The room was a good size and very clean. The bathroom was clean and bright. The shower design of the room isn't great as it took a lot of effort not to soak the floor. All the staff were polite and efficient. The only negative during our stay was that building works were being done in the shop below our room. The unrelenting drilling and hammering during the day was incredibly irritating. Thank goodness we were checking out!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bogbody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

It was quite a long time since I stayed here and had forgotten to write a review.
I had a room booked for 3 nights for one person. Upon arrival I was told I was given a free up-grade. Well you could have blown me away when I was taken to the top of the hotel overlooking the cathedral, complete with living room outside balcony and two bathrooms. Sorry to owners for not showing my appreciation earlier. The suite was amazing. really enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesLeonardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Although the hotel is in a great, quiet and central location - with parking if early enough - we found the room a disappointment. The bed was comfortable but the room quite stark, small and with a 'cold' feel to it - no arm chair although space, one picture on bland walls - not very inviting overall. The bathroom was small.

We didn't eat at the hotel preferring to try local restaurants and cafes but did have a drink in the bar which was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Loobs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful hotel in the heart of Canterbury. From the minute we arrived, staff were attentive, professional and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We were given a free double upgrade as we were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary ~ our room was truly amazing and our sincere thanks go to the young man on reception, who made us feel so welcome and special. Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order and we didn't feel rushed, service again was professional, attentive but non-intrusive.
I cannot comment on the food in the restaurant as we did not eat in the hotel as we preferred more atmosphere.
We parked in the hotel car park which costs £10 night, very convenient but really felt this should be complementary as the hotel is very expensive to stay in.
Overall a wonderful stay and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Logisticlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were more than happy with the cleanliness, service, location, and everything else about the hotel, but we would not spend the money or the time eating in the restaurant again. The food was very average and quite expensive. It seemed like the chef was trying to do too much, and couldn't accomplish it. While the service was excellent, the food was really disappointing. There are plenty of casual dining places in Canterbury that offered better fare, for a better price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davidmbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
1,144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: £79 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), ABode Canterbury is the perfect base to explore this historic city. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy fine dining in The County Restaurant, contemporary pub food in the The Old Brewery Tavern, or relax with a drink in hand in our Champagne Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing